We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Tropical Seas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Tropical Seas to your Saves list
Days Inn Tropical Seas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3357 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I needed a room for a couple of days for I trip I was making and this property came up in my search for the spring dates at a very decent rate. So after looking at the pictures and deciding to take a chance I booked the room.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that this property is so much more than I expected for a two star motel. The rooms are spacious and extremely clean. Each room has a private balcony to watch the sunrise from, which I did. I also ate supper out there too and sat at night prior to turning in.

The amenities are many for this level of hotel. On the beach side they have a large tiled deck with lounge chairs and tables and chairs with umbrellas. The large, clean pool is next to the deck which overlooks the Atlantic Ocean. At the opposite end of the deck is a hot tub. I didn't make use of this.

On the bottom floor is the deck and pool area access and that is where the vending is. Kind of a walk but it is all in one place. There's also some arcade games at the same spot. And while walking around I found a shuffle board court just waiting to be used.

The motel has two parking areas, one topside and another underground which protects you from the always changing Florida weather. Also on the grounds is a small coin laundry with two washers and two dryers.

The room I stayed in was a good sized, older style motel room, recently renovated and very clean and new looking. Mine came with two queen beds, a nice table and chairs, a new GE large mini-fridge, and a large Goldstar microwave. I did not peak into the large pine cabinet to check out the TV as I wasn't there to watch television, but to get quiet and read.

The bathroom was on the small size but normal for older properties. It had a full tub, vibrating shower head, and a single sink. And the bathroom has a door for privacy.

Understanding that it's not the Ritz, the Days Inn Tropical Seas is a very simple, clean, and comfortable room at a decent price. And it's only a few steps from Daytona's world famous drive-on beach and the Atlantic Ocean. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view of the ocean with less noise from the pool and neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    227
    77
    23
    17
See reviews for
280
242
61
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Only was able to stay 3 nights, but enjoyed sitting on balcony and watching the ocean, a thunderstorm travel over the ocean, and everything else there. Room was really nice and clean, coffee in room was great! Will return asap

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and had a much needed relaxing visit. Would recommend this establishment to anyone. Would recommend that you get the higher floors because of the fabulous view from the balconies. The staff were very friendly and was very accommodating.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Fifth year in a row staying here. Older but clean and value for your money. I would suggest upper floors. Some years we are lower and can hear the pool and parked vendors motors if our balcony door is open. Free Wifi included with room rates. I especially like inside safety of all rooms are inside entrances. Must pass thru the lobby to get to your room. A few times the elevator was a longer wait, but not too bad. The staff was wonderful. Check in was easy. Our flight was early I called the hotel and they had our room ready when we got there - which was about 1:30 p.m. (before check in time). Great hotel for relaxing and walking the beach. Nice to have refrigerator and mircowave in the room. If you need anything ask the front desk - they are very helpful. Note: Only shampoo and soap in the room but I called before we arrived to verify shampoo still in the room and she stated we now also offer conditioner. When I got to the room no conditioner. I asked at the front desk and they had it there and also lotion. This area of the ocean is not as crowded as some. I usually go during college break and have never had a problem with this time of year.

Room Tip: Across the street is a Burger King, great ice cream pie. Also, near is a drug store with limited foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in an ocean view room and for the price it just doesn't get any better than this. We booked through a third party and paid about $65 / night including taxes. The room was worth twice that. The ocean view room (south side of property) had a great view. There was a vacant lot next door so there was not another building right on top of you. Got to see a good stretch of beach as well as the pier - lovely (Ocean view was actually nicer than ocean front - took a peek at an unoccupied ocean front room. The Ocean front was a larger room with better layout but the view was not as good; you only got to see a slice of the ocean, not much else.)
The room was a bit small and dated and it is an older hotel but again, for the money we have no complaints.
They had two computers in the lobby which was a plus since I don't have a laptop.
Most Days Inns include breakfast but not this one. Not a show stopper but just keep that in mind if you are expecting breakfast to be included.
The beach of course was the main selling point here. Yes, cars do drive on it but that is true for most of Daytona. What I liked was there was a good stretch of sand that was above water level. In some parts of Daytona the water covers the whole beach, depending on the tide but not here. If you set yourself up about where the cars park you are good for the entire day. Also, beach was clean, no trash or seaweed.
We will return. Our only dilemma is which room type to pick next time - ocean front efficiency with good layout or ocean view with great view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Definately would return to this hotel. We stayed two nights recently. The staff is very friendly. The room was very clean. The view was incredible. Environmentally conscious.

Room Tip: Definately get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and it was an even better experience than our first visit in August, 2011. We got an oceanfront room this time. We were delighted that we were given an efficiency Two Doubles room. The room was well equipped, VERY clean, and the price for an off-season, weekday room was excellent! We plan on making this our "go-to" place when we need to get away and visit the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Tropical Seas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Tropical Seas

Address: 3357 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Tropical Seas 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Tropical Seas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Tropical Seas Hotel Daytona Beach
Tropical Seas Days Inn
Days Inn Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Tropical Seas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.