We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE....RIGHT ON THE BEACH” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
60098
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“NICE....RIGHT ON THE BEACH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is right on the beach. Comfortable beds, large rooms, friendly service from all workers on premises. Since it is right on the beach, expect sand here and there, in the elevators, on balconies, etc. Even though it has an outside shower, and foot spray for people to rinse off when coming off the beach, sand still gets carried into the building via beach towels, etc. It is what it is. If you want a place of relaxation that is comfortable, clean and has beautiful views, this is a place to consider even though there are lots of motels/hotels right on the beach beside it. I will be staying here on my next trip to Florida.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks so much for such a wonderful review. It sounmds like you had a great time.We aim to give every guest superior service and a great value while experiencing a welcome like no other. As you noticed, keeping the sand out of the hotel can be a challenge and sometimes we lose the battle but we keep trying. We strive to be the cleanest and friendliest property in town! Now that you found hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    84
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
144
139
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here twice in June (for 2 nights each time). We loved the location and that is in a nicer part of town. And right across the street from Cracked Egg Diner, another favorite. The first night we were there at around 4am the fire alarm was triggered and we didn't know what to do. We were on the 6th floor and didn't see or smell smoke but there is still that what if in the back of your mind. We saw other guests going downstairs and outside so decided we probably should. Turned out to be false alarm, thankfully, but we never heard what happened. It would have been nice to know, or even an apology for the interrupted sleep, but we got nothing. Other than that, nothing to complain about. Like the pool and ocean views.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that I didn't get a chance to personally apologize to you and explain about the fortunately false alarm, The mornings do get a bit hectic around here. I am glad that you did return the 2nd time and we can't wait to see you again with no interrupted sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel was a great choice. It is right on the beach and all rooms overlook the beach. Each room has a balconywith chairs which is nice. The staff was very friendly, the rooms are very clean and the breakfast was great. The next time I am in Daytona I plan to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We want to thank you for rating us at the highest level and that we are the perfect hotel.This tells us that we are doing our job to ensure your complete satisfaction We want to make sure that each and every guest experiences a welcome like no other. Hurry back, we can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at the HIE in Novemeber for business for 6 days.

The room was clean and had lots of room, good size closet, in room safe and balcony.
My room faced the ocean, so each morning I woke up to the sounds and smells of the ocean. I actually slept with my door opened.

Breakfast was included,which was great. Wonderful selections including make your own pancakes :)

Staff were amazing. Kevin,Hailey,Lily,George were all wonderful!

It was a lovely stay and I can not wait to return with my family!!

Room Tip: All rooms face ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us even if you did have to work while you were here. I am glad that you noticed how friendly our staff is as we strive to be the friendliest property in town. Hurry back with your family. We can't wait to meet them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We came from South Dakota all the way to Florida. We didn't know anyone who stayed at this hotel but all five of us where amazed with our five day stay I would for sure recommend this hotel the lobby is beautiful and the room view are to die for. All the rooms are nice and clean lobby and pool included. We got to know the employee well Dee is the sweetest always was so nice to us and was more then willing to help and talk. During the morning Kevin was awesome for breakfast feeding all those people and Im pretty sure he was working everything himself. It's nice that you can swim all night as long as you keep the volume down. Daytona beach and everyone at the hoilday inn express was so great to us (lady at night was a little crabby at moments) I will always come back it was amazing besides our full body sunburns

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It really is all about the view. One of the benifits of a smaller hotel is that we really get to know our guests. Dee and Kevin are just two of my amazing staff. And I will apologize again for the slightly crabby one at night. Hurry back, we loved having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had an excellent week at the Holiday Inn Exp. in Daytona Beach shores. Hotel is in a great location in between the busy Daytona Beach and the more quiet and relaxed Ponce Inlet. You can stay here and visit both easily. Rooms were very clean, all with ocean view and a mini frig for convenience. Wifi internet was fast and breakfast was free and served with a smile every morning. Pool area is next to beach so you can sit at the pool and still watch kids on the beach if you want. It was always clean and had plenty of towels. Beach area was really nice...not too crowded and great for boggie boarding and skim boarding. My kids loved it here, you will too!.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! We are so thrilled to have you and your family stay with us andeven better to hear that you always have a good time while staying with us! We look forward to seeing you again! Hurry back the surf is up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Recently stayed for 5 nights. Very clean and fresh. The staff was great, thank you Glenda and
your co-workers. Nice and quite, I was not disappointed. The balcony was the best of course.
The design of the hotel was also nice. Clean pool area. I really appreciated the set up of the
parking. It was very convenient, unlike other hotels on the same road, some of those can be
very difficult to park and leave from. Over all, if you are looking for a place that is affordable
but nice, this is the place. It beats the Hampton inn (can I say that?). Thank you.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We want to thank you for rating us at the highest level. My staff is the best on the beach and I am glad that you noticed. We want to be sure that everyone leaves with the same good feeling that you have. Hopefully, now that you found us, you can stay longer next time..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Address: 3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores offers a breath taking view of the Atlantic Ocean. The Holiday Inn Express and Suites is the prefect setting for a family vacation, the corporate traveler or a weekend get-a-way. We offer the finest amenities including private balconies, mini-fridges, microwaves and free Wi-Fi. As our honored guest you will enjoy a large outdoor pool where you can step down on the warm sandy beach. Start your day with our Smart Start Breakfast where you can watch the sun rise over the ocean. For meetings or social events, we offer an executive board room as well as an executive fitness center. You will also want to make time for golf at one of our many championship courses, enjoy the roar of the engines as NASCAR & Daytona International Speedway gear up for the many events; or going to the dogs at Daytona Beach Kennel Club. For the shoppers, there's Volusia Mall and Daytona Flea and Farmers Market. We are minutes to Main Street where it's the place to be during Bike Week and Biketoberfest. Whether you are splashing in the surf, taking a refreshing swim in the pool, you will always remember your Oceanfront getaway to The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach
Palm Plaza Oceanfront Hotel
Hotel Palm Plaza Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.