We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location -- Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 110 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location -- Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Had an excellent week at the Holiday Inn Exp. in Daytona Beach shores. Hotel is in a great location in between the busy Daytona Beach and the more quiet and relaxed Ponce Inlet. You can stay here and visit both easily. Rooms were very clean, all with ocean view and a mini frig for convenience. Wifi internet was fast and breakfast was free and served with a smile every morning. Pool area is next to beach so you can sit at the pool and still watch kids on the beach if you want. It was always clean and had plenty of towels. Beach area was really nice...not too crowded and great for boggie boarding and skim boarding. My kids loved it here, you will too!.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! We are so thrilled to have you and your family stay with us andeven better to hear that you always have a good time while staying with us! We look forward to seeing you again! Hurry back the surf is up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    93
    27
    7
    13
See reviews for
175
155
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Recently stayed for 5 nights. Very clean and fresh. The staff was great, thank you Glenda and
your co-workers. Nice and quite, I was not disappointed. The balcony was the best of course.
The design of the hotel was also nice. Clean pool area. I really appreciated the set up of the
parking. It was very convenient, unlike other hotels on the same road, some of those can be
very difficult to park and leave from. Over all, if you are looking for a place that is affordable
but nice, this is the place. It beats the Hampton inn (can I say that?). Thank you.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We want to thank you for rating us at the highest level. My staff is the best on the beach and I am glad that you noticed. We want to be sure that everyone leaves with the same good feeling that you have. Hopefully, now that you found us, you can stay longer next time..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I picked this place because it seemed a good value for a beachfront property, I could get Priority Club points, and the other TripAdvisor reviews I read were good. I was NOT disappointed! Spent a wonderful 3 days/nights at Holiday Inn Express Oceanfront. From the minute we got there, the staff was so welcoming and wonderful. We actually arrived early and I wasn't even going to ask if we could get into our room but rather just store our luggage, but they already had our room ready! All the rooms directly overlook the beach and have a balcony, which was the main reason why I wanted to stay here. The rooms are very nice, obviously redecorated and our king room had a fridge and microwave/bar area which was SO handy. It also had a decent table w/2 chairs, which we need to have because we play a lot of cards! :) Also, I am picky about bathrooms, but this one was very nice. Again, newly renovated, with nice granite top with the sink. The bathroom was small, but the shower was awesome with great pressure, and very clean.

One side note regarding housekeeping, in addition to a nice note left by the staff to enjoy our stay and call if we needed anything, one day I came back to the room when the housekeeper was still in there. Right away she was quick (but kind) in pointing out that she needed me to "use" my key in the open door just for security reasons and company policy. I had never thought about that, but really appreciated she made sure it was my room!

The free breakfast is very nice, loved the pancake machine, nice twist to the standard waffle maker. It was nice to have "extras" on the continental breakfast buffet, like hot food, bacon, eggs, biscuits/gravy. Made for a hearty start to the day. Again, the staff was always very attentive there in keeping the food refilled along with a "Good Morning" greeting to boot! The lobby area where they have the breakfast is full of windows and nicely decorated. Again, small, but welcoming, and a wonderful view of the ocean. Overall their size was nice because you could get around the property easily. Direct access to ocean from pool, and plenty of lounges for guests around pool (at least while we were there).

I don't have any complaints about this place, would definitely visit again, but the ONLY drawback is the fact that they don't have a sliding glass door in the rooms or a way to open the window. It is a steel door that does stay open if you want it too, but would have LOVED a sliding glass door, or even a window, to be able to leave open all night. Really wanted that, and it would have made it just perfect. But still a great oceanfront hotel overall regardless! Wish we were still there!

Room Tip: We had the top floor (11th) which was great as it made it seem more private, but one thing I wish we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks so much for such a wonderful and detailed review. These are exactly the kind of comments that we love to hear. We are glad that you noticed how clean our property is and how courteous our staff is, we strive to be the cleanest and friendliest property in town!
I am also very pleased to hear that the housekeeper followed the security procedures properly as thesafety and security of everyone is a top priority.We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arrived at 7pm after a long flight from Dublin, room was clean and breakfast wonderful with a great view staff courteous all rooms face the ocean and all had balconies,great service from girl at reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the forth floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am so very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at the nicest, friendliest hotel on the beach. We aim to give every guest superior service and a great value while experiencing a welcome like no other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaroTravel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

All rooms are directly on the beach, so no surpises there. Great views from balcony. Nice pool on Beach, never enough towels. Breakfast is good and plenty, a little bland, but hay, it's icluded with the room. If you are looking for a nice relaxing Beach vacation and don't plan on spending a lot of time in the room, this is the place. The rooms are a little small, but they have a mini fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. Great check in and maid service. Elevators go right down to the Pool & Beach, one floor below the lobby. quick easy access. Plenty of free parking.

Room Tip: All rooms are Ocean Front. 11 floors, just choice how high you want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We may be a little older than some hotels but we try just as hard to make everything perfect. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Stephen, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

When we had to leave the condo we rented in Daytona Beach because of the infamous "Florida love bugs" which not only invaded the balcony, but came in around the doors and were on the bed, our pillows, walls, and just about everywhere else. I was very uncertain about staying in Daytona at all. We decided to try the Holiday Inn because we had chosen this hotel name many times before. We could not have been happier, not only with the front desk, but the maintenance staff who assured us that if we even seen a "love bug" we were to call and they would take care of it. They also let us check out the room before e committed. Great location and complete renovation of this hotel. We got a better rate by booking in person rather than online. Would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Daytona.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We want to thank you for rating us at the highest level. This tells us that we are doing our job to ensure your complete satisfaction and it informs others that we would be a great choice while visiting the Daytona Beach area. I am so glad that we were able to help you out when you need to move from the condo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pike Road, AL
Level Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stopped here for a beach- night on the way to the Keys. It's a bit disappointing. It is right on the beach which is nice - wasn't too crowded and had very nice walks. The staff aren't very friendly. The lobby is modern, the rooms are tired and small. They are reasonably clean and each one has a small balcony with 2 plastic chairs (but the air conditioner is blowing on you). We slept well and there's really no specific complaints about that. It's just an older, used up property. The rooms are small. It had a small refrigerator which was nice.

There is a pool which is a good size. The front desk was frustrated we asked for towels because there were no clean pool towels at the pool, but they did take care of it in time.

Breakfast at HI Exp has not improved - the eggs and sausage taste plastic. We found this to be true at another HI Exp we stayed at on this same trip. So it is a corporate issue. My kids love the pancake maker and of course the cereal is fine. Was hoping for some type of fruit but there wasn't any.

It wasn't a bad stay but I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: 7th floor - nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry we did not achieve our goal of exceeding your expectations during your visit with us. I am surprised at your comments though as we were completely renovated approximately two years ago and have received many compliments on the changes. And looking at the other reviews that mention how friendly and helpful my staff, I was really surprised to hear your comments about their unfriendliness. I would like to invite you back so that you can see how gret we really are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#14 of 110 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
3.5 mi away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#15 of 110 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
8.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#41 of 110 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Address: 3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores offers a breath taking view of the Atlantic Ocean. The Holiday Inn Express and Suites is the prefect setting for a family vacation, the corporate traveler or a weekend get-a-way. We offer the finest amenities including private balconies, mini-fridges, microwaves and free Wi-Fi. As our honored guest you will enjoy a large outdoor pool where you can step down on the warm sandy beach. Start your day with our Smart Start Breakfast where you can watch the sun rise over the ocean. For meetings or social events, we offer an executive board room as well as an executive fitness center. You will also want to make time for golf at one of our many championship courses, enjoy the roar of the engines as NASCAR & Daytona International Speedway gear up for the many events; or going to the dogs at Daytona Beach Kennel Club. For the shoppers, there's Volusia Mall and Daytona Flea and Farmers Market. We are minutes to Main Street where it's the place to be during Bike Week and Biketoberfest. Whether you are splashing in the surf, taking a refreshing swim in the pool, you will always remember your Oceanfront getaway to The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach
Palm Plaza Oceanfront Hotel
Hotel Palm Plaza Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.