We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #19 of 110 hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for the price!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! Every room has a beachfront balcony! Our room had a microwave, fridge, kitchenette area. The closet space is great and the bathrooms were clean and updated. The pool was clean and heated. The breakfast was the typical for holiday inn but the seating was great with great views. It was a nice quiet hotel. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks so much for such a wonderful review. . We aim to give every guest superior service and a great value while experiencing a welcome like no other and I am happy to hear that we met our goal with you. Hurry Back, we can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    47
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
78
68
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Demotte, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After an 18 hour drive arriving after the published check in time the last thing you want to hear is sorry your room is not ready but we can downgrade you for the same price. The lobby area was filthy with items strung out on the couches wet towels clothes newspapers and even an open package of cream cheese that I sat on. The tables also hadnt been wiped down from breakfast that ended hours ago and that is where we were told to sit and wait. We decided to sit in the car. When the kids started to get restless we all went in and the lobby was in the same condition so we cleaned a spot ourselves and had a seat waiting for our room to be available. When it finally was it was clear they did a half hazard cleaning job just to get us in. There was sand on the floors hair in the bathtub and garbage in the drawers. We were already exhausted so just made the best of it. Next day impossible to get a chair by the pool because as the week went on we witnessed what people were doing going down during breakfast and putting times on chairs to HOLD them then leaving. That was very rude! While our 4 year old twins were swimming along with a number of other guests for some reason maintenence decided this would be the best time to sweep the pool. With hose winding throughout the pool and kids trying to swim through the hose. The pool man was getting frustrated. Why don't they do this early morning before guests hit the pool. He was even dumping what looked to be chemicals into the pool in very close proximity to where children were swimming. This happened both times we took our grand kids to the pool. We decided to go to the beach instead. 9 times out of ten there were no dry towels by the pool and people were throwing their used sandy dirty towels in the same Rubbermaid container where you pick up your clean towel. Very unsanitary and discusting. Call down for bath towels asked to come down and get them your self. Handed damp unfolded towels. Put out a teaser plate of cookies maybe a dozen or less and saw kids walk away sad front desk saying when there gone there gone. Why even put them out in the first place. The whole experience was a disappointment and unless improvements are made we will not return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry we did not achieve our goal of exceeding your expectations during your visit with us. We will certainly be taking steps to correct the situations you have mentioned in your review. Unfortunately, you wanted a very specific room and we were not able to accomodate your request for an early check in on an extremely busy and hectic day. My breakfast attendent was taken to the hospital in the middle of breakfast and we were not able to get the room cleaned in a timely manner. I apologize for the disarray that you found in the lobby, it is not the way that we like to present ourselves. If you would give me a call, I would like to discuss this you and none of thses issues wre brought to my attention while you were here. I would like to have the Opportunity to show you what the other reviewers talk about. That we are the nicest friendliest hotel on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The staff was so helpful, especially Alex who helped us out with an early check-in as well as recommendations for places to eat. All rooms are oceanfront and literally just steps from the beach. Breakfast was awesome and Chris was great in handling the spring break crowd and keeping food out. The bathrooms in the pool/beach area lobby were kept clean throughout the day. This hotel is actually located in Daytona Beach Shores and seemed to be very family oriented. We were close to everything....grocery, dining and shopping. We made a day trip to New Smyrna Beach (Flagler Avenue), which was nice and only about 10 miles away. If we go back to this area, we will definitely stay here! Thanks again to Alex and Chris for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks so much for such a wonderful review. My team does rock and they make it very easy to come to work every day. They make me proud to be their manager! Alex and Chris are just amazing. These are exactly the kind of comments that we love to hear. We can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I just came back from staying at this hotel and I'm happy that I chose it! Friendly, courteous staff and comfortable rooms made for a pleasant stay. The ocean view balcony was particularly enjoyable. There are several restaurants within a few minutes of driving.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It really is all about the view. Not many hotels can boast that all of our rooms are direct ocean front and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. Hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My stay at the holiday inn was great.. the staff was very helpful and rooms were very clean.. there was one staff member that was always asking how we were doing and if there was anything he could for us.. so thanks Carlos.. when we come back next year we will defiantly be staying at the holiday inn

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks so much for such a wonderful review. These are exactly the kind of comments that we love to hear. We want to be your only choice while visiting Daytona Beach so it sounds like mission accomplished. I am so glad that you enjoyed all of our beautiful hotel.Carlos is just one of our stars that help to make us the best hotel on the beach.
Hurry back, we can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had never stayed in a Holiday Inn express. This site every room has a view of the ocean exceptional! Nice clean hotel, staff very pleasant and helpful! Great breakfast included. Nice pool area and right on beach for walks. Everything I could want. In a hotel . Very pleased for the weekend. Will come back when in area.

Room Tip: All rooms ocean front however up a little always nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We want to thank you for rating us at the highest level. This tells us that we are doing our job to ensure your complete satisfaction and it informs others that we would be a great choice while visiting the Daytona Beach area. . I am so glad that you enjoyed all of our beautiful hotel. Hurry back, we can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The staff and hotel are excellent. We received exceptional service from Kevin who is always helpful. He suggested joining the Priority Club which has some great perks. The first time we stayed we knew we would continue to go back for future vacations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks so much for such a wonderful reviewThese are exactly the kind of comments that we love to hear. We want to be your only choice while visiting Daytona Beach so it sounds like mission accomplished. I am so glad that you enjoyed all that beautiful hotel has to offer. Kevin at the desk is just one of our stars that help to make us the best hotel on the beach.. We can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Oceanfront Hotel
Palm Plaza Oceanfront Hotel
Hotel Palm Plaza Oceanfront
Address: 3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores offers a breath taking view of the Atlantic Ocean. The Holiday Inn Express and Suites is the prefect setting for a family vacation, the corporate traveler or a weekend get-a-way. We offer the finest amenities including private balconies, mini-fridges, microwaves and free Wi-Fi. As our honored guest you will enjoy a large outdoor pool where you can step down on the warm sandy beach. Start your day with our Smart Start Breakfast where you can watch the sun rise over the ocean. For meetings or social events, we offer an executive board room as well as an executive fitness center. You will also want to make time for golf at one of our many championship courses, enjoy the roar of the engines as NASCAR & Daytona International Speedway gear up for the many events; or going to the dogs at Daytona Beach Kennel Club. For the shoppers, there's Volusia Mall and Daytona Flea and Farmers Market. We are minutes to Main Street where it's the place to be during Bike Week and Biketoberfest. Whether you are splashing in the surf, taking a refreshing swim in the pool, you will always remember your Oceanfront getaway to The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.