We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Ocean Walk to your Saves list
Wyndham Ocean Walk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 N. Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Joseph, MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I live by trip advisor and use it all the time. The reviews kept getting worse the closer we came to arrival. We are in the south tower over Easter brake, 19th floor our room has new carpet and new paint. The elevators are fine, the parking spaces are fine and amble and we have a huge car. The towel policy is strange but o well. The pool area is clean and well kept. Not a small task with all the sand. The staff is friendly and we did not get hit up for time share even once. my wife is not here and I am traveling alone with my two kids , they knew that so it must have been the reason. Outside the resort is just downright bad if there is a big neg that is it, and I come from a really bad town this is worse. Because of that I give the whole experience a B-. There is a little mold in the shower along the caulk line of the tub but it didn't bite. Good luck.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    437
    254
    204
    191
See reviews for
803
199
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's not totally awful, but it's not great. This was our second stay here, and we found the place had deteriorated considerably over the past few years. Our family had two Worldmark units here on floors 11 and 14 in the north tower, and stuff was broken in both -- a microwave here, a dishwasher there, and other littler things. What wasn't broken felt old, tired, worn and, sometimes, a little grubby.

Elevators were painfully, painfully slow -- not nearly enough for the crowd packed into the building. Sure the place was extra-busy for spring break week, but shouldn't a tower like this be able to handle the crowds? We took the stairs often, but we one of us was in a wheelchair and so we ended up waiting a lot.

The real problem with this place was the staff. With very few exceptions, folks here are dour and downcast. No one smiles here. No one looks you in the eye and says "hello" or "welcome" or "how can I help?" The towel desk was especially annoying. Instead of treating us as individuals, the attendant asked us to wait so that she could give the towel policy speech to us and the next two parties all together. (If I had to give that speech and explain all those harsh terms, I'd try to do it as little as possible too.)

The saving grace is the beach, which is lovely, and right out the back door. It's hard not to love the sand and the water here. Even the food trucks on the beach are endearing. We'll happily return to Daytona Beach, when we have a chance. But not to this resort.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We rented a 3 bedroom condo from a private owner for Bike Week in March 2013. We were very pleased with the condo, the resort ammenities and the location. The condo had a great view of the ocean and pool from the living room and master bedroom. While the kitchen could have been better stocked with utencils, it was adequate if you eat out most of your big meals. The resort staff was super friendly, helpful and accomodating. The resort was biker-friendly and offered plenty of parking and security staff. The location was great as it was within walking distance to Main St. We highly recommend the Starlight Diner across the street for breakfast and Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. next door for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have never been to Daytona beach before, but I stayed in a rental from an owner, which was a really nice cornere unit in the south tower. Only 20 minutes or so from the daytona beach airport-Check-in was smooth, angel was the agent that helped us and he was friendly. The resort itself was impressive, definitely kid friendly with waterslides, lazy river, kiddie pool, and one additional pool outdoors and 2 indoor pools. My only complaint is that there were no vending machines, but they did have a store that sold soda, chips etc... And breakfast which was yummy! I would definitely return to this resort.
The resort itself was in great shape, it looked brand new!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a one bedroom ocean front room. The decor was dated, but still very nice. It had a full kitchen, balcony and washer and dryer. We didn't use the kitchen much, but it would have been great for a longer stay. The pools are nice, but the hot tubs weren't overly 'hot'. The lazy river is not heated so we didn't use it at all. The location is fantastic, right in heart of all the action, especially for bike week. The staff was ok, but didn't go out of their way to be helpful. There were a couple of inconveniences - have to leave id for the luggage cart, you only get one pool towel per person for the whole stay, and there is no free coffee in the room. But overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely choose an Ocean FRONT room... well worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Please avoid this resort/hotel if you are looking forward to a seamless smooth vacation. We went there this week and it was absolutely horrid. We didn't expect much in the way of quiet because of Spring Breakers so we expected the occasional drunk teenager knocking on our door at 2am nightly. But what we didn't expect was the lack of quality at this Wynhdam.

Upon checkin which was supposed to be at 4pm we waited until 6:30pm to get our room. Inside bar was not open until later. Numerous guests were just waiting around to check in and the hotel could have made a killing in liquor sales. We kept getting the same speech from the front desk about lack of help and being understaffed. We can tolerate a lot including "lack of help" speeches, but the attitude each one had was horrible. I can not compliment anyone at this hotel for being friendly other than Tammie who was trying to sell us a time share. Upon arrival at the room we didn't have towels. It took 4 calls to the front desk to get towels sent up (they came at 10pm).
The room was not cleaned once during the stay. Unlike as advertised the room had zero WI-FI. It is only available in the lobby or to time share owners. The beds were very uncomfortable and dated and the pull out couch should have been on CSI.

We live in South Florida and have many nice beaches to choose from, but we have always enjoyed going to Daytona Beach. We will never come back to this hotel and I will question using any Wyndham in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We arrived the last day of bike week, that was impressive. Played golf at the LPGA twice only 20 minutes away. St Augustine was 45 minutes and NSB was 30. The beach was great for miles of walking. Can't wait until next year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Address: 300 N. Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 740
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Ocean Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.