We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spring Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Davie, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Spring Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at DBR for 3 nights during spring break. The room was a little dated, but clean, comfortable, and had a great view. The personnel at the resort were very helpful in every aspect. The service was top notch, everyone was very NICE. I would go back again anytime.

Room Tip: Choose a room on floors 1 through 6 so you can park near the room in the garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    144
    69
    50
    57
See reviews for
193
157
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Ultimately, I would give this between 3 and 3 1/2 stars.
After reading reviews that were either one star or 4, we had no idea what to expect. There is a central tower that is managed by the hotel and fairly uniform. The others are condos and sound like most are really nice, but there is some variability (eg. no mattresses) that we were unwilling to risk. We were supposed to get a 5th floor room, but it was not going to be ready. So, they offered us in a 2nd floor room. We were nervous about pool noise, so we said we'd wait for the original room. After a lot of confusion and waiting, we ultimately settled in the 2nd floor room. About 2 hours after settling in, the manager called to move us back to the original room. He said it had been trashed and they worked really hard to clean it up for us and helped us move all our stuff.
The location was great, the beach was nice, they have plenty of beach towels. The beds were comfy, the room was clean, but the kitchen was not really functional and there was no place to eat - just a small table that would seat 2. There was not a full set of glassware or utensils, so don't expect to eat in. There are lots of great nearby restaurants, so just plan to eat out.
We would probably stay there again because it was roomy, the beds were comfy, and it has an indoor pool. None of the luxury hotels had an indoor pool and easy access to the beach. I might risk one of the condos, which are privately owned, and take my chances. I would definitely ask to see your room before you empty your luggage out of your car. Then, I think you would be happy with your stay as long as everything looks reasonable at check in.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room if you haven't stayed there before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alachua, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had another wonderful stay at DBR! Everyone is always pleasant starting out with reservations then the front desk (both checking in and out), maintenance crew keeping everything neat and tidy around the pool/pool area and the grounds in general, the security and housekeeping for providing a clean room that is always well stocked with everything we need. The fire pit (upgraded along with other things!) is fun to sit around in the evening, everyone enjoys chatting about their day, their vacation, etc. We talked to a folks from around the US, Canada and France, they were in agreement with us -love staying at DBR. It is a very convenient location and easy to get in and out of. Nothing like waking up then taking a cup of coffee to the balcony to enjoy the beautiful sunrise. Thanks again and hope to see you in October.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We truly appreciate your feedback! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon to enjoy more of those beautiful sunrises with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This by far was the worst hotel experience my family and I have ever had. This is the first time we have booked a hotel that is not a chain hotel. We will never make that mistake again. As soon as we walked in the hotel we knew right away that I would not want to stay there. We were supposed to stay for 3 nights. We went to the front desk and spoke to a manager and informed him that we did not feel comfortable staying there and were going to go down the street to the Hilton. The manager said that he could not refund us. He said that he used to work for the Hilton and to trust him that this hotel was much better. Big mistake. We should have trusted our instincts. When we got up to the 11th floor the smell was awful. The room was ok. It was nothing great. My wife's birthday was the next day and I did not want to put my 3 kids through another 4+ hour car ride back to Miami so we decided to make the best of it. We went out to eat and then to the grocery store to pick up a few things. I was walking after my 1 year old son and a cockroach ran between our legs. It was horrifying. We have traveled the world and have managed to never see a roach prior to this. I went down stairs and pulled the manager aside so he did not freak out the other guests that were down stairs. Hotel staff came and a very nice man picked up the roach and informed us that it was just a "palmetto bug". Regardless of the name, it was disgusting and they are known to cause health problems. We have a 12 year old daughter with severe asthma who was coughing and wheezing since we arrived at this hotel. I later read that environments with roaches can cause allergic reactions and bronchial inflammation. Throughout the night roaches continued to crawl through our neighbor's door until we stuffed a towel between the 2 doors. My 4 year old is terrified of bugs and was hysterical. It took until midnight to get her to calm down. At that point my 1 year old son was sleeping and we had no choice, but to stay. I was too tired to drive. My wife couldn't sleep and stayed up crying. This was a nightmare and never in a million years how I would want my wife to spend her birthday. We checked out the next day and drove back to Miami. Then to add insult to injury, when we viewed our credit card statement, we were very seriously overcharged. We booked the hotel at $92 a night with a free 3rd night. When we only stayed 1 night and were told we would only be charged for that 1 night, why in the world would we get charged over $200? This is fraud. We spent months in dispute with this hotel and going back and fourth with our credit card statement. This hotel needs to be turned in to the health department.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Tim,

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit with us in August! I sincerely wish you would have reached out to us sooner regarding your concerns. We do work with a very reputable pest control company. When such critters arrive we make sure they do not stay long! If there was an error in the billing on your credit card, we certainly correct any errors that may have been made. Tim, I have sent you a note via TripAdvisor requesting details of your vist with us 7 months ago and I will personally look into your billing concerns,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My boyfriend and i came in during bike week just for a night, and we were looking for a hotel to stay in. We encounter some very rude customer services. So we left the hotel we originally plan to stay at and drove by the Dayton Beach Resort and said "this doesn't look bad lets try this out". The moment we walked in the receptionists were very welcoming and pleasant. Mike helped us booked a room, and was very helpful with everything. He made our experience one of the best we ever had at any hotel. They even have an inside pool! I would recommend this place to anyone! Upon our departure we made small talk with mike and one of the receptionists about what restaurant we wanted to try and they even had coupons to give to us! Everyone was wonderful, and we would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Get the Ocean View! Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dianurr, thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was charged $16.88 for a resort fee. When we asked what this was for, we were told it was for parking, tv, and 2 bottles of water. We were also told that it was mandatory that we pay this. This a joke. A service charge I can understand, but the reasons we were given are laughable.

Room Tip: Be aware that the bathroom sink is next to the kitchen sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Phillip, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I apologize for the explanation you were provided regarding the Resort Fee and what it covers. We, unlike some hotels do not have a seperate charge for parking, we do not have a seperate charge for access to Wi-Fi, we do not have a seperate charge for access to the fitness center. Many hotels charge their guests for such items, sometimes these charges are well in excess of the nominal daily Resort Fee charged by the Daytona Beach Resort. Included in this fee are the daily newspaper delivered to your room, bottled water daily to your room, along with the access to our three outdoor pools, our indoor pool, two jacuzzi's and our sauna. We truly appreciate your patronage. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We love staying here for business or pleasure. We were just here this week for business and are coming back this weekend for bike week. We love the hot tubs and the pools. The employees and the staff are always very helpful. The rooms are always clean, and we just love the beachfront location. Have stayed here for many years and will continue staying here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Matt and Armarna, thanks for your comments regarding your recent visit with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we always try our best to accomodate your needs! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2700 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy ultimate comfort and luxurious ocean front accommodation where every unit has a kitchenette at the Daytona Beach Resort. Once you arrive, choose between a dip in our white sandy beach or one of four resort pools. After a morning of swimming and sunbathing, relax in our spa or get a workout in our fitness center. Couples can enjoy an afternoon cocktail at our Reef Pool Bar while children catch waves and place their finishing touches on their sandcastles. Finish the perfect day with a great meal at our ocean front restaurant and head into a deep sleep while listening to the sounds of the waves. Whether you've come to our resort for the sand and the sun, or whether you've come here for an important conference or the wedding of loved ones, we're fully confident our Daytona Beach hotel will accommodate your vacation needs to the point of being unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.