We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything at arms reach/Great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Ocean Walk to your Saves list
Wyndham Ocean Walk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 N. Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Willowick, OH
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everything at arms reach/Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

My family and I absolutely loved the Wyndham/Oceanwalk condo hotel. I searched for anywhere in the US that was reasonable in cost and had a lot to offer at the resort. I was not disappointed. I thought the pictures were too good to be true, I've made many mistakes other years. After experiencing the resort and everything they had to offer it was even better than we expected.

Our goal was to have everything at our fingertips for our family so that we didn't waste time driving around to restaurants or shops. This held true at the Wyndham. There were restaurants and shops connecting to the hotel. There were two pools and a lazy river. The beach was right there. Best of all our children of 4 and 5 enjoyed the "dive-in" movie. This was a big screen they set up at the pool with kids movies the played at night. The kids loved to swim and watch a movie, it was fantastic. There was also a craft room that had so many activities for the children to sign up for when they needed a break from the sun. They made many souvenirs and just had a ball.

The rooms were very nice. The kitchen and bathroom were like new and very clean. The only work that was needed in the condo was that the livingroom furniture and carpeting really needed updating. The view was fantastic.

The pool deck is not very big but we found that with children we didn't really get to lay out much anyways.
One bad thing was that one of the pools was closed for a few hours almost everyday from either glass or debris. We felt that glass containers should be monitored a little more closely by security or lifeguards. This caused the other pool to be very croweded but at least there was another pool to go to.

I would recommend this resort for families. Our family will visit another location of the Wyndham next year due to our great stay.

Hope this helped!

  • Liked — Having a choice of pool or beach fun.
  • Disliked — The pool deck being to small.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    454
    266
    210
    195
See reviews for
837
207
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

We have been staying at Ocean Walk for five years. We have rented directly from Ocean Walk, private unit owners and from Time Share owners. The units are very large and comfortable for families. The ocean front units have one bedroom and or the living room area ocean front only. The extra bedroom unit is a "lockout" which can be sold as a separate unit as well. These units only have a window to the noisy hallways. There seemed to always be teens running around unattended after 10pm and much later. This year there were many more security people at all the gates to the pool area and around the property, especially at night. Most of the activites are aimmed at the young kids. There needs to be more for the teens to do besides a small game room in the basement. Almost all of the arcades and rides at the boardwalk are gone.

There are multiple busy pools inside and out. There is only one gate for the beach access which makes for traffic jams at peek times to and from the beach. On the beach, the umbrella and chairs vendor blocks to entire strip in front of the hotel so you have to walk through the umbrella row to get to the ocean.

The only food available is very limited menu or mostly prepackaged food. All units have kitchens and there is a great greasey spoon diner accross the street. We did have the lunch specials from the outside bar and they were tasty.

The units are starting to show their age even though the North building is only 4 years old. The location is excellant - the no cars zone of the beach. Walk to movies and many restaurants. You pay for the location.

We tryed to get unit descriptions and floor plans from the reservation people or the front desk before we booked, but they were some what secretive. We endede with an ocean view which was the roof top of the hotel next door. The cars and motorcycles up and down the strip were noisy and so was the loading dock. As our kids are older we will look for a more quite reserved place to stay. It was great while it lasted, but I think the property is headaed for a slide. There are lots of other newer properties due to huricanne rebuilding and remodeling.

  • Liked — location, big units
  • Disliked — too busy
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We have just returned from a week at the Oceanwalk in Daytona, and could not be more thrilled with the hotel and the local amenities. We had a fantastic room with an ocean view, and loved the convenience of being able to make our own meals in the room. This saved a bundle for all seven of us who had more than enough space to cohabitate for the week. The beach was fabulous...can't say enough nice about this place and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

If we had checked ahead, as you need to when staying in Daytona, we would not have had a problem. We took our three young children there for spring break week. I DID check to see that it was not the same week as most colleges, so that was not going to be an issue. The place was convenient, beautiful, clean, the room/suite we had was gigantic, tons of room. Great pool, beach, lazy river for kids. Everything's great, right? Wrong! We arrived on Sunday, supposed to stay until following Sunday, everything's great, then Wed. we see police putting barricades up on the sidewalks. We ask why, and SOMEHOW, when we made our reservation, they neglected to inform us that the BCR--black college reunion--was coming to Daytona Thursday. The complaint has nothing to do with race whatsoever, understand that, but if you are on a family vacation with young kids, and suddenly 75,000 college age kids--of any race--show up, you cannot imagine the noise, the crowds, the utter gridlock on the street. We could not go anywhere due to cruising on the streets, it took a half hour to go five blocks, the sidelwalks were jammed, there was skin flashing, a constant deafening thump of rap music, the smell of illegal smoke in the hallways and everywhere, very unruly behavior(going around with video cameras in a attempt to talk women into removing their shirts), so it was NOT a place for young kids. We had to throw a fit with the desk to get them to refund our prepaid fee for the last two days. Thurs night we did not sleep due to the yelling and music that went on ALL NIGHT. The kids were terribly disappointed we had to cut the trip two days short. The reservations people SHOULD have told us. So my adivce is to check ahead, make sure spring break, BCR, race week, or Bike week is not the week you are going if you want a family vacation, because there are the same problems(noise, traffic, lewd behavior) at all these events when thousands of people show up to party themselves silly.

But the hotel itself is very nice, just make sure to CHECK AHEAD AND ASK QUESTIONS!

  • Liked — LOCATION, HUGE ROOMS, GREAT POOLS
  • Disliked — Reservations did not tell us about influx of 75,000 people for big event--too crowded!!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

My wife and 2 kids stayed at Ocean Walk this summer and we had a great time.

We booked through [--] online and in just a matter of minutes we had our confirmation and complete set of check in instructions and tips for our vacation. We were even able to get information on deep sea fishing from the website which was a great help. Check in was fast and easy and the desk people were very friendly.

We had an ocean front room that looked out directly over the swimming pool and ocean. the night view was absolutely beautiful! Our condo was very clean and well stocked with dishes, pots and pans, etc.

There is so much to do at Ocean Walk that we never left the resort for our entire trip. They have great activities for the kids while the wife and I just relaxed by the pool. We will book again for next year, our kids can not wait to go back.

  • Liked — Ocean View
  • Disliked — Having to depart after only 7 days
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

We stayed at the Ocean Walk for four nights. The staff were equivalent to the kids that man the drive thru at McD's. Customer satisfaction is a thought not a priority. We had no housekeeping during our entire stay. They only cleaned the room if you were checking out. The elevator situation was chaotic. They advertise crab on their "Seafood Buffet"--there were only shrimp and chicken. The pool was crowded at 10 in the morning. The saving seats rule was hardly enforced. I wouldn't stay at this hotel ever again. It was very run down and not well maintained. I guess if I was a drunk, partying co-ed---it would be great.

I would highly recommend dining at Norwood's in New Smyrna Beach during your visit to Daytona Beach. The food is fabulous seafood and is owned by locals. They have an extensive wine list, also.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

We have stayed at the Ocean Walk twice a year for the last 4 years and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Daytona. It is a wonderful resort for families. My kids ages 12 and 8 love it there as do my husband and I. From the pools indoor and out and slide and lazy river to the fun activities with Justin and crew (who are awesome) to the beautiful car-free beach you can't beat it. Not to mention that it is in walking distance to everything you could ask for from Restaurants, movies, stores, waterpark,etc.

  • Liked — Pool with slide and lazy river
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Address: 300 N. Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 740
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Ocean Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.