We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Caribe Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
El Caribe Resort and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2125 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
NEW YORK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not so pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I love the El Caribe stayed here many times, but I'm not pleased with them now. I was told it's a no pet property and I see people with their dogs there. I spoke to a lady in management she told me only certain rooms allow pets upstairs the office and I see people in the towers with Dogs and said the apy a pet fee to have their dog there. That's not fair. If it's no dog its no dog.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    96
    42
    25
    28
See reviews for
117
74
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I don't know if all the rooms have connecting doors to the other room next to yours, but ours did and it turned out to be kinda of an international exchange program. Because we got to know the folks from Columbia sooooooooo well as we heard literally every thing they said and did through the paper thin door.
This old hotel has seen better days. The rooms are clean, two small pools, right on the beach, antique tv's in the rooms, free breakfast in the morning (don't expect much). There's too many hotels on the beach that try a lot harder to earn your business. So, we say "thanks for the experience" and we won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We decided to stay here for two nights after reading the othe reviews our Trip Advisor describing the hotel as older, but clean. This could not be farther from the truth!!! The outstide of the building is in much need of repair and makes the building look like it belongs in the slums. The room itself had a musty smell, the door did seal all the way, the lock had been bent, and the front office staff was not the friendliest. I would say the carpet and bedding was from the 1990's. I would never, ever stay here again despite the price and the great ocean view. It is true you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here last week, The hotel and furnishings are older, but our room was clean. yes the pool was shut down 2nd day because a bunch of kids decided to peel the bottom surface of the pool off, not the hotels fault. Breakfast was fair cereal, yogurt and prepackaged bagels, and donuts, coffee, juice, and milk. We paid $80 dollars a night for an oceanview room on the beach, for this price can't complain. Front hotel staff polite but neither of the 2 we spoke with appeared happy. Maintenance guy very polite and friendly!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

When we got to the motel, things seems to be o.k. our room was clean, the staff was nice,but things got bad fast, first was the pool it was closed for repairs the second day we were there, the staff said this was a every other day thing FIX IT BEFORE SUMMER!!!, then our bathroom tub wouldn't drain, our balcony door wouldn't close right, and wi-fi was terrible.On our third day there was a church group came in with about 150 teenagers that were loud and had no respect for others, we tried to get a refund to move to another motel, to no avail,and spoke the manager about the noise to no avail. I came here to relax not listen to kids scream all night, If I would have know about the group we would have chose another motel.The rates were within reason, but the motel needs alot of work. Do your self a favor, and ask alot of questions before you book at a motel(example:do you cater to large groups) because when the pool was finally open the group filled up the pool and my family couldn't even enjoy it. They also had a cont. breakfast but with a large kids group there they didn't leave anything for the other guests in the motel to eat, they have a banquet room the kids could have ate in there.We will not stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

On our first night stay i killed a live cock roach in the shower! I called the front desk to resolve this problem and no one respond. The mini fridge was rusted, dirty and nasty. The tv holder was chipped and has mole. The curains, plugs, and doors are molded with black spots. I had to go to tne dollar general and purchase bleach cleaner until i could purchase another hotel room. The front desk staff was uncertain and liars' no one tried to resolve my issues. Breakfast was a host nothing as advertised. I would not recommend any of my fami,yand friends tostay here everyagain buti would recommend thwt tbey replace their staff.

Room Tip: Don't book here unless you are getting the room for $25.00, for the bull crap you have to put up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was told I would have ocean front room and when I checked in we were put into room 101 and it has no view, bugs and the back door was tampered with. The maintanance guy was the only nice person that I talked to. The lady at the front does not like whit people and she has a very bad attitude. The managers do not take care of problems, and I'm never going to stay here again.

Room Tip: dont stay on the ground floor , as our room was broken into while we were away. We never got the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Caribe Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Caribe Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2125 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Caribe Resort and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Caribe Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Caribe Hotel Daytona Beach
El Caribe Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Caribe Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.