We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and pool area but there are problems with it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Ocean Walk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Walk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 N. Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location and pool area but there are problems with it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Pros:

Great location
Pool area is awesome
Oceanfront views are amazing
So convenient to have a separate bedroom area, pull-out couch, laundry/dryer in room and a full kitchen

Cons:

Long wait for elevators
Unit needs a good cleaning
Some staff could be more pleasant (isn't this The South?)
This isn't a "hotel" - no daily housekeeping or replenishing of toiletries unless you ask (shampoo, soap, etc.)

I really agree with all the recent reviews I have read: the pool area is so much fun and I love the location but the units seem to need a good cleaning and SOME staff could be more pleasant. Our unit had a coffee machine but no coffee pot and although the website said a DVD player would be in all units, ours didn't have one. Not a deal-breaker, but our son brought a movie, thinking he could watch it. I would still probably stay here again but at least I would be prepared ahead of time (bringing extra soap, shampoo, and beach towels).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    410
    220
    192
    177
See reviews for
735
176
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We rented a 3 BR unit with our 3 teens. Unit was spacious, oceanfront, nice décor, granite in kitchen. Great pools, slide, lazy river, 3 outdoor hottubs. Poolside bar was opened sporadically, not sure why it didn't have set hours. Right next to an assortment of restaurants and a movie theater, across from Daytona Lagoon, water park (this was just so-so). Elevators were slow at popular times of the day. We were one floor above the lobby so often just took the stairs. We would definitely go back. Would have been nice if they had some poolside acitivities for teens, but they did not. Be careful of room selection at north end of north tower...garbage trucks make a lot of noise in the am. Great place for kids!

Room Tip: Not too high of a floor....elevators are very slow. Be careful though of lower floors at north end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We traveled from June 5 - June 8. We rented 4 condos and were not very happy at all. In one condo, the paint was peeling off the wall, only 1 burner worked on the stove. In another condo, the dryer vent kept falling out on our clean clothes and getting lint all over them. In another condo, the stool was leaking and there was mold in the the shower, the handle was half falling off the sliding balcony door, the area rug in the living area was filthy. In the last condo, they had patched the walls and not painted them and the burners didn't work on the stove. The over all cleanliness of the condos was not good and they are not updated at all!!!! We stayed here 11 years ago and LOVED it, however, there have been no updates since that time. Everything looks old and outdated. The only positive thing I can say is that the pool area was nice and the view was fantastic of the ocean. I definitely would not recommend this property to anyone!!!!! I feel we paid a lot of money for very poor quality!!!!! The staff we dealt with was not overly friendly either. When you spend this kind of money, you would think you would get a little better service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlachen, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We traveled June 9th through 13th with 3 adults (ages 34, 39, 55), and 5 children (ages 7,8,9,12, 15). This was not our first visit and we have always enjoyed the resort. Overall, I still highly recommend it. However, there are some things you should know before traveling. The elevators are painfully slow (10-20 minute waits are no joke). Also, they have cut back tremendously on the activities by the pool for the children. Although when I asked about them they said they are just short-staffed and that the activities will be returning. Parking is very difficult at the resort, and if you have to bring 2 cars, it is $16/day to park in the garage across the street. We stayed in a 3 bedroom and one parking space is what you get. Period. Also, there is very limited seating at the pool, so getting a lounge chair involves waking up at 8 am and rushing down to the pool with the kids in tow. Overall, we still love the resort. They still have some activities to keep the kids occupied, and the views are awesome. The resort is in an awesome area within walking distance to the boardwalk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

HOTEL PROS - we stayed in a one bedroom deluxe privately owned apt and it was beautiful, spacious, clean, oceanfront and I was in love with the property. the hotel was really nice, the pool was amazing and the beach was spectacular. kiddie pool area was very entertaining for the smaller kids, lazy river was spectacular the kids loved it. there's also a regular pool to relax and then the other pool that has a big waterslide. the apt kitchen was equipped with all kitchen needs to cook, washer and dryer were a plus.

HOTEL CONS- REQUESTED TOILET PAPER AND STILL DIDNT RECEIVE IT TIL THE NEXT MORNING. THAT WAS TERRIBLE SERVICE. Also my son was just about the height required for the pool slide and the lady attending the pool still did not allow him to go down the slide which was very disappointing for him and myself since the majority of my interest in renting there was for the water slide. I didn't like the fact that the slide opened almost at lunch time and closed by 4 pm it was memorial weekend, the hotel was packed with kids dying to get on the slide and it was closed the majority of the time. also, the arcade had almost all the machines broken, so my kids couldn't use it much. the elevators were EXTREMELY SLOW, LIKE A SLEEPINGTURTLE WAS PROBABLY FASTER. TOOK FOREVER TO GET AN ELEVATOR ALL THE WAY TO THE 24TH FLOOR BY TIME IT GOT THERE IT WAS PACKED WITH PEOPLE. PEOPLE WERE GETTING DESPERATE AND INSTEAD OF WAITING FOR AN ELEVATOR THEY WOULD JUST GET IN ANY WHETHER GOING UP OR DOWN AND BY THE TIME IT MADE IT TO THE 24TH FLOOR IT WAS FULL WE WOULD WAIT FOR APPROX, 45 MINS TO GET AN ELEVATOR DAILY. front desk receptionist was a black big woman and she was not rude to me, but very rude to many people who she was attending in the front desk. also, my apt balcony needed better furniture, it was broken and old fashioned but I wasn't out there much so it did not make a difference in my stay. the hot tubs by the pool were very very dirty, I saw the pools were well maintained and kept clean for the amount of people that were in that hotel that weekend, but the hot tubs were really really really dirty. staff should work on having those cleaned more often. oh and the pools should have heater they were freezing in may!

TIP - find a nicer person to work the front desk, try to make the elevators work faster, clean the hot tubs more often, consider a heater for the pool and consider height requirements for the water slide.

other than that the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This place was a good place to stay in Daytona beach. It was on the beach, they have several pools and a couple bars. The elevators were an issue since one was wasn't working for our entire stay, another was down for a day. It took too long to get up to my room in the 22nd floor. The fire alarm went off the first night at 1:30 am and was a false alarm. The place was clean, pool was nice, location was great. I would stay again as long as the elevators were fixed and they stop bugging me about the timeshare meetings.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great stay in Daytona Beach. The ocean walk was everything we expected it to be and the view drom the 22 floor was amazing. We will never stay at a hotel there again I mean for the same price, you get your own condo with a balcony on the water, a kitchen, private bedrooms, and lots of fun stuff to do right there in the complex. We went to the movies, arcade, pool, and had a great time. Thanks Ocean Walk for an awesome vacation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Address: 300 N. Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Ocean Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.