We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel is directly on the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This Hotel is directly on the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have stayed here before, our latest stay was 11-5-2013. The Hotel is beautiful, as is the spacious pool. The beach is cleaned each day by the city, so the sand is free of weeds.
The lobby is beautiful, perfect view of the beach and pool. Plenty of soft chairs in the lobby.
The desk personnel are very friendly and helpful, and always have been every time we stayed here.

We had an ocean front room with a balcony. Rooms are a nice size and kept very clean.

We love coming here, a perfect place to relax.

Room Tip: Try to get an oceanfront room, the few bucks more is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and found our rooms to be clean and our team members to be helpful and friendly. Everyone comments on how great the view is and I agree that it is the best on the beach .We hope to see you again next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    54
    19
    4
    8
See reviews for
96
86
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hannastown
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here with my family and we were very happy with our the room.
We will be back for sure next year to stay again.
Wonderful view of the beach and also had a swimming pool in the back
which was nice. Very close to alot of little shops and some stores.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
I want to thank you for rating us at the highest level. This tells me that we are doing our job to ensure your complete satisfaction and it informs others that we would be a great choice while visiting the Daytona Beach area. I look forward to having you and yur family next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for three days on the top floor of this hotel and had a great view of the Atlantic from the balcony. They room was very clean and the king size bed was very comfortable. The breakfast each morning was also very good. The staff members were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. We are very impressed with all of the Holiday Inn Express hotels that we have stayed in recently.

Room Tip: All rooms have an oceanfront view. The top floor (11th) was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderfule review. I can see that you had a wonderful time and I am glad that you had such a memorable stay. This helps others as they try and decide on where to stay.
Everyone loves the 11th floor! We hope to see you again next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My sisters and I stayed here for four nights and felt we got a good deal. The room was the typical hotel room so was a little small for the four of us.But it had a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave. Free breakfast every morning that could use a little more variety, but after all it is free. lol The room and bathroom were clean with no signs of mold in the bathroom. I have found with some hotels ocean front that mold in the bathroom happens, not so here. The only thing I would complain about is that they must of been short on cleaning people. I don't think the elevators were sweep any of the four days and one day the cleaning person knocked on our door and ask if would be ok if she just collected the dirty towels and gave us clean ones. It was about 2pm and at that time of day it made no difference to us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I can see that you had a wonderful time and I am glad that you had such a great stay. We are at the mercy of the beach and the elevators take the brunt of it. Thank you so much and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stopped late evening (9:30 pm) on our way to Orlando. Large room with comfortable beds. Great view of the beach. Balcony was hot because the air conditioner blew hot air out onto the balcony. Handicapped accessible pool but not accessibility to the beach. Staff were pleasant. Clean bathrooms and bedding. Good buy for the money, unless you are in a wheelchair or walker and want to get to the beach. I AM WRITING ABOUT THE HOLIDAY INN DAYTON BEACH SHORES, FL.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. I can see that you had a wonderful time and I am glad that you had such a memorable stay. This helps others as they try and decide on where to stay. Thank you so much and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

this is a great hotel and the view from the the balcony is out of this world, but why can't you smoke on the balcony?? are you going to upset the birds or something but you can smoke outside of the hotel.
the rooms are large with two very good beds and a well equiped bathroom.but no were close for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It really is all about the view. Not many hotels can boast that all of our rooms are direct ocean front. We are a 100% non smoking hotel and when guests smoke on the balconies it sometimes disturbs other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for a few days in early September. Everything we expected from this hotel - good location right on the beach, nice pool area, satisfying breakfast included, well maintained common areas. When we reported a problem after checking in with a lock on the room door, desk staff responded immediately and we were immediately moved a few doors down to another room - no hassle at all. Our room had a nicely renovated bathroom as well. We drove to restaurants in Ormond Beach. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a private balcony and face the beach. Top floor has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. I truly enjoy seeing this and knowing that we made another guest happy. I would like to apologize for the problem with your door lock. We try to catch any issues before the guest but I am happy to hear that it was taken care of to your satisfaction. I hope to see you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Address: 3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores offers a breath taking view of the Atlantic Ocean. The Holiday Inn Express and Suites is the prefect setting for a family vacation, the corporate traveler or a weekend get-a-way. We offer the finest amenities including private balconies, mini-fridges, microwaves and free Wi-Fi. As our honored guest you will enjoy a large outdoor pool where you can step down on the warm sandy beach. Start your day with our Smart Start Breakfast where you can watch the sun rise over the ocean. For meetings or social events, we offer an executive board room as well as an executive fitness center. You will also want to make time for golf at one of our many championship courses, enjoy the roar of the engines as NASCAR & Daytona International Speedway gear up for the many events; or going to the dogs at Daytona Beach Kennel Club. For the shoppers, there's Volusia Mall and Daytona Flea and Farmers Market. We are minutes to Main Street where it's the place to be during Bike Week and Biketoberfest. Whether you are splashing in the surf, taking a refreshing swim in the pool, you will always remember your Oceanfront getaway to The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach
Palm Plaza Oceanfront Hotel
Hotel Palm Plaza Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.