We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Florida Motel for Classic Car lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Inn to your Saves list
Dream Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3217 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach Shores, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Hardeeville, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classic Florida Motel for Classic Car lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

4th stay. We were impressed with the improvements made! Please understand this is not a Hilton and never will be. It is however, a great little motel that is perfect for get aways on the inexpensive side. Clean, comfortable, safe place to stay! Right on the beach. It is our Turkey Rod Run Hotel. It isn't right in the middle of the parades or the cruising activities so you get a quiet stay. Easy drive to all the events. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms open the blinds and there is the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks for your great review, Debbie! It's a pleasure to hear from a loyal customer. Inexpensive, clean, comfortable, right on the beach—you've hit the nail on the head! As a family owned and operated business, we love giving our guests a laid back, homey hotel experience.

Thanks again for your review and positive feedback on our renovations! We look forward to hosting you next year.

Cheers,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    85
    20
    11
    33
See reviews for
57
124
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is right at the beach's edge with a gate on to it. If this hotel were charging $80 or more, I would rate it 2 or 3. But for under $60 it is worth the value. The room we stayed in was large, had a nice kitchenette, and clean. It was great to be able to walk down the stairs to the lower level, where the pool was and some patio tables and on to the beach.
Before I do the negatives---Note, it looks like the hotel is starting to remodel.

Negatives- The bathroom was in great need of remodeling...The faucets and particularly, the tub shower faucet was interesting to use. The room (except for it's nice size) decor was Motel 6 in it's impression. There was a colorful picture over the bed. The management should pick one of the lighter blues or greens in it and paint an accent wall the color. This would greatly improve the all white walls that looked a bit scared and aged,

If we were to stay here again, we would request one of the rooms that faces the ocean. When we peeked through the window, those rooms looked as if they had been remodeled.

Room Tip: Pick a room that looks directly at the ocean....they seemed to have been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your detailed review! We're always trying to better our hotel and appreciate feedback of all kinds.

While I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our competitive prices, prime location, and clean, spacious rooms, I'm sorry you found our facilities a bit outdated. We have indeed remodeled—in fact, our renovation process was featured on an episode of the Travel Channel's Hotel Impossible. We'd love for you to see what we've done with the place!

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience. The next time you're in Daytona, I hope you come back and give us a chance to earn that fifth star! Maybe the ocean view will do the trick?

All the best,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was quite impressed at the quality of this Inn by the sea. The room had 2 queen size beds and a nice size kitchenette.. It was clean, the beds were fairly comfortable and I slept like a baby with the windows open, the fresh air and sounds of the ocean. It was a small inn and very quiet but there was little to do in the area. There was a very good restaurant about a mile away called Crabby Joe's and a mini-golf close to that. Other than that you have the ocean which is all I needed! The pool was clean but small then again who needs a pool when you have the ocean? I will definitely stay there next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: For a few extra dollars ($40 to be exact) stay in a room on the second floor overlooking the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks for your encouraging words! It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As a family owned and operated hotel, we strive to give our guests an intimate, cozy experience by the sea. Crabby Joe's was an excellent choice for dinner!

Thanks again for your review. We look forward to hosting you next time you visit Daytona!

All the best,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Late Oct. we had the pleasure of a repeat stay at the Dream. The place was very clean and comfy and the staff all are very helpfull and prompt to respond to every whim.
Both my wife and I highly recommend the Dream Inn
David

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
David,

Thanks so much for your glowing review and recommendation! I'm pleased to hear our professional staff and clean, cozy accommodations have made you and your wife loyal guests. We always strive to give each guest a memorable stay in Daytona.

Thanks again for the kind words. Looking forward to seeing you both soon!

All the best,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel proves you don't have to be a big chain to offer a great stay in Daytona, this was my wife and I second stay in a month and are already planning when we want to come back again, its a great hidden gem, can't wait to return to our home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks for your great review, Redwatson! It's a pleasure to host you and your wife and an honor to be your "home away from home." We really appreciate your encouragement and support of small, family owned and operated businesses like ours.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Cheers,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Harbor, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location! We stayed in an ocean front queen with kitchen and loved the convenience. Being on the beach was fantastic, the pool was beautiful, the staff were helpful and friendly. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Mary,

Thank you for the kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed our prime location, oceanfront room, lovely pool, and friendly staff. It's nice to know we helped make your trip to Daytona special.

Hope all is well in New Hampshire. We're looking forward to your next stay, too!

All the best,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was planning a trip to Forida on business in Tampa and had a couple of days. I saw a review of this Hotel/Inn on the Travel Channel. It's the Diamond on the Coast. It's small and you can park and walk to your room, no elevators (can't stand those) clean, great ocean access, great ocean front pool. You want "fancy" and pay alot to ride an elevator, this is not for you. You want "laid back" comfortable and a reasonable price, it's the best bargain on the entire Atlantic Coast and I have been to most of them.

Room Tip: Ocean Front. Since I was only there one night, I stayed in one of the other rooms. Nice room, easy w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks for the great review, Bill! I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our relaxed atmosphere, good prices, and convenient location. (After all, the highlight of Daytona is the beach!) It sounds like you're quite the traveler, which makes your compliments especially valuable. The "Diamond on the Coast"—how flattering!

Hope you had a good trip back to Tennessee. We look forward to seeing you next time you're in town!

Cheers,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Address: 3217 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach Shores, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dream Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying true to their southern heritage, owners John, Cindy, and Jody Kinberger offer a unique brand of hospitality and charm that surrounds you like a warm blanket. We are a unique small property with modern luxuries. Dream Inn was featured on the Travel Channel and is an award winning hotel. With an amazing attention to detail and service, Dream Inn truly stands out. Whether you're a first-time visitor or life-long customer, we encourage you to enjoy the beautiful beaches of Daytona Shores and hope that we can make your upcoming visit a memorable and carefree time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Daytona Beach
Dream Motel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.