We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel in Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 109 hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel in Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a very nice, clean and comfortable hotel with all rooms oceanfront with balconies. Staff were very helpful and pleasant and parking is free. It is in a nice quiet area and very close to a bridge over the intracoastal. We would have appreciated a small table on the balcony to put drinks on. Breakfast was excellent. We will definitely stay here again. Wish they could find a space for a laundry. isadave, glasgow

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. Now they can make a better informed decision on where to stay when visiting the Daytona area. Next time, please don't hesistate to ask for a table for the balcony. We would be happy to accomodate your request. We are looking forward to your return again and we want to become a place that when you visit you experience a welcome like no other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    54
    19
    4
    8
See reviews for
96
86
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel was really clean and nice. The breakfast had everything you could want including their amazing cinnamon rolls, sausage, eggs, biscuits, bacon, cereal, yogurt, bagels, cream cheese, pancakes, toast, muffins and more. Apple and orange juice, lemonade, water and coffee. The pool was freezing, when I called to ask why the pool was so cold and mentioned that it was supposed to be heated, the girl argued with me that it most certainly was heated. She smirked well alrighty then and hung up...rude. I know it wasn't heated, I have a pool that is not heated and mine is warmer than theirs!! Don't advertise you have a heated pool if you don't! It was freezing!!! No one was able to swim in it! But...everyone else was MORE than friendly and made up for the one rude gal!! Our room had a microwave as well as a small fridge. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: They put us up on the ninth floor, right across from the ice maker, awesome! We had an ocean view, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We want to thank you for rating us at the highest level. This tells us that we are doing our job to ensure your complete satisfaction and it informs others that we would be a great choice while visiting the Daytona Beach area. I would like to apologize for the swimming pool not being warm enough for you. It is very difficult to keep the water at a comfortable temperature in May. If the nights are too cold, the swimming pool cools off quickly. I have also addressed your comments with the front desk and instructed them in the proper way to handle complaints about the pool. We look forward to seeing you when the weather is more stable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Having stayed closer to the center of action, my wife and I wanted to find something a little quieter this time. This hotel was located closer to the condos, so there was more of a local feel to this part of the beach. From the time we arrived, we felt like we were honored guests. Unfortunately, the water was down for a few hours when we arrived, but there was plenty of notice at the front door and the desk. We were given a complimentary bottle of water as Priority Club members, which was a nice touch.

The views of the beach are spectacular. The decks are very private, which is a nice touch. We had pelicans fly right by our balcony, making it feel even nicer. It is also nice to walk right outside of the room, and see other great views of the city. The rooms are nicely sized, and comfortable. The beds and pillows are very comfortable.

The breakfast is a nice touch with their "famous" cinnamon rolls. It is standard hotel breakfast fare, but worth staying for, especially watching the ocean while eating.

There are only two minor drawbacks. If you like quiet while sleeping, you might find it tough, because you can hear the ocean all the time, even with the doors and windows closed. If you like this sound while going to sleep, you will have no problem. The other issue is the TV. There is a listing of TV stations, but they do not list the HD channels they have, which they do. Also, while changing channels, you never know the numbers, so you can't find anything again. We didn't watch much TV, as we had plenty of other entertainment. But, the times we did, it was a little frustrating.

Overall, a great location that I would be happy to visit again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 11th floor (top) or near there. You will have excellent privacy, and will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It really is all about the view and location. Not many hotels can boast that all of our rooms are direct ocean front. I am glad to hear that when the water was turned off by the city, it did not ruin you visit. We are in the process of upgrading our TV channels so hopefully by your return they will be straightened out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! Every room has a beachfront balcony! Our room had a microwave, fridge, kitchenette area. The closet space is great and the bathrooms were clean and updated. The pool was clean and heated. The breakfast was the typical for holiday inn but the seating was great with great views. It was a nice quiet hotel. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks so much for such a wonderful review. . We aim to give every guest superior service and a great value while experiencing a welcome like no other and I am happy to hear that we met our goal with you. Hurry Back, we can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demotte, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After an 18 hour drive arriving after the published check in time the last thing you want to hear is sorry your room is not ready but we can downgrade you for the same price. The lobby area was filthy with items strung out on the couches wet towels clothes newspapers and even an open package of cream cheese that I sat on. The tables also hadnt been wiped down from breakfast that ended hours ago and that is where we were told to sit and wait. We decided to sit in the car. When the kids started to get restless we all went in and the lobby was in the same condition so we cleaned a spot ourselves and had a seat waiting for our room to be available. When it finally was it was clear they did a half hazard cleaning job just to get us in. There was sand on the floors hair in the bathtub and garbage in the drawers. We were already exhausted so just made the best of it. Next day impossible to get a chair by the pool because as the week went on we witnessed what people were doing going down during breakfast and putting times on chairs to HOLD them then leaving. That was very rude! While our 4 year old twins were swimming along with a number of other guests for some reason maintenence decided this would be the best time to sweep the pool. With hose winding throughout the pool and kids trying to swim through the hose. The pool man was getting frustrated. Why don't they do this early morning before guests hit the pool. He was even dumping what looked to be chemicals into the pool in very close proximity to where children were swimming. This happened both times we took our grand kids to the pool. We decided to go to the beach instead. 9 times out of ten there were no dry towels by the pool and people were throwing their used sandy dirty towels in the same Rubbermaid container where you pick up your clean towel. Very unsanitary and discusting. Call down for bath towels asked to come down and get them your self. Handed damp unfolded towels. Put out a teaser plate of cookies maybe a dozen or less and saw kids walk away sad front desk saying when there gone there gone. Why even put them out in the first place. The whole experience was a disappointment and unless improvements are made we will not return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry we did not achieve our goal of exceeding your expectations during your visit with us. We will certainly be taking steps to correct the situations you have mentioned in your review. Unfortunately, you wanted a very specific room and we were not able to accomodate your request for an early check in on an extremely busy and hectic day. My breakfast attendent was taken to the hospital in the middle of breakfast and we were not able to get the room cleaned in a timely manner. I apologize for the disarray that you found in the lobby, it is not the way that we like to present ourselves. If you would give me a call, I would like to discuss this you and none of thses issues wre brought to my attention while you were here. I would like to have the Opportunity to show you what the other reviewers talk about. That we are the nicest friendliest hotel on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The staff was so helpful, especially Alex who helped us out with an early check-in as well as recommendations for places to eat. All rooms are oceanfront and literally just steps from the beach. Breakfast was awesome and Chris was great in handling the spring break crowd and keeping food out. The bathrooms in the pool/beach area lobby were kept clean throughout the day. This hotel is actually located in Daytona Beach Shores and seemed to be very family oriented. We were close to everything....grocery, dining and shopping. We made a day trip to New Smyrna Beach (Flagler Avenue), which was nice and only about 10 miles away. If we go back to this area, we will definitely stay here! Thanks again to Alex and Chris for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks so much for such a wonderful review. My team does rock and they make it very easy to come to work every day. They make me proud to be their manager! Alex and Chris are just amazing. These are exactly the kind of comments that we love to hear. We can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I just came back from staying at this hotel and I'm happy that I chose it! Friendly, courteous staff and comfortable rooms made for a pleasant stay. The ocean view balcony was particularly enjoyable. There are several restaurants within a few minutes of driving.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It really is all about the view. Not many hotels can boast that all of our rooms are direct ocean front and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. Hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Address: 3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores offers a breath taking view of the Atlantic Ocean. The Holiday Inn Express and Suites is the prefect setting for a family vacation, the corporate traveler or a weekend get-a-way. We offer the finest amenities including private balconies, mini-fridges, microwaves and free Wi-Fi. As our honored guest you will enjoy a large outdoor pool where you can step down on the warm sandy beach. Start your day with our Smart Start Breakfast where you can watch the sun rise over the ocean. For meetings or social events, we offer an executive board room as well as an executive fitness center. You will also want to make time for golf at one of our many championship courses, enjoy the roar of the engines as NASCAR & Daytona International Speedway gear up for the many events; or going to the dogs at Daytona Beach Kennel Club. For the shoppers, there's Volusia Mall and Daytona Flea and Farmers Market. We are minutes to Main Street where it's the place to be during Bike Week and Biketoberfest. Whether you are splashing in the surf, taking a refreshing swim in the pool, you will always remember your Oceanfront getaway to The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach
Palm Plaza Oceanfront Hotel
Hotel Palm Plaza Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.