We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good- Not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tia Cori's Tacos

Tia Cori's Tacos
214 N Beach St, Daytona Beach, FL 32114-3302
386-947-4333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 376 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Restaurant just opened May 2010. This is a new location, opened in May 2010. We went last Sunday for the first time and have been there 3x now.
Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good- Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Food is a good quality and authentic Mexican but I guess I was expecting more after the reviews. They are nice and cheap too. If I wanted a taco and had to choose between here and Chipotle I would choose Chipotle!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    71
    19
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Tacos Since I Lived in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Fabulous tacos! After spending 10 years in Southern California and moving away, I have looked for a place that had comparable tacos. This place not only holds a candle, but is just as good.

You will not be disappointed!!! Must eat here if you're looking for great Mexican food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A staple for our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have gone twice now (once last year, and during this trip). Both times happy with the service, the food, and the atmosphere. We ordered the tacos, a combination of hard and soft, of the Mexican and American variety, in a combo with chips and soda. We also had the mild sauce, green (medium) sauce, and HOT HOT HOT sauce that had a name I do not recall.

The tacos are delicious, and priced cheaper than I would expect. I like how you can choose from a lot of different meats. The chips are so great.

We never leave with anything left on our plates :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

First time at this place, we ordered take out, great enchiladas and shrimp burritos. Staff was very friendly

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What Were Those Enchiladas?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

While vacationing in Daytona Beach we had a hankering for enchiladas and were excited to find this highly rated spot and headed on over. I ordered cheese with red sauce (you can have red or green), friend had chicken and daughter wanted a couple of chicken enchiladas, no beans or rice. That is not an option here as they do not sell them ala carte. The not too friendly order taker advised they could omit rice and beans from the plate but we would still have to pay for a combo. So my daughter ordered the combo with 2 chicken and 1 beef. Never one to let a good enchilada go to waste, I figured I would eat the extra one and my friend and I would split the beans and rice. Sad to say we did not enjoy our meals. We've eaten a lot of authentic mexican food during our travels and felt this didn't compare to most. To be fair, we only tried one dish, but our opinion is this.. The tortillas were tough, the sauce not much flavor. And the cheese - what was that cheese? It wasn't the usual creamy, melty, smooth goodness that we were craving. It was more of a tasteless dry, crumbled, not melted in any way kind of filling which sadly wasn't too filling. I ate 2 of the 3. The shredded chicken and beef were good, both tender and tasty but same as the cheese, not much of it and tough tortillas. We ate the beans, and left most of the rice. Both were just ok. Overall, the meals were not satisfying. We didn't get the chips and salsa as they were an extra charge. They are often complimentary at other places.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tia Cori's Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Tia Cori's Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tia Cori's Tacos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.