We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All oceanfront rooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #20 of 108 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“All oceanfront rooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We found this hotel at a late hour driving north from a Key West visit. It showed "no vacancies" on line, but I called the front desk and was quickly accommodated. They were great. Jackie even called me back to give me a better route to avoid traffic. We found out it was the week of the Daytona 500....sleepy old Daytona was filling up.
The room was a good size, clean, with frig and microwave, and a very private balcony right on the ocean. The hotel is in Daytona Beach Shores, which is south of old Daytona Beach and much quiter, but it is still part of the "drive-on-beach" section. Complimentary breakfast in the lobby was a nice touch. It was the "decent hot food, plastic fork" quality. Folks seemed to really enjoy the instant pancake machine. A good choice if you are planning a little stay in Datona.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor where you can step out back and watch the sunset. It was a nice extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We want to thank you for rating us at the highest level. This tells us that we are doing our job to ensure your complete satisfaction and it informs others that we would be a great choice while visiting the Daytona Beach area. I am so glad that you were able to take my shortcut and avoid the Orlando traffic. I was hoping to meet you during your stay but I had to leave for a family emergency. It is wonderful to hear that you had a wonderful time and I hope I do get to meet you the next time you come to Daytona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    59
    20
    4
    8
See reviews for
107
101
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have stayed here several times and have always been impressed by the friendly staff and clean rooms. Plus the ocean view helps :) We generally just stay one night as its half way to the Keys for us. Luckily we've avoided bike week and 500 miles of left turns so can't say what it's like then. Our expectations were never very high for a Holiday Inn but from the first stay, these folks greatly impressed us. So, KUDOS to the staff here! Consistently a great place to stay and always a place worthy of tipping the housekeeping staff. The front desk folks have been just as helpful in getting us the room we like. Top floor on the corner can't be beat! Would definitely recommend for one night or a longer stay if Daytona is your destination.

Room Tip: Top floor has great sunrise views and cool ocean breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks so much for such a wonderful review.
We are so happy to have such loyal guests, like you and your family! And it’s even better to hear that you always have a good time while staying with us! We look forward to seeing you again on your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Coming from Michigan in January to an ocean view room in Daytona Beach Fl is on my top 10 list. The front desk clerk Thersa was the best. She went way above and beyond to help make my stay an enjoyable one. She should teach a customer service class on how to make a happy hotel guest.
The room clean and nice. The view like a post card.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must. Worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! It really is all about the view. Not many hotels can boast that all of our rooms are direct ocean front. Theresa is an amazing person and always helpful. We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stansbury park, utah
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I wasn't expecting much from the old hotels on Daytona Beach, especially with a 2.5 star rating. Was I ever wrong. The minute DJ pulled up my reservation he welcomed us as Priority Club members, and gave us a free upgrade to a kitchen suite! We probably spend 30 nights a year in hotel rooms, and this was the best front desk greeting ever in my 60 years! DJ gave us drink vouchers for the restaurant, and suggested it when asked where was good to eat. I was skeptical but too tired to argue. My wife and I both had the Mahi special and it was better than Duke's in Hawaii! When asked where to party, he gave us a discount pass for Ocean Deck down the road. What a fun time there.
Now the important part, the room. Great view of pool and ocean. 5* bedding with 4 pillows on each bed labeled firm or soft, your choice for comfort. Heating and air worked great and everything was immaculately clean. Stainless appliances, granite counters and coffee pot. Too much to list.
Haven't checked out yet, but this place far exceeds all expectations of a seasoned traveler. Next time we hit Daytona Beach, this is the place!

Room Tip: All rooms are good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! We are so happy to have such loyal guests, like you and your family! And it’s even better to hear that you always have a good time while staying with us! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We love this place. Great staff, clean rooms, great view, comfortable beds and great location. Close to the best dining in Daytona with the Deck Down Under and The Cracked Egg and Pat's Riverside cafe. Right around the corner from the Dunlawton Bridge for easy access to Port Orange and I-95. Would not stay anywhere else. It doesn't hurt that we belong to Priority Club so getting points is icing on the cake.

Room Tip: We like the rooms from the 5th floor up for the view. There is not a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to have such loyal guests, like you and your family! And it’s even better to hear that you always have a good time while staying with us! While we don't have a restaurant, we do have some great places to eat and you named some of my favorites. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I love this hotel. It is one of the newest and nicest on the beach. The staff is amazng. So friendly and helpful, just like the manager Joyc. She leads her team by example. My room on the 11th floor was so clean and fresh. I don't know how they keep it that way but I am glad that they do. Breakfast is hot and fresh with lots of choices. Chris ven made me bacon when I asked for it. No request is too difficult at this hotel. Very refreshing.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We want to thank you for rating us at the highest level. This tells us that we are doing our job to ensure your complete satisfaction and it informs others that we would be a great choice while visiting the Daytona Beach area. My staff is what helps to make us the best hotel and cleanest hotel on the beach. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great staff from the front desk to housekeeping. Alway helpful and alway willing to go the extra mile to make my stay like a home away from home. The hotel is fabulously located on the beach with every room an ocean view. The property is spotless and well maintained. Kudos to management for hiring people like Haley, Kevin and Alex.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! Our goal is to provide great value, and superior service to satisfy every guest every time while creating a lifetime of memories. People hate to leave. That means that we have done our job by making sure your stay is as good as it can possibly be so that you never want to leave a little piece of paradise.. I passed on your kind words and will accept your kudos on behalf of my staff. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you can make it again.
Joyce L. Palm General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Address: 3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores offers a breath taking view of the Atlantic Ocean. The Holiday Inn Express and Suites is the prefect setting for a family vacation, the corporate traveler or a weekend get-a-way. We offer the finest amenities including private balconies, mini-fridges, microwaves and free Wi-Fi. As our honored guest you will enjoy a large outdoor pool where you can step down on the warm sandy beach. Start your day with our Smart Start Breakfast where you can watch the sun rise over the ocean. For meetings or social events, we offer an executive board room as well as an executive fitness center. You will also want to make time for golf at one of our many championship courses, enjoy the roar of the engines as NASCAR & Daytona International Speedway gear up for the many events; or going to the dogs at Daytona Beach Kennel Club. For the shoppers, there's Volusia Mall and Daytona Flea and Farmers Market. We are minutes to Main Street where it's the place to be during Bike Week and Biketoberfest. Whether you are splashing in the surf, taking a refreshing swim in the pool, you will always remember your Oceanfront getaway to The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach
Palm Plaza Oceanfront Hotel
Hotel Palm Plaza Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.