We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Inn / Daytona Beach” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Inn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Desert Inn Resort to your Saves list
Desert Inn Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Desert Inn / Daytona Beach”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

For our nice 4 day, first stay on Daytona Beach & the Coke Zero 400 Nascar race, all was good except the motel. Built in the late 50's or early 60's, that was the last time it had paint or was cleaned, I would imagine. The mold smell & cleanliness wouldn't pass for most normal people.The website is very deceiving.. It is a shame!!! If the price was a bargain, maybe, but we paid $170.00 a night for a dump...Can't say it any other way... You have to watch it out there...Good luck on your travels....Frank

Room Tip: there is no good room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    26
    22
    282
See reviews for
113
64
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Worst Hotel I have ever seen. We arrived in Daytona beach on Aug 4, 2012, and wanted a place to spend the night before driving back to NC. I was a bit concerned when I saw the lobby, but I thought the rooms would at least be clean. We paid for an ocean front room, and they put us in a very dirty street side room at first, I called the desk to let them know this and they were supposed to call me back, after waiting for about 10 minutes and not receiving a call back, I called again, and was told to come down to the front desk and they would take care of it. They reluctantly changed our room and gave us an ocean front room. As soon as we walked in we could tell it was a smoking room, and it was very dirty looking, I went down to get our luggage, and came back up. My wife had found some nasty looking substance on the bedspread, I tried to call the front desk but the phone in the room did not work, I noticed something on the bed while I was trying to call the front desk, and realized it was a roach, I then found several more, and told my wife we were leaving, I went down to the desk with my wife and our luggage, and told them we could not stay with them. They refused to refund our money, so I had to call my bank to dispute the charge. After we left I realized I had flea bites all over my ankles from the room. The owner claims on this site that they are a 3 star Hotel, I would love to know who rated this place, as it is not even worthy of 1 star. Up until our experience with the "Desert Inn...Daytona's #1 Resort & Convention Center", I'd always wonder where the term "flea-bag hotel" came from. Now...I know. What a way to celebrate my 50th birthday.

Room Tip: Spent the extra to stay at Holiday Inn or Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

As we did not stay here this is not a review on staying. We live near and wanted to check it out, to see if the reviews were right on and believe me they were. This hotel should be banned by Daytona Beach tourist center. The place was so filthy hard to even walk thru A maid was cleaning (or so she thought she was cleaning) we walked in the room and backed out !!!!! How terrible to have this hotel in our beautiful beach. Please someone do something about this hotel.. To anyone who stays here I would hate to see where you live !!!!

Room Tip: Don't bother stay anyplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you stay here you are out of your mind! I have been traveling for a living for 30 years and I have to say this is the worst place I have ever stayed in. Part of the building is condemned and not usable. The indoor pool looked like it had not been cleaned in a year. The hallways were filthy as was my room. Additionally, the entire place - especially my room - smelled like mold. I walked out onto my wooden balcony and nearly put my foot through the rotten wood. The black lights above the bed and the plastic bed mattress were nice touches though. The room should have been renting by the hour not the night. The parking lots were not lighted and were creepy and unsafe. In short, this place is a hole. The only redeeming factor was the friendly staff that did its best to make the best of a horrible situation. FIND ANOTHER PLACE TO STAY AT ANY PRICE !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alachua, Florida
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I recently moved to Central Florida and spent Memorial Day weekend on Daytona Beach, our first weekend away. The website on this hotel was extremely deceiving, hence why I made a reservation. We were to stay 2 nights, but thinking everything was booked we suffered through 1 entire night at this "rat hole" (and I'm being nice). First we were given a smoking room after requesting a non-smoking room. The door to our room wouldn't shut. The public hallway carpet was dirty and smelled like mold. We stayed away from the room as much as possible, because of the smell. I wore shoes in the room so my feet would not touch the carpet. But the worst was yet to come...when we went to bed and pulled back the sheets, they smelled of mildew.The mattress was wrapped in plastic (which crinkled everytime you moved in the bed) and was hard as a rock. The headboard on the King bed fell forward away from the wall when we sat on the bed. All of our clothes, even in our suitcase reeked of the smell. Black stuff was falling out of the AC vent in the bathroom ceiling, Television had no remote and the carpet was filthy. After the discovery of the mildewed bed, my husband found availabilty elsewhere. After a sleepless night, I paid a visit to the hotel clerk. I told her we would be checking out and she replied, there is no refund, since we were required to pay for our 2 night reservation up front. I told here yes there would be a refund. The rate for one night with tax ended up costing me $224.00. I got a refund of $156.00, which is exactly with tax what we paid the next night at the Holiday Inn (next to the Desert Inn). Your circles should go into the negative for this dump, this place should be condemned. I don't want anybody else to go through what we went through, so here's my warning...if you decide to stay at this place after reading my review...then pack cleaning supplies (to clean your own room), clean sheets for your bed and have your family fitted for gas masks so you can breathe clean air, because you won't find any of that at this place. If people will STOP staying at this place, it will soon be known as the "Deserted Inn", a much more deserving name. I'm not through yet...Chamber of Commerce of Daytona Beach will soon know how disappointed I am in this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My name is Marcus. Me and my family just recently stayed at the Desert Inn Hotel for the Memerial Day weekend. This is by far the worst most nastiest unsanzitized hotel in Daytona. We knew when we pulled up we had been mislead. It smells, and reeked of old mold and dirty lundry. It looked like they painted right over the mold on the roof. We had bugs in our room had a big roach, spiders, ants. In my cousin room they had some type of bed bugs. Even though the staff was friendly they dont take pride in cleaning their rooms and making sure things are neat for their guest. They thing was really pissed me off was I couldn't get a iron even a hole in the wall hotel have irons for their guest. Dont be fooled about what you see on the internet. What you see is not what you are going to get.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

But I don't expect the entire hotel to smell. It was like some combination of mold/mildew with something sprayed on top of it to try to cover it up. It's dated and tacky which is some of it's charm but what do you really expect for that price? It's a nice property, right on the beach, but just a shame some one doesn't spend the money to just give it a good cleaning. You can tell that even the people who work there are embarrassed at it's condition. It's kind of like everyone just gave up. I bet it was something in the 60s.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn Resort

Address: 900 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Desert Inn Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Desert Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hotel Daytona Beach
Desert Inn Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Desert Inn
Desert Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.