We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelled horrible - very loud” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Caribe Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
El Caribe Resort and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2125 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Smelled horrible - very loud”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

We stayed in the original section of the hotel. The smell in the room was awful. We were very naive and thought it was just cleaner they had used and it would air out. Couple days of keeping the balcony door open and it was as bad or worse. My friend coughed all night and two days after leaving. We mentioned it to the manager and she said she had never heard of such a complaint even though half the rooms in our section had their balcony doors open for the same reason and complaints are all over the Internet about the problem. The noise level was worse than the smell so we did not see any point in switching rooms. There were many, many teenaged kids unsupervised and roaming the property, pushing all of the buttons in the elevator due to the hotel being advertised as a Christian conference center.
I've stayed in run down cheap hotels in Daytona Beach before but none as unpleasant as this one.

  • Liked — It was in Florida
  • Disliked — smell, loud unsupervised teenagers, manager's attitude
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    96
    42
    25
    28
See reviews for
117
74
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

For all those saying the pool isn't heated, you need to use the pool on the OLD side, or stop sniveling and deal.

/rant

We stayed here 3 nights in december, and no, it's not the newest, or the nicest, but I don't feel I need to spend over $150 for a "nice" room.

The room we had was clean, well appointed, had a full ocen view, and the pool we used was heated. We were in the newer twin towers.

The elevators are clunky, and I'd hate to have a room on the bottom floor across from the machine room as it's very noisy.

But on the 5th, it was nice. We slept with the balcony door open and let the surf lull us to sleep.

The bathroom is small, but since I don't live in my bathroom on the road, I didn't mind.

There's a liquor store and a pizza joint across the street. The liquor store has soda at a not-too-high price and the pizza, while good, seemed a bit high and took forever.

All in all, it was a good mini-vacation, and El Caribe is on our return-to list.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Elevators
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

I stayed at the El Caribe for two nights and was pleased with the experience. Due to the off season, we were able to get a king efficiency room facing the ocean for $65 per night. We were warned that construction (aka jack hammering) would be occuring during business hours for repairs to the balconies. It really didn't bother my stay at all.

It is an older hotel that could use some improvements, for but a couple of nights on the beach, it served my purposes perfect.

  • Liked — Oceanfront room
  • Disliked — pool was NOT heated as advertised.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

We were pleasantly surprised! I am always a bit nervous booking a hotel online that I have never seen before. Especially, when we get such a good deal but we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly. We were meeting another family there and they accomodated us by putting us on the same floor. The room was clean and comfortable. Not new and fancy but definitely clean and comfortable with a small fridge and microwave. We loved the balcony w/chairs over looking the ocean! The pools were nice with plently of loungers. There was some nice green grassy areas with picnic tables. This was nice to see as most hotels are taken up every inch of the property by concrete. The free breakfast was only donuts and coffee but there is a very good IHOP practically across the street. Another plus, for those braving the strong surf, it is close to a lifeguard stand.

  • Liked — See Review
  • Disliked — See Review
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

My Friend came from Altamonte Springs Florida to see me here in Daytona Beach. By the time he got here he didn't feel like making the drive back home so we pulled to the side of the road and started grabbing hotel rates that were cheap. The only one that we found was the El-Caribe Resort and confrence center. I call and speak to the Agent working the front desk and he said the Orgional rate from room 1705 which had no kitchen in the South Tower and just viewed the Ocean was 130.00 so he said being that no one got the room it was going to be 79.00. So he said for the discounted rates we would have to talk to a Manager when we arrived. So we asked for one and was told that they don't give Florida resident rates out last minute. However we were dead tired and weren't going to argue so we go to our room. When we got to the room we noticed that room was nice however within a few hours of being in it i realised why he couldn't pre sell the room and here is why. Their was a huge cob web in the entrance coming from the Balcony Entrance. Pigion Poop All over the out side of the air unit out the room. The bathroom everytime we turned on that light made a constant humming sound. Their is no vending machine on every floor just one. And the chip machine was totaly broken that is on the first floor. And the elevator is slowy going because it kept jolting at every floor it stopped at. Now all in all for 79.00 we got what we paid for but the up to 380.00 what they can get during bike week and the special events isn't worth that price for that amount of money you can look else where and have better service. And a Much cleaner room free of cob webs for 380.00

  • Liked — The Ocean Sounds
  • Disliked — The cob webs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway and it was wonderful. Our room was very clean and the staff was friendly. It was away from the boardwalk which was perfect because it was quiet and the beach was not crowded at all. I loved that they had a saltwater pool as well as a regular pool. We will definitely be staying here again!!!

  • Liked — That is was affordable and did not break the bank for just a weekend stay
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

I have stayed at El Caribe for the past 3 years during Bike Week and Biketoberfest. The deluxe oceanfront rooms have a great view and decent accomdations. If you think you will be walking to Main St, think again, it's several miles (the hotel is actually in Daytona Beach Shores). The beach is not crowded this far south, but there isn't much to look at either. If you are looking for a safe spot, empty beach and a good place to spend time with the family (avoid Bike Week and Spring Break) it's hard to beat. Keep in mind, there is no on-site dining, just a continental breakfast.

  • Liked — Price and views
  • Disliked — distance to attractions, restaurants
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Caribe Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2125 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Caribe Resort and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Caribe Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Caribe Hotel Daytona Beach
El Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Caribe Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.