We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unanticipated disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gene's Steak House

Gene's Steak House
3674 W International Speedway Blvd, Daytona Beach, FL 32124-1058
386-255-2059
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 370 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An unanticipated disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Going to celebrate a dear friends monumental event in her life, we decided to treat ourselves to a nice dinner. Dinner took 3 HOURS! We received our side dishes after they had cleared our plates of our main course. We had no water because all their "water" cups were dirty. Management was disrespectful to our entire group and the waitress was rude and treated us as if we were putting her out to do her job. The worst service of my entire life. When we confront management to express our exprience...the bartender claims that we "WILL pay our God Da*n bill!!" it's amazing this establishment has stayed open this long being so trashy!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    24
    24
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Old Florida Establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We went to Gene's because we had gotten a Groupon. Must have driven past this place dozens of times without knowing it was a really great steak house. Our waiter was just wonderful and was the food. We are planning on going back when we return to Florida in a few months.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Love the food, steaks are superb. Every dish is totally delicious. Service is flawless. Atmosphere is a step back in time....love that! It is our #1 favorite restaurant for special occasions and would love to go more often. (Dieting and limited income curtail that desire however.) You cannot go wrong here, you got to try it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Steak I ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived very early didnt know that reservation can be made, limited seating. Had dinner Sirloin for two with salad and baked potato, this was the largest steak I have ever seen. It was great and the chef actually cooked the steak on either side just the way each of us liked it, one side rare the other medium. Looks from the outside very deceiving, a must try in Daytona beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tops for Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

One of our favorite restaurants. I had NY Strip and Wife had small Filet. Both done perfect to temperature and tasty. Service was as always very atttentive. We always look forward to having dinner here at least once when in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gene's Steak House also viewed

 
Daytona Beach, FL
 

Been to Gene's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gene's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.