We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should be called el junko” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added El Caribe Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El Caribe Resort and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2125 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 110 hotels in Daytona Beach
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“should be called el junko”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

room smells musty, continential breakfast is served in wrappers. its shouldnt be called a resort. there is nothing resort about it, no bar, no place to get coffee and couldnt find the bathroom. and kitchen area was old

Room Tip: go down the street to the ocean walk
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    64
    27
    26
    20
See reviews for
82
58
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brantford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have been coming to this place for the last 7 years. Decent resort to spend your vacations in.Honest, friendly and dedicated people. Our room was clean, we had a little kitchenette and it was just steps to the water. We will definitely return to El Caribe and Yes! I would recommend it to my friend. Thanks.

Room Tip: Well, we are not sure on the fitness center, do not think the have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My friend and I almost spent our Florida vacation in this hotel. Service at the front desk was fine. We were given our room key and found our way to the elevator. Should have turned back then. It was dirty and definitely not a smooth ride. We were told we weren't oceanside but had a view of the ocean. What they didn't tell us was that we overlooked the parking lot and 4 noisy air conditioning units. Our small balcony barely had room for the 2 chairs which were old and marked . The door to the balcony didn't close properly. The bathroom shelf looked like an old piece of plywood that was painted and the paint was peeling off. To decide what to do, we took a walk on the beach and came upon another hotel with vacancy (Oceanside Hotel). We asked to see a room and asked about the price. It was comparable to El Caribe and the room was immaculate compared to the former. So back we went to cancel our room. When we tried to use the phone in our room we found we had no phone service! That was the icing on the cake! Thankfully we were able to cancel the room with no payment. Later during the trip I spoke with someone else who was staying at El Caribe. They had a very nice room facing the ocean. Looking from the outside, we had the worst room in the hotel! I've noticed this hotel has had very mixed reviews. If you are going to stay here ensure you see your room first.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I went here for a little getaway. The Resort is a little bit outdated but the views are incredible and the staff is very nice. Our room was clean, we had a little kitchenette and it was just steps to the water. We will definitely return to El Caribe, it was a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We just spent the weekend at the El Caribe resort and couldn't be happier!! The price was right, the room was extremely clean, as were the premises, and the staff was SUPER friendly and helpful. Every employee has a friendly smile for you and offers their assistance if you need it. Check in was fast and easy, they let us check in early and upgraded us to a room with a kitchen at no extra charge. There are 2 pools, I think one is a salt-water pool, overlooking the ocean. Basketball, volleyball, shuffleboard courts, plenty of places to lounge and enjoy the beach. Continental breakfast from 6:30a - 9:30a consisting of bagels, danishes, yogurt, OJ, milk, cereal.. worked for us! There aren't really any hotspots nearby but within a 2 mile range you can find something easily. The Ocean Deck is right up by the pier (great place!) as well as Joe's Crab Shack on the pier.. my first time there - I loved it! Grocery store/pub across the street from the hotel (Don't go to Stavros! = EW!). I can't think of one bad thing to say about El Caribe.. we were hesitant upon arrival but very pleased when we got there and checked it out, and we will definitely be going back! Thank you guys for a wonderful experience!!

Room Tip: I always love the oceanfront rooms so you can chill on the balcony and just stare at the waves... no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have been to El Caribe many times. I also had my recent family reunion there. The staff was very friendly to us and arranged our rooms adjacent. Each one had a fabulous view of the ocean and every one was pleased. There is a wading pool for the little ones. The landscape is lush with mature trees and is very beautiful. The rooms were spacious and had kitchenettes with a grocery store across the street. I have stayed there many times. I will go there again.

Room Tip: I try for the seventh floor because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Staff is extremely friendly & helpful in helping us find activities for the kids, movie theatre and other beaches as well as places to eat. Room was clean and affordable. Close to the Daytona boardwalk. The family had the best time in the pool and beach area. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Caribe Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Also Known As:
El Caribe Hotel Daytona Beach
El Caribe Resort
El Caribe Hotel
Address: 2125 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#43 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Caribe Resort and Conference Center 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your El Caribe Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Caribe Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.