We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view! Lousy food and service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Doc Bales' Grill

Doc Bales' Grill
100 N Atlantic Avenue, Hilton Daytona Beach Resort, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
+1-386-254-8200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 344 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great view! Lousy food and service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We were one of three tables in the restaurant! Our server brought water and warm bread then returned about ten minutes later with bread and butter plates, lemon and a straw. My burger was way over cooked, though I requested medium, so dry and tasteless as were my husband's pork chops. Again, it took close to ten minutes for our server to bring a steak knife once his chops were served. We never saw her again until she cleared our plates and delivered the check. Really a shame!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    16
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“pretty good buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We couldn't get into Hyde Park steakhouse, so seven us came here. Easy, inside the hotel. The food was fresh and good, very good value at $12.95. My wife and I had a late lunch there too, service a little slow, but our salads were excellent. To be fair, we were there between lunch and dinner, staff was light.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and disorganized service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The restaurant is inside the Hilton on Daytona Beach. There aren't a lot of restaurants near the Hilton other than Bubba Gump's and Joe's Crab Shack so we ate at Doc Bale's one night and it was not a great experience. The food was mediocre at best. The fried fish was tepid and the vegetables overcooked. The service was terrible. We had no fewer than four waitstaff help us but despite that it took forever to get refills on water or lemon slices. The waitstaff didn't seem to be assigned to tables so it was catch someone if you could. Not a great plan for service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I were recently in Daytona for a conference, she was in the conference, I was on vacation, anyway, it was raining out and I didn't want to leave hotel for dinner so I decided on Doc Bales grill in the hotel, I found the 12.95 buffet dinner, far less expensive than other food in hotel, I do not know if this was a conference special or everyday, their was baked chicken, salad bar, rice, steamed veggies, fried catfish and cake for dessert, all very good, so I can give buffet high marks but cannot comment on the menu items

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Stop for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good food. Service a bit slow but the sports bar atmosphere helps the wait. Again, good for kids. I suggest the chili dog and vodka tonics.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Bales' Grill also viewed

Daytona Beach, FL
 
Daytona Beach, FL
 

Been to Doc Bales' Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doc Bales' Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.