We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Beach Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Caribe Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
El Caribe Resort and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2125 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Value Beach Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Stayed here both in August 2009 and then in August/September 2010. It is a great value hotel in Daytona Beach Shores (different from Daytona Beach). It is farther south and away from the crowded main beach and boardwalk area. I really like staying in DBS as opposed to DB because it is much more quiet. The rooms were adequate and there was everything that I needed, including a laundry area. Continental breakfast was included: cereal, bagels, pastries, toast, yogurt, and homemade donuts, along with coffee, milk, and juices. There are 2 pools, which was nice because if one was packed the other was available. My vacation is 2009 went without a hitch and never had a problem. It was quiet and relazing. The views were amazing!

I stayed over Labor Day weekend this year (2010) and I know I will never stay the same weekend again. There was one family that rented out the entire hotel for a reunion except for a few rooms (mine, the one next to mine, and a few others). They were complete pigs! They threw their garbage everywhere. On the grounds, in the pools, on the beach, everywhere they were there was garbage (including used condoms). They blasted music all day/night. We went to complain at the desk several times, but they refused to do anything about it. There are hours for the pools that stated they were to be used from 6a-11p, but they used until all hours of the night making noise and screaming. Security just stood there and watched- I honestly believe that he was afraid. After the family left the hotel went back to being immacualtely clean and quite- just like the previous year.

I left something in my room and they even mailed it back to me (granted, it took them 2.5 months to mail it, but I did get it back). All in all it's a quite, clean, beach motel and I will stay here again.. Just not during Labor Day weekend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    96
    42
    26
    28
See reviews for
118
74
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010 via mobile

The staff is friendly the manager Porcha very professional. I had a situation and she was very helpful because she know the area. This is my first review (shame on me) I have been staying at this hotel fir two years whenever I have business in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

This was our third stay at the El Caribe - first stay was their basic hotel room, second stay was their one bedroom suite, and this time we tried the one bedroom jacuzzi suite. We keep coming back because we haven't been disappointed yet! Both the bedroom and the living/dining area in the jacuzzi suite have outstanding views of the ocean, with large bay windows that go floor-to-ceiling. The wrap-around balcony provides views of the ocean to the east and to the south, with plenty of room to stretch out and find the sun. The suite is so spacious that it could easily accommodate five or six people without feeling cramped. The kitchen is handy, although it could use a little more counter space, and the jacuzzi is nice enough but not really necessary. Never used the pool because the beach was right there, and the hotel is in a relatively quiet area of Daytona Beach so it felt like we had the beach to ourselves. Early in our stay the hotel hosted a wedding and reception, but up on the seventh floor we didn't hear a thing despite being directly above the conference room. We saw a lot of Florida plates in the parking lot, which suggests that locals favor the El Caribe as good value and a good stay. The only bad thing I can say about the hotel is that their high speed internet was spotty at best.
I can't really imagine any Daytona Beach hotel having a better room that wasn't a timeshare condo, especially not with a kitchen and a large balcony. Next time we'll try the studio apartment suite!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ont.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We were very surprised on how big our room was. It was clean, spacious with a small kitchen plus a table with four chairs off in a small open room - with a window! Our balcony was a bit small, but it was only the two of us, and we had a view of the ocean plus part of the city. We had two queensize beds that were very comfortable. The staff are very, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included with our stay - fresh fruit of oranges, bananas, yogurt, cereals, toast, jam, cream cheese, donuts, and OJ. If you went hungry it was your own fault. They did a great job. The grounds are well kept, we did not get to use the heated pool, but my husband and his cousin enjoyed the shuffle board. There is a Windixie grocery store right across the road, and an IHop. Parking was free at the time we were there, but at peak times you might have to pay $10 a day. We did pay a small fee $1.50 to use the safe in our room. It is a good area, so no need to be afraid to walkabout. Always be cautious where ever your travels take you - even at home!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I spent three nights at the El Caribe and it was a great experience. It is an older property, but is kept in fantastic shape. Most importantly it was very very clean. Great location further south down the beach, in a quiet area, with a Winn Dixie across the street and an IHOP and pizza place almost across the street. My room had a fridge, coffee maker, and microwave, and a private balcony with two chairs and a table, and a great view of the ocean. They had a basic free breakfast, coffee, juice, cereal, danish, muffins, bagels, etc. Everything was very fresh, and there is a nice seating area. Plenty of free parking. Very reasonable rates. The front desk staff, especially Portia, were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It would be great for families as they have a basketball court, shuffleboard, propane grills, volleyball court, all next to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

The hotel was well priced with the free breakfast thrown in. I stayed there with my wife for 10 days and we really enjoyed it. Staff were polite and helpful. Ramesh (one of the front house officer) was particularly very helpful and always welcoming. He gave us all the local information and was really excellent with the guests.
He recommended that we regularly check out El Caribe website for excellent offers.
We're thinking of our next booking already!!
Highly recommended.

Idris (London)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed in DB because Titesville was booked on a trip to watch the Space Shuttle. The S.S. got scrubbed that week, but we still had a good time. Ocean front room with a great view, hotel has lots of things to do and is well placed on Atlantic Blvd. Ramesh and all staff at the front desk were very helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you're traveling with a family with children. You could probably spend the whole stay without leaving the hotel if you wanted. Many rooms have kitchens and there's a grocery store across the street. There's several pools along with other things on the property and rentals are right on the beach for golf carts, 4-wheelers and jet skis.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Caribe Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2125 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Caribe Resort and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Caribe Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Caribe Hotel Daytona Beach
El Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Caribe Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.