We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Desert Inn Resort to your Saves list
Desert Inn Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
South Daytona, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

OMG, leaky roofs, stinky carpets, air brushed pictures on the wall and marble floor and fictures. Just hideous. Only positive the pool deck, but if the hotel is so Nasty makes you wonder about the pool. NEVER EVER EVER AGAIN, NASTY

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    26
    22
    281
See reviews for
112
64
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eolia, Missouri, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in February so we could be on the beach in Daytona during Speedweeks. It was hands down, the worst, hotel I've ever had the pleasure of staying at. It was filthy and disgusting. On top of needing renovations throughout, the staff was a nightmare. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to ANYONE.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This place needs to be tore down and rebuilt that's about all there is to it. It's amazing this place even accepts people's money. I stayed for one night and it was the longest night of my life I probably slept for an hour, probably not even that long DO NOT STAY!!!!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Rooms were out of date noise was horrible!! Staff was showing intoxicated customers rooms for rent at 3am and were extremely loud. Not to mention the filth. I have been itchy since leaving there. Many better hotels along the strip for a few extra dollars

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

this hotel offers good value. The location is great being right on the beach. Rooms are spacious (at least the one we had was). We enjoyed the beach location. Sitting in the evening with a drink watching folks on the beach. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I honestly do not know how they are still open...we stay in this crap hole for one night and will never ever make a last minute decison w out reading the reviews. Elevator smelled like vomit floors were gross syrup was all over the floor in one area. Garbage piled up everywhere. Bedding and curtains have probably never been changed since the opening of the hotel. Ceiling tiles missing and fan in the bathroom made them flap around. Room had not been vaccumed in months toliet tub and sink never cleaned. Pool was dirty both inside and outside. Whole hotel smelled gross. The lobby looked somewhat decent but do not be fooled. We got locked out of our room and they had to use a crow bar to get in. Front desk employees were playing beer pong and took nothing we said seriously. This place is an absolute dump do not stay here! I feltdirty for months after staying here. I cant imagine the home of the owner...anyone who would let there hotel get to this point has to be a slob!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We went down for Biketoberfest 2013 and my buddy made the reservations. Never again will I let him do that, this place is a wreck! We stayed in a room fairly close to the indoor pool and front desk area and it wasn't very good. We did experience the ant issue as so many others have mentioned. Also the downstairs laundry room area was very bad. Ceiling was falling in down the hallway from the laundry room! In my opinion the new owners will have to pour a lot of money to make this place a nice stay again.
Only thing I can brag on was the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. It is very close to Main Street too but does not outweight the bad things there. It definitely was not worth what we paid to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn Resort

Address: 900 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Inn Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com so you can book your Desert Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hotel Daytona Beach
Desert Inn Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Desert Inn
Desert Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.