We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Genovese's Italian Cafe

Genovese's Italian Cafe
116 Dunlawton Blvd, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
386-767-4151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 362 restaurants in Daytona Beach
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
DeLand, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unhappy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went there expecting great pizza and it was not. Chef salad bland with bottled or poor italian dressing. We had a large with pep and extra cheese. I think they forgot the extra cheese. As for the other food I can not say but for sure you can do better elsewhere for pizza. They need some good Italian flair or something. It is missing that a lot. Very unhappy! Asked if i could get some OLIVE OIL to drizzle on my pizza and I was told sure. I was brought of bottle of Veg or canola. Not the same at all. They might consider adding a little more Italian influence to the place. The potential was there but they missed the mark bad. I WILL NOT RETURN.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    50
    37
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The food is not consistent. We used to get our pizza here ALL of the time and lately, it's not been very good. We're getting elsewhere.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A gem! the locals love this place! We do too now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a cheese pizza and a lasagna and a side salad for three of us. The flavors were very good full rich tomato flavor (not Burnt) just right. We took about half home to the hotel!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Many have commented about the pizza, but I had the lasagna and my wife the chicken parmesan and fettucine alfredo. The fettucine alfredo my wife said is the best she has had. The chicken parmesan she would have preferred a bit crispier. The lasagna was delicious, more Italian than American as not much added in the way of herbs and spices. Generous size servings and reasonably priced.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We go to Daytona Beach every year and this is the first place we go to eat. They have the best pizza and lasagna I have ever eaten. I have had italian foods a lot of places but theirs is the best. We usually get our meals to go and go back to our condo for dinner but I highly recommend this place to anyone that likes italian. Good place to eat and good prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genovese's Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Genovese's Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genovese's Italian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.