We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place during race weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shells Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Shells Beach Club to your Saves list
Sea Shells Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1014 N. Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Chill Is Here
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place during race weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for the Coke Zero race. We had a great and easy check in and upgraded while we checked in. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean front room on 3rd floor which had a great view. The room was comfortable and clean and had everything you would need. We would go again without a doubt. We did tell them when we left that they need to treat a little bit better for bugs and I do recommend that they change out shower head as it was not a very good flow and it's hard when you have long hair to deal with that. Those were and are our only complaints but that would not hinder us from going again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher level and corner is really the best if you want to be on oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    45
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My family and I stayed there in June on our final leg of our summer vacation to give us some different beach time in Daytona Beach. The check in process was real easy and the quaintness of the resort was perfect for us. This resort has been updated and it's nice with plenty of character. There is carts for luggage, elevator, laundry room, game room, daily maid service, outside grill, and a nice pool area. There was plenty of parking while we were there and the resort is ocean front with access from the rear steps. The ocean front room was nice with a kitchenette, stocked kitchen, a small dinning area, two large queen size beds, and plenty of items for your needs. The unit was very clean and offered a nice cold AC and a dehumidifier which was necessary along the beach. This was located just below the Ocean Walk Boardwalk which was great for us as we went there both evenings to enjoy the ambiance of the concerts and the activities there. The pool was inviting and the beach was a few steps away down the the back steps from the 2nd floor unit. The staff was very nice and always offered to see if you were enjoying your stay there. We got a change out of towels that next day which was not necessary but very nice since I was with three teenagers. It's located at 1014 North Atlantic Ave. in Daytona Beach. Worth the time to go and check it out for a week stay or a weekend. We certainly enjoyed it there!

Room Tip: They have both ocean front rooms and non ocean rooms. But they have a nice area to view the ocean f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, Manager at Sea Shells Beach Club, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for spending part of your family vacation with us at Sea Shells! Sounds like you had a great time and that you enjoyed the resort. We appreciate your detailed review and most importantly, the opportunity to provide you with a great vacation experience. We hope you will come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This location was absolutely wonderful. Always a little apprehensive when shopping for a vacation on the internet but it was spot on. The one bedroom oceanfront was a gem. Newly decorated and spacious and very clean. The location on the beach was perfect for longer strolls to the central pier. Cleaning staff was attentive and commendable!

The hotel staff were absolutely incredible....personable and enjoyable to have conversation with. The beach bikes were constantly rented by my two teenage daughters who had a blast with them. Staff (from hotel manager to night staff) made our week and was always willing to make recommendations. We had a laugh with them. Thank you to our American neighbours for making these Canadians feel welcome without being condescending. We look forward to next year!

The Carson clan - Room 406

Room Tip: Oceanfront all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, Manager at Sea Shells Beach Club, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks Carson Clan! We surely appreciate our Canadian guests and your kind comments about our wonderful resort, especially your comments about our exemplary staff. Please spread the word about Sea Shells Beach Club up north and come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at the Seashell in May. Stayed on fourth floor oceanfront 1 br unit. Room was very clean and there were always staff out cleaning windows etc. hotel was not crowded and we almost always had the pool to ourselves. Staff were all very friendly. Thought I would not like the fact that the oceanfront rooms shared the balcony but it was nice having steps that went right down to the pool. I would not like first or second floor oceanfront because there would be too many people walking on the common balcony area and the view would not be good. Seems like ocean view rooms would all have a great view because there is an open lot on that side so there is nothing to block the view and they have a private balcony. Wifi is not good at all. We did not realize how much we look up info. On attractions etc. while on vacation until you can't get online to check it out. Really enjoyed our stay and hoping to go to the Seashell again.

Room Tip: Ocean view would all b nice with private balcony. I would suggest only third or fourth floor if oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip Terrace, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was there the Summer of 2012, in July, we had the big room upstairs above the office.
The rooms are GREAT, full kitchen big TV's 3 ..which is good with a family of 5.. Pool down stairs ocean out back, chairs floats skimboards all good..Oh ya the BBQ out back was broken the 1st time I went to use it.. we let them know they said yes we heard. I was like OK what did that mean, the next morning when we went to get chairs for the beach I was informed it had been replaced and ready for use. Now don't forget, some people when they use things that aren't theirs don't care and mis use them . but that was replace very quickly because another guest told me it was working over the weekend when they had used it..
The staff were VERY friendly and helpful and so were the house keeping staff.. always accommodating. If we told her we were sleeping in she said no problem i'll do your room last..Parking could get a little tight you get people who feel their car needs 2 spots instead of one...all in all I would go back tomorrow..

Room Tip: like I said we had the big room up front it was GREAT full kitchen full frig full stove.. we even in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice little place but do not recommend a studio room. Too small & no where to sit except on the beds.
No regular refrigerator only a small size. Would not freeze anything & did not hold much. The ice machine broke in the building & after several trips to the office it was never fixed. Not much to do around the place unless you like bars. The beach & pool was nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david d, Manager at Sea Shells Beach Club, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments Linda. Although the studio room was not completely to your liking we trust you found your accomodations to be clean and comfortable. Sorry the ice machine was not repaired in a timely manner and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We arrived on a Sat and couldn't sleep that night because of loud hooting & hollering drunks below us. The area around Sea Shells is outdated and borderline ghetto, we did not feel safe to walk around in the neighborhood. Was not what we were expecting when we thought we are staying at a "resort." We were looking forward to relaxing at the pool the next day, the main attraction at sea shells, and couldn't believe that the pool area had been rented out for a graduation party complete with a super loud dj, booze and smoke. Back in our room, a number of things were broken in the room including our stove. Our ocean view room overlooked an empty field strewn with trash and broken concrete. First thing Monday morning I called global connections to see if we could be transferred to a new location. We were told no but that someone would fix the issues. The Sea Shells manager was very nice and apologized for the pool party inconvenience but basically told us it was just our own bad luck that we choose that date to be at Sea Shells because they have a tradition to allow graduates to use the facility. She did try to get everything in our unit fixed but the stove needed parts which would not come in until the next week so we are given a $50 gift card to compensate. I think she tried to make things better to the extent she could. The rest of the week went better, the other guests during the week were much better than the "weekend" crowd--it felt more quiet & relaxed. But we did end up leaving 2 days early, we were anxious to get back home where we feel safe and can sleep well at night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Shells Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Shells Beach Club

Address: 1014 N. Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Shells Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy resort located on the World's Most Famous Beach. All units equipped with either kitchenette or full kitchen. Relax in our heated pool, while watching the waves crash on the shore. Take a stroll up the beach and visit the Boardwalk and Oceanwalk shops. Great location located where all the action is, but not in all the crowds. Our staff is waiting to help make this a great vacation for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Shells Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shells Beach Club Hotel Daytona Beach
Sea Shells Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shells Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.