We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Holiday Beach Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Daytona Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Holiday Beach Motel
3717 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 110 hotels in Daytona Beach
Crescent City, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Great Break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Royal Holiday many years now. This is our "get away"
place where we can drive a short distance, and forget about everything. What a great place to walk the beach, enjoy the pool or set on the balcony and watch the surfers. The Joncas family are great and certainly make you feel welcome, the rooms are immaculate. You couldn't ask for a better place to go and forget the hussel and bussel of our crazy everyday lives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    9
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bushnell
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I grew motel up in Daytona Beach Shores and am totally familiar with the area. The Royal Holiday Beach Motel is one of the few remaining small, family owned, beachfront motels left amidst a sea of 16-story highrises. If you like a little quieter place with an absolutely wonderful oceanfront location just a few minutes walk on the beach to the Sunglow pier with its great Crabby Joe's restaurant open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour and dinner and a few minutes drive to the beautiful 1887 Ponce Inlet lighthouse and museum, then the RHB motel should be your first choice. My wife and I stayed in the oceanfront efficiency and having the full kitchen meant that we did not have to eat out every meal--more time to walk on the beach or ride the waves. The owners, Marilyn, Pierre and Chris love the beach as much as we do and put there hearts into making you feel at home. The pool and patio area is immaculate, there is wifi for those like me who have to stay connected and a workout room to burn off those extra calories from the key lime pie! If you've never been to Daytona Beach, you should go. At low tide the beach looks a mile wide. The sand is white, and the beach is very flat and wide enough for cars to drive on without any inconvenience to beach-walkers, but this area is near the sea turtle preserve where driving is banned, so there isn't much traffic. We always visit the superb Ponce Inlet lighthouse when we are here and it is well worth the trip. Built of red brick in 1887, the lighthouse, which is on the National Registry, is 175 feet tall and still in active service. The best part is that you can go inside and walk up the 203 steps of the spiral staircase to the cupola on top where you can get a stupendous 360 degree view of the inlet, the Atlantic Ocean and Daytona Beach. The original lighthouse keepers' homes have been preserved and turned into museums where you can see the offices, rooms and various items that were used in keeping the light going, together with great old photos of the area from the late 1800s into the 1920s, 30s and 40s. So, 5 stars to Royal Holiday Beach and we are making it our home away from home at the beach.

Room Tip: The oceanfront efficiencies have a full kitchen and the best view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This motel is just what the doctor ordered for rest and relaxation. It reminded me of the motels our family stayed out when I was a teen (many moons ago). I can't wait to go back with my husband and walk on the beach, watch the gorgeous sunrise, and just chill. Marilyn made me feel so comfortable and gave great directions for everything in the area that I wanted to get to. October and November are perfect off season months . I can't wait to return---maybe next month for our anniversary. Thanks again Marilyn!!

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor with a great view of the ocean and the sunrise..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I agree with all of the other comments. The owners Marilyn an Pierre are extremely nice and helpful. The room and grounds are immaculate and parking is secure. Pool area is also very nice even though I did not use it. A Great Place to stay. The only thing I could recommend is having wifi and a better shower head in the bathroom. But I do wish to reiterate that these two items are small and for a warm and welcome stay you cannot find better. I will be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We travel to Daytona Beach Shores every year. We have been staying at the Royal Holiday for at least 10 of those years. Pierre, Marilyn and Chris are awsome owners / caretakers. It's like going to visit and stay with family. May be even better !! They are kind, friendly, and the rooms are immaculate. The pool area is private with a beautiful view of the beach. In just a few steps down the stairs, you are walking along the beach or into the ocean. Walking distance is
Crabby Joe's - great place for their omelet bar on the weekends and an excellent place to fish on the pier.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant or room service available. Any room is an awsome room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Springs, Ohio, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week at Royal Holiday Beach Motel. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. We love Daytona Beach and have been going there for years. The Joncas family know how to take care of their guests. The property is spotless. It may be a "no frills" motel, but it has everything we want and need. We love it and we love the Joncas family. We look forward to our next visit! Thanks to Marilyn, Pete and Chris for another wonderful week!

Jim & Marcia Brown

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great location, Very close to the beach. No frill, Clean, spotless. We have a designated parking spot. The kitchen is very usefull and we passed a very good week vacation on site. There is plenty of space on the beach, and not crowded at all. The owner are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Holiday Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Holiday Beach Motel

Also Known As:
Royal Holiday Beach Hotel Daytona Beach
Royal Holiday Beach Hotel
Royal Holiday Beach Daytona
Address: 3717 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a two-story, 30 unit, family owned and operated motel on Daytona Beach. All rooms are non-smoking with unit air-conditioner & heater. One parking space per rental unit is available with complimentary newspaper provided daily. Maid service daily except Sunday & holidays and guest laundry on site. Owners reside on-site and have adult cardiovascular exercise equipment available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Holiday Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Holiday Beach Motel to your Saves list