We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managment cannot handle guest relations problems & Hotel security/safety poor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Daytona Beach Speedway/Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Daytona Beach Speedway/Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Daytona Beach Speedway/Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1725 Richard Petty Boulevard, Daytona Beach, FL 32114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #25 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Hershey, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Managment cannot handle guest relations problems & Hotel security/safety poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

We stayed at this hotel directly across from the Daytona Speedway for 1 week. Hotel has a supposedly SMOKE-FREE POLICY which is not enforced by hotel. We complained about guests smoking on our floor (smell in our hallway was very bad) & got told if we can't actually catch them smoking we can't do anything about it. And this went on for 2 days. During our stay, the hotel had a group of guests 2 tour bus loads (mostly young football players & cheer leaders ages 12-14) plus & parents/chaperons with them arrive on our 3rd night there. Hotel allowed these guests to be running through hallways, slamming doors including the fire escape doors, bouncing balls in rooms & hallways, opening the glass fire extingusher locked doors, wrote on walls in stairways, threw soda cans & paper wrappers on fire escape stairs (if there would have been a real emergency in this hotel & guests needed to use these stairs would have been in danger with all this trash on them) and these activities went on all night long even still at 5:00 A.M. bouncing balls above your bedroom. We complained & hotel staff didn't care. Back entrance door to hotel would standing wide for who knows how long at different times. This group on our last day of the 7 days there was finally told they had to leave the hotel. We were there for an event at the Speedway during this period & in the morning from the room window you can watch people (not Hotel guests) park there vehicles across the street in parking area for the event & walk over into the hotel for what is supposedly the guests breakfast & hotel allows non-guests to use the hotel parking lot. Upon checking no vehicles are registered at the time. Front desk staff cannot make decisions on what to do for guest relations problems. They need to contact a hotel manager who is not there at the hotel. A problem needs to go from one manager to another, no one has the authorithy to do any corrections with your bill. After on second day back home we heard from a so-called manager, whom could not do anything about our complaints & they needed to pass it along to another person. Hotel managment will not give you actual credit compensation on your bill for any inconviences such as we endured during this stay. Only after disputing with the credit card company, did we receive a letter from managment giving us these 2 certificates, which is not what we asked for. With an experience like this why would we want to come back again to this place. This was our first time stay at a Residence Inn by Marriott and it will be our last.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    50
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
53
28
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Great location, Clean rooms.This was our 2nd stay and we loved the hotel and staff on our previous visit . This time we were unfortunate enough to be there with the cheerleaders and their "chaperones"? I use the word loosely ,because they were the most uncontrolled and unsupervised group of children I have ever seen.The adults with them were even worse, shouting and cursing at the staff. The employees did an AMAZING JOB keeping their emotions in check and staying on top of things in an absolutely awful situation!! They managed to keep all public areas clean and organized and the breakfast area was stocked and clean as well .FYI-- they have a really good breakfast buffet.! We would definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

This is your typical Residence Inn and I mean that in a good way. Wired and wireless internet access in my very clean room. Friendly staff. Every chain restaurant within three miles along with a couple of good local options. Easy access from I-95 and a great bed.

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bath Suite for 4 nights. We paid $469/ night because it was a Race Weekend. Most of the hotels in Daytona are terrible but as fans of Marriott we thought our stay here would be better. But we were surprised at how terrible this place is.
We asked for a view of the Race Track but the first night we stayed in a room overlooking the parking lot. This room was dirty. The maids obviously don't know how to vacuum, wipe things down or clean a shower. The shower shouldn't be covered in mildew!
The front desk man, Bill, was very helpful and seems to be the only one that "works" there. He moved us to a 2nd room so we would have the track view that we asked for. After we moved our stuff to our new room, I went to the restroom to find that it had not been cleaned. The last occupant had peed all over the toilet. The shower had hair in it. The floor was covered in hair. And just like the last room the shower was covered in mildew. We found a maid down the hallway and she cleaned the room for us. She also commented that the hotel was having problems with getting the maids to clean the rooms.
Addition problems in the room were the very loud fan in one of the restrooms. Filth under the beds (a used toothbrush, used kleenex and food). The AC did not work properly. Items missing from the room (toilet paper, dish soap, extra linens for the sofa bed). Window missing safety stopper.
The pool was clean the first day we got there. But 2 days later it was filthy with bugs and debris. We told the front desk clerk, who had a maintenance worker come out to clean it. He walked down one side of the pool, barely cleaning it, then pulled the cleaning equipment out of the pool and left. We found him socializing with other hotel staff at the side of the hotel. The pool was never cleaned!
We were told the breakfast buffet had been extended for the race weekend. But when we went down Saturday morning, they had stopped the buffet early. When we asked why they acted like they didn't know what we were talking about. Even though they had put out fliers on the front desk and they were still sitting there! The soda and juice machines ran out and the hotel failed to replenish them. Only providing a pitcher of water.
When we checked out we walked by the laundry room and saw another disappointing site. The staff was folding towels and sheets and laying them on the floor. I guess that's why some of the towels in the room seems dirty!
Don't stay here. It's not worth the money or the aggravation! You could stay at a roach motel at the beach for less and get the same experience!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. Good hot continental breakfast with grits, oatmeal, bisuits, sausage, eggs, cereals, danish, etc. Good selection of drinks and snacks at market. Full size fridge and kitchenette. Able to walk to racetrack, restaurants, and mall. Room by the pool was very noisy with guest that sat out there at night visiting. 15 minutes from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Despite the fact that the Daytona Police had to keep visiting the Hotel due to a family reunion the Hotel was very nice. It is a newer property, I believe about 3 years old. The breakfast was decent and the property was well maintained. Many local dining options are available as well as shopping. The property is a short distance from both I-4 and I-95, as well as Daytona Beach. The hotel is essentially on the property of the Daytona International Speedway, easily a short walk. The suites are smaller than most Residence Inns I have stayed at, but the rooms are still larger than your traditional hotel room. All in all in a city full of less than great hotels this is a very good option at what I thought was a very ($111.00) great rate.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Excellent experience. Facilities clean and well kept. Best sleeping beds ever. Space of the suites was perfect for party of five people. Will definitely come back. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Daytona Beach Speedway/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Daytona Beach Speedway/Airport

Address: 1725 Richard Petty Boulevard, Daytona Beach, FL 32114
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Daytona Beach Speedway/Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Daytona Beach is Marriott's extended-stay hotel that helps you feel connected while away from home and maintain a balance of work and life. We are footsteps away from Daytona International Speedway, home of the Daytona 500 and Coke Zero 400. Our homelike surroundings invite you to relax and our community atmosphere will make you feel welcome. We are located near Embry Riddle University, Bethune Cookman University, Daytona State College, Halifax Hospital, Florida Hospital Daytona Beach International Airport and NASCAR. The "World's Most Famous Beach," Daytona Beach, is only a short drive from our hotel. While staying at this Daytona Beach Florida hotel, you can enjoy all of our special events: Rolex 24, 24 hours of Daytona, Grand AM (racing at its finest), Speedweek, The Bud Shootout, Bikeweek, Spring Break, Biketoberfest, and the Turkey Rod Run. Daytona Beach is the epicenter between St. Augustine's historical sites, Orlando's theme parks, and Kennedy Space Center, home of NASA. We are also a pet-friendly hotel, so you can bring the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Daytona Beach Speedway/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Daytona Beach Hotel Daytona Beach
Residence Inn Daytona Beach
Marriott Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Marriott
Daytona Beach Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Daytona Beach Speedway/Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.