We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT HAPPENED???” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added El Caribe Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Caribe Resort and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2125 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
Dalton, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WHAT HAPPENED???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at El Caribe last Summer and thought it was the most charming, older hotel on Daytona Beach. What happened? This year the staff was not friendly, the room was dirty, especially the bathroom floor. I rolled over in the middle of the night and there, crawling up my arm, was a roach bug. DISCUSTING!!! Noisy customers...People fighting in the halls...Dirty pool...I could go on and on, but why? DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    76
    30
    26
    24
See reviews for
92
64
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The overall resort was ok. The initial staff was very friendly. There was leakage problems when it rained. We put the do not disturb sign on the door to keep the maid out as I prefer not to have them in my room. The maid came in, moved the sign of inside the door, halfway made my bed, changed towels, left the trash ans piled the bedding on the second bed. In addition, she rummaged through our suitcases and stole $56 from my daughters two 11 year old friends. The initial manager who came to our room was very professional. The key lock investigation proved she was in our room when ahe shouldn't have been. The house manager didn't contact me as I was told he would. When I asked for him at check out the next day, he said it couldn't have been his staff because he knows them. He tried brushing us off and was very unprofessional. After 30 min of arguing with him in the lobby , he finally rudely gave the girls back their money. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Once again, Hotel-Tonight saved the day (or the night). My wife and I decided to stay in Daytona after we had checked-out our previous hotel. My iPhone Hotel-tonight app got us this hotel to crash for the night on-the-cheap (considering the Holliday weekend).

The place is no resort: It has no spa, fitness room, restaurant, tiki bar, beach lounge, etc. But for the price, it's worth every penny. It's quite dated as indicated by the squeaky mattress, but the buildings were designed to have almost all rooms with ocean-view and private balconies (for me, this alone is worth two stars). They sport full fridge, range, and microwave, to make use of the Winn Dixie supermarket across the street. Yet it offers free continental breakfast.

I will not wold the fact that the place was overcrowded and noisy (till 10:00PM) against the establishment: after all it was Labor-Day weekend. Anyway, Nisha, Maria, and Mack were extremely friendly at the front desk.

Room Tip: This place is specially designed to have almost all rooms with ocean view and private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Breakfast - continental, with coffee, decaf, tea bags, wrapped bagels, cream cheese, jam, wrapped donuts, cereal in packs, milk, juice, yogurt, fruit. Starts at 6:30, in the office. Large TV.
Room - I had a studio with two queen beds, table and chairs, iron, ironing board, hangers, bureau, flat screen TV, hair dryer, safe,small fridge. Shampoo, bar soaps, skin lotion, private balcony with 2 chairs, microwave, ice bucket,wrapped glasses. Very clean, well maintained, friendly staff. Free ice machine on floor 2, no coke machine. Laundry machines on floor 3.
Nearby - Winn Dixie grocery store, IHOP (large portions), Dollar Store, Roma Pizza (excellent deep-dish pizza), 7-11, barber, Connie's used book store.
Beach - towels available in the office, beach is steps away, lifeguards from 10am to about 5:30, trash and recycle cans on beach, shower and hose at the hotel gate.
Pool - from 3 to 8 feet deep, lounge chairs, umbrellas, towels in the office. There is also a heated pool. Shuffleboard and volleyball and basketball areas.

Room Tip: Just ask for a high floor, they all face the ocean. Some rooms have a separate bedroom and a full ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Room was very clean, spacious, entire complex was clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent price! Nice having Winn Dixie and Dollar General across the street when staying in kitchenette room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

So there's 4 woman in our family n I'm the patriarch. We all needed 2 get away plus I've been 2sick 2 travel as I have stage 4 inoperative cancer but the cancer doesn't stop life. I still have 2 do what us woman all do...cook clean etc. when I read the prices 4 sum of these hotels I was ready 2 book all done but I said lemme just scroll down 2 the small print WAY towards the end. What I read was unreal. Then I read the reviews n that's what did it 4 me. Everyone of el caribes reviews was what I wanted. The beds r AMAZING,the amount of staff was plentiful n they kept the place very clean.when our a/c on the 1st nite wasn't working that well they offered 2fix it,change rms,or even stay in this AMAZING 1bdrm suite 4 n extra $30 a nite. A $200 a nite rm 4 less than a $100 OMG! Breakfast was good staff was amazing especially PORTIA,TAKEESE,CLAY,LESHA,CHERY n I think our maid was leena but if that's the wrong name please give her credit 4 being so nice n doing her job.she did our rm frm 8/7/13 to 8/11/13 n she never was rude. We left her a nice tip. Anyone looking 4 a hotel that caters 2so many important thinks in a getaway this is the place!!! This helped my cancer more than the meds n doc's I see every wk. thx u el caribe from the faryna family ; )

Room Tip: Make sure u ask what rms r available....it's worth it 2 c how large n homey the rms are ......oh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronks, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great view, room was comfortable and cool. Shower was a little small and the freezer was completely frozen over. My husband and I stayed from July 3-8 and in all that time only 2 people greeted us. The staff overall seemed either irritated or put out by their respective jobs. The woman restocking the breakfast goods was particularly rude, sighing loudly everytime she had to replace something. We were aware this was supposed to be a continental breakfast, but all the pastries were cold (condensation in the package) and the fruit was not ripe (green bananas). The elevator was unbelievably slow and the floor of it was quite often wet and dirty. Beach accessibility was amazing, but we will probably not stay again. Can find a less expensive hotel with a much better breakfast inland.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElCaribeResort, Public Relations Manager at El Caribe Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
The El Caribe, as most other oceanfront properties in our area, was filled to capacity over the July Fourth weekend. This is no excuse for poor service or unfriendly attitudes. Our staff has received many accolades, and notes of appreciation from past guests. It seems we did not meet our own criteria in your case. Hotel rates are less expensive inland, as they are not located on the Atlantic Ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Caribe Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2125 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Caribe Resort and Conference Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your El Caribe Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Caribe Hotel Daytona Beach
El Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Caribe Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.