We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn

Save Saved
You added Dream Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dream Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3217 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach Shores, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 108 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Ocean Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very nice older hotel. Great ocean view rooms. Very quiet and relaxing hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff. Gorgeous pool deck and landscaping. We really enjoyed our stay. Plenty of parking available. Very tropical feel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Rena,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We take a lot of pride in our warm service and charming seaside atmosphere, so it's great to hear you enjoyed our friendliness and "tropical feel." If you're ever back in Daytona, we'd love to host you again!

All the best,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    81
    17
    11
    31
See reviews for
56
116
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spencer, NE
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is an older motel right on the beach. We could have used a bigger bathroom but all in all the room suited our needs very well. Courtyard is very nice. Easy access to the beach. They have a hose available to rinse the sand off before going to the room.

Room Tip: We were in an upper level ocean view room. Had a view of the ocean from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, even though the bathroom was a bit small for your taste. When you're so close to the beach, little else matters! We're happy the room met your needs overall, and we appreciate your taking the time to share your experience. If you're ever in town again, we would love the chance to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel has beautiful views of the ocean from the room, with walk-out access to the ocean & pool. We wanted a smaller, bottom floor hotel, not a high rise, this fit the bill perfectly. We had the best experience with the staff who are beyond accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Charles,

Thank you for your excellent review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Friendly, helpful service is our top priority, so I'm glad you found us so accommodating. If you ever visit Daytona again, we hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel was very well priced and a lovely place to stay. Right on the water it was gorgeous to watch the sunrise and sunset and the rooms reminded me of that "Old Florida" feel. Loved the room, owners were pleasant, no complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for the glowing review. I'm happy to hear you had such a comfortable stay with us. There's nothing better than watching a Florida sunset from the comfort of your own room!

Although I'm pleased by your kind words, I have to ask: what could we have done to earn that fifth star? We're always trying to improve and take constructive feedback to heart.

Thanks again for your compliments. If you're ever back in town, we'd love to host you again!

All the best,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Came down for a weekend getaway was sadly disappointed from the beginning. It began at check-in when the man checking us in never really looked at us as he came in to 'welcome' us. Granted, it's not the Four Seasons, but one would expect at least some form of a sincere check-in experience--there was none. The room itself was good size and our oceanfront room provided a nice view of the ocean. The room itself badly needs an upgrade as the blinds are in horrible shape, very dirty and had mold on them. There was also mold and the inside of the refrigerator was dirty. Jacuzzis on the second floor are very noisy in the ground floors rooms. Watch your fingers when you open the sliding door to the room. If you keep your fingers in the handgrip it will pinch your fingers as you slide the door open (at least in room 134). The bed was comfortable and the shower worked great. Overall, a major disappointment after hearing about how romantic it was supposed to be and after hearing about it from the Travel Channel TV show Hotel Impossible.

Room Tip: Stay on second floor. Better advice is to go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review experience. I'm truly sorry you had a disappointing stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly, professional service, so it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive a more enthusiastic greeting when you checked in. I'll have a word with my staff to make sure everyone is as warm and welcoming as possible.

As for the state of your room, I apologize if it did not meet your standards. This is concerning, especially since we recently underwent major renovations (as you know from our Hotel Impossible episode). Cleanliness is a huge priority for us; I'm appalled that your blinds and refrigerator were moldy. If you'd have bought the situation to our attention while you were here, we would have taken care of it immediately instead of after you left. As it is, if you decide to give us a second chance, please don't hesitate to inform a staff member if any of our amenities are dirty or otherwise not up to par.

Thanks again for bringing your concerns to my attention. We want all our guests to have a comfortable, pleasant time when they stay with us, and feedback like yours helps us improve. If you ever visit Daytona Beach again, I do hope you'll give us a another chance. I'm sure we can make up for your unfortunate experience.

All the best,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardeeville, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

4th stay. We were impressed with the improvements made! Please understand this is not a Hilton and never will be. It is however, a great little motel that is perfect for get aways on the inexpensive side. Clean, comfortable, safe place to stay! Right on the beach. It is our Turkey Rod Run Hotel. It isn't right in the middle of the parades or the cruising activities so you get a quiet stay. Easy drive to all the events. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms open the blinds and there is the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks for your great review, Debbie! It's a pleasure to hear from a loyal customer. Inexpensive, clean, comfortable, right on the beach—you've hit the nail on the head! As a family owned and operated business, we love giving our guests a laid back, homey hotel experience.

Thanks again for your review and positive feedback on our renovations! We look forward to hosting you next year.

Cheers,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is right at the beach's edge with a gate on to it. If this hotel were charging $80 or more, I would rate it 2 or 3. But for under $60 it is worth the value. The room we stayed in was large, had a nice kitchenette, and clean. It was great to be able to walk down the stairs to the lower level, where the pool was and some patio tables and on to the beach.
Before I do the negatives---Note, it looks like the hotel is starting to remodel.

Negatives- The bathroom was in great need of remodeling...The faucets and particularly, the tub shower faucet was interesting to use. The room (except for it's nice size) decor was Motel 6 in it's impression. There was a colorful picture over the bed. The management should pick one of the lighter blues or greens in it and paint an accent wall the color. This would greatly improve the all white walls that looked a bit scared and aged,

If we were to stay here again, we would request one of the rooms that faces the ocean. When we peeked through the window, those rooms looked as if they had been remodeled.

Room Tip: Pick a room that looks directly at the ocean....they seemed to have been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your detailed review! We're always trying to better our hotel and appreciate feedback of all kinds.

While I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our competitive prices, prime location, and clean, spacious rooms, I'm sorry you found our facilities a bit outdated. We have indeed remodeled—in fact, our renovation process was featured on an episode of the Travel Channel's Hotel Impossible. We'd love for you to see what we've done with the place!

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience. The next time you're in Daytona, I hope you come back and give us a chance to earn that fifth star! Maybe the ocean view will do the trick?

All the best,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 3217 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach Shores, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dream Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to their southern heritage, owners John, Cindy, and Jody Kinberger offer a unique brand of hospitality and charm that surrounds you like a warm blanket. We are a unique small property with the luxuries of a large resort. With an amazing attention to detail and service, Dream Inn truly stands out. Whether you’re a first-time visitor or life-long resident, we encourage you to enjoy the beautiful beaches of Daytona Shores and hope that we can make your upcoming visit a memorable and carefree time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Daytona Beach
Dream Motel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.