We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nautilus Inn

Save Saved
You added Nautilus Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Nautilus Inn
1515 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER SPECIAL - SAVE 20%
Ranked #6 of 110 hotels in Daytona Beach
The Villages
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed 7/21-24 Very clean, friendly staff, fun atmosphere, clean pool and right on beach. Great value. Full kitchen in each room, balcony view. Many of the people we met there have been coming for family gettogethers for years. Happy hour each day was fun age appropriate for all ages. Kitchen equipped but make sure you bring paper products along with your food.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms have great view of Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you! It's always a pleasure to receive such nice comments. We do our best to provide an enjoyable stay for all our guests. Looking forward to having you back again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    36
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
91
73
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We actually used Tripadvisor to search for the best rates with lowest price, in Daytona Beach, on the beach. This hotel was the winner. Great value for the price and location. We were happy with our choice.

The best aspect of this hotel was the service. The staff were all very friendly, could give us directions and opinions on restaurants, and would immediately take care of any reasonable requests. I noticed that they would actually get to know some of the guests by their first names.

If I had to list a negative, it would be the breakfast. Tons of carbs, such as bread, pre-made waffles, muffins, etc. There was no protein. No eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. Very little fruit, just the sweet fruit chunks from a can. Maybe I have been spoiled at other less expensive hotels that I have stayed at. I also noticed that they were almost always out of milk, the juices needed to be replaced, and the breads and muffins would disappear within minutes. They staff was not the best at keeping up on this. They would be in a back room and we would have to tell them that the items were out. As fast as the food was moving out, you would think that they could have done a better job of staying on top of it. However, they do have kitchenettes in the rooms. We solved the breakfast issue by purchasing our own eggs and bacon and cooking it ourselves.

The beach and hotel was very quiet. No parties thrown here, as they have a 25 year age minimum to check in. We slept great in our room, very comfortable.

The rooms were clean, but one day we noticed a strong odor in the hallway and then found a couple of roaches in the hallway. We thought this might be because they sprayed for bugs and the roaches came out. I can't say for certain, but we were never told so I have to assume the worst. With that being said, we did not see any roaches in our room and did not bring any home.

I don't really hand out 5 out of 5 scores unless a place was perfect. I would give this one a 4.5, if I could. I can't, so I listed it as a 4.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know how we are doing. We are actually in the planning stages of introducing new items to our complimentary breakfast. We are also making changes to our guest rooms and I think you'll be happy to know that queen beds are part of that plan. I'd also like to thank you for mentioning some concerns which will be followed up on. We understand you have a choice as to where you stay so we are always looking for ways to improve. Some of our best suggestions come from our guests. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose the Nautilus Inn based on a helpful review on tripadvisor. The ocean front room was nice and clean and the view from the balcony was captivating! The kitchen was fully equipped and after staying for a whole week we had to do laundry.. which was not a problem as they had washers and dryers available. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Melissa, Pat and Virginia made our stay very enjoyable. We played bingo by the pool, walked to the pier, enjoyed Virginia's Florida sunrise drink during happy hour. This is a great place to stay on a family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. We do pride ourselves on providing wonderful memories for vacationing families. So happy you enjoyed the spectacular view from your room and as always it's good to know that our impeccable housekeeping standards are appreciated. It's nice to be able to provide various activities that everyone enjoys. Hope to keep you coming back for many more family vacations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I called this hotel after a last minute decision to come to Daytona- they did have an Ocean View available. The rooms are tilted in such a way that the Ocean View rooms are just as amazing as an Ocean Front - so save your $$ and book an Ocean VIEW. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms were nice and clean and the pool area was very nice- right on the beach and close enough to everything!!!! This place is AMAZING!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks! We certainly always welcome comments giving us feedback on how we're doing. You're right, we are fortunate to be able to provide a great view from all of our rooms. Our staff is amazing and really understands the meaning of hospitality. Everyone loves our pool and deck area and we thank you for noticing how nice it really is. We look forward to welcoming you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Roy, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We loved Nautilus Inn! We rented an ocean front room for 4 nights and we were not disappointed. It was very clean and the staff is superb. LesLee at the front desk was very nice and helpful. It was in a great location, about 2 miles from the boardwalk. The price is very reasonable. They have a continental breakfast every morning and that saved our family a ton of money as well. I would highly recommend it. We had a family of 4 so I wish they had queen size beds as full were a little small for sleeping, but other than that everything was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are thrilled to have received such a high recommendation from you.Thank you as this is what we aim to do always. We often get comments on how convenient our location is to the boardwalk and pier. Free breakfast is a plus especially for families and glad to hear you made good use of the full kitchen in your room. We do have plans to make some great changes to our rooms including the addition of queen beds. Hope to have you back again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel has a great location on the beach. The hotel is very clean. Our room was perfect, and we loved that we had a fully furnished kitchen area! The staff are extremely friendly. They made us feel so welcomed! ...almost like we had been friends forever! There were scheduled activites for everyone. Let's not forget the great Happy Hour, and the beautiful ocean view! Our family had a wonderful vacation, and we would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are so happy to have received such nice comments! We always welcome our guests to be part of our Nautilus family. Looking forward to many more visits. It has been said, " Stay here once and you'll never stay anywhere else! " Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I admit that I've been spoiled by business travel to major U.S. cities. I stayed at over 30 hotels last year. So I was skeptical at the price - ocean front for under $200 concerned me.

What I liked: service, clean, location, pool area, manager reception, and bed (I prefer firm bed), and kitchen in room.

Not so nice: room had damp feel to it - could be that's it's the ocean, AC not good enough to remove humidity or maybe windows, which I heard they are replacing. But no mold in room. Also, no shampoo provided so bring your own. Some say hotels are cutting back on providing shampoo but this was a first for me.

So, overall it was very good. It's not a Ritz but I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nautilus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Inn

Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel
Nautilus Hotel Daytona Beach
Address: 1515 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover true hospitality at The Nautilus Inn in Daytona Beach, Florida! In addition to our newly renovated pool deck and updated kitchens and baths in every room, our friendly staff and immaculate housekeeping practices will keep you coming back. Recently refreshed rooms and landscaping in the fall of 2011 including granite counter tops in bathrooms and kitchens, full size appliances in every room, and a spacious Atlantic Deck that wraps around our ocean front-pool and hot tub. Choose between our ocean-front rooms and those with a view up or down the beach – you’ll enjoy either view from your private balcony. Free amenities include a continental breakfast, cocktail hour, parking and wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Nautilus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nautilus Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.