We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gourmet delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Paul

Chez Paul
927 North Beach Street, Daytona Beach, FL 32117
386-252-3588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 370 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Leesburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A gourmet delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I visited Daytona Beach to celebrate her 80th birthday and as I researched restaurants, I read all the reviews I could find. The one that kept popping up was Chez Paul’s on North Beach Street.
We were greeted by Ellen, the 92 year-old mother of Paul, who made us feel we were one of the family. Paul arrived on the scene and expounded on the many food creations he could prepare for that evening.
After a cocktail and a caesar salad, prepared at the table, which was outstanding, I enjoyed the grouper fromage and my wife the petite filet. Both were mouthwatering and prepared to perfection.
The decor of the restaurant is very tastefully executed so don’t be fooled by the exterior of the building.
We went back two nights later for some more delicious appetizers.
Well worth a visit when in Daytona Beach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    6
    0
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Winner, Winner, Delicious Dinners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you enjoy fabulous food coupled with a great dining experience, you must put Chez Paul on your agenda. The moment my sister and I arrived, we were greeted at the door by Chef Paul and escorted into his charming restaurant. It was an early Wednesday evening which allowed for the undivided attention of both Chef and his mother, our server. An earlier review said she is 92. Wow, hard to believe. Whether she is 82 or 92, I hope to be that engaging and vibrant when I am her age. Chef Paul described the day's specials with such enthusiasm, his demeanor fairly shouted, "doesn't that sound delicious?" And it was! From appetizers to dessert and all the deliciousness in between it was evening to remember. As we were leaving, Chef presented us with two long stem roses! By the warm and gracious hospitality we received, it felt more like we had spent an evening in their home. Thank you Chef and Mama. Definitely returning the next time we are in Daytona.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Unknowingly we made a reservation for a Monday night. They are normally closed but happened to answer the phone and were ready for us when we arrived. We couldn't have wished for a more congenial staff. The family owned and operated restaurant is a hidden gem. We thoroughly enjoyed two specials that were not on menu as well as a host of appetizer samples. The food was wonderful, but honestly this experience will be long remembered after the memory of the food has faded. The family and staff were some of the greatest and most gracious people we have encountered in a long time. Dining is to be an experience centered around the long lost tradition of sharing. Owner chef Paul, Momma and the "B" shared their lives with us as well as their food, for this experience we are thankful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredible Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It was our 43rd wedding anniversary and we wanted something special and Chez Paul DID NOT disappoint. We didn't realize it but that evening Chez Paul gives his employees the night off, but still took our reservation and we were personally treated to one of the finest evenings of food and service anywhere by Paul and his 92 year old mother. Starting with the complimentary champagne, to the outstanding appetizers of escargot and beef carpaccio, to the rack of lamb and seared scallops and finally ending with a Middle Eastern cream dessert. This evening rated at the very top of anywhere we've been on 3 continents.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at a Reasonable Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Discovered on Trip Advisor and agree with other excellent reviews. Chef Paul served us & entertained Us. But the best was the food, from appetizers, entrees to desserts. Excellent wine recommendation. And half the price of The Cellar. Definitely will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Paul also viewed

 

Been to Chez Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Paul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.