We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average if not for the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Below average if not for the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stay at Holiday Inn Express properties all the time and this one would be below average by any comparison but it is on the beach so you can overlook the age of the place and dated rooms so my rating would have been higher if the hotel actually took care of the things that they don't need much money to do. The luggage carts were the worse I have seen in a long time; pneumatic tires that were not inflated enough and really hard to roll when loaded. Elevators that don't stop level with the floors. Rooms where it was impossible to place anything high enough to keep out of reach of kids, noisy frig, etc. The front desk people weren't rude but were apathetic as heck and couldn't answer questions like 'Where is a seafood restaurant?'
I’ve been to at least 50 HIEs and the breakfast is not great but okay; a meat of some sort, egg like substance of some sort, sausage gravy, and biscuits. For the first time ever though, this hotel had no meat one day and instead called the sausage gravy (that they have every day) a ‘meat’ . It’s things like this that bug me when I expect at least the minimum out of a hotel chain. (The breakfast lady was great though). It would be a great hotel for staying on the beach if you want away from the Daytona strip and don't expect much out of the room. They should take care of the little things though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I apologize if you feel that we did not meet your standards of a Holiday Inn Express. We were recently renovated and won an award from Holiday Inn Express about the quality of the hotel. We always have a breakfast meat on the buffett and sometimes two. During slower periods we will only put out one and Sausage gravy is considered a meat. I am surprised that you feel that my front desk staff is "apathetic" as the other reviewers on this site and other sites rave about my staff.I would like you to contact me directly so I can address your concerns in greater detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    70
    20
    4
    9
See reviews for
122
118
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you are looking for a wonderful hotel in Daytona Beach look no further. This truly is the place. Every single room in this fabulous hotel faces the ocean and a beautiful pool. The pool changes colour at night which is truly spectacular to look at from your balcony. Upon entering the lobby you are overwhelmed with truly breath taking view of the ocean from their floor to ceiling windows. The rooms are very large in size and have lovely ocean front balconies with them. The staff here goes above and beyond to meet and exceed your expectations. They are very courteous and friendly and really know the area. I had the pleasure of being checked in by Chris who was wonderful. At almost any point you can see at least one of the two fantastic managers on duty helping and encouraging their staff. This hotel is simply breath taking. I highly encourage people to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks so much for such a wonderful review. These are exactly the kind of comments that we love to hear. The view is amazing, especially when first entering the hotel. Chris is a big part of the reason that we are able to provide such friendly service to each and every guest. We truly are one of the best hotels on the beach. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed during Hurricane Sandy on Oct.27, 2012. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very clean and nice a bit small but it was fine. We stayed ocean front on the 4th floor the view was beautiful on Sunday morning after the storm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our little piece of heaven. People hate to leave. That means that we have done our job by making sure your stay is as good as it can possibly be so that you never want to leave our little piece of paradise. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Every room is ocean view! I haven't stayed at a Holiday Inn Brand in a number of years...

We were pleasantly greeted at the desk. Very late arrival, glad I had my confirmation number at hand, she couldn't find my reservation at first. Once I gave the number, she located it quickly.

Loved the ocean view, private balcony to watch the sunrise! Before we checked out, we had to walk the beach. Absolutely beautiful beaches!

Room Tip: The executive suites are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It really is all about the view. Not many hotels can boast that all of our rooms are direct ocean front. No one wants to lean around the corner to see our beautiful beach. My staff is a big part of what makes us the best place to stay on the beach. Now that you found us, don't stay away so long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've been going to this hotel for years and is now a Holiday Inn and it is fabulous! They have done some wonderful renovations that made this property even nicer. The view is always fabulous from the private balcony and with the mini fridge, micro, coffee maker, pool, beach and nearby restaurants you never need to go far from this property to have the most wonderful time. The only problem is leaving, plan on giving yourself an extra day or two or three.
Lily at the Front desk was terrific, she was friendly and very helpful, was able to get me a room on the floor I preferred and gave me some suggestions for things to do and places to go. Kevin at checkout was great, and yes I will be going back hopefully many times. Debbie

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, so the view is fabulous from all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks so much for such a wonderful review. These are exactly the kind of comments that we love to hear. We want to be your only choice while visiting Daytona Beach so it sounds like mission accomplished. We have received many comments about the great changes that we made to the hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed all of our beautiful hotel. Lily at the desk are just two of our stars that help to make us the best hotel on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Usually the first thing I do when I check in to a hotel is call the front desk to ask for extra towels and pillows. Not necessary here! They had extra towels for us during our recent 4 night stay and the pillows and especially the bed were very comfortable. Awesome view of the ocean, private balcony; good breakfast every morning, close to everything on Daytona Beach. The place is clean, and the staff is very accommodating. I would love to come back here and stay again!

Room Tip: we had the top floor, but no matter what room you are in, the view of the ocean is right in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Our goal is to provide great value, great pillows, and superior service to satisfy every guest every time while creating a lifetime of memories. People hate to leave. That means that we have done our job by making sure your stay is as good as it can possibly be so that you never want to leave a little piece of paradise.. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you can make it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My family stayed there for weekend getaway.
The cleanest hotel bathroom and pool among Daytona Beach areas as far as I experienced.
We used to stay in Hilton oceanfront, but this one provides a kind of cozy, clean & quiet place, good breakfast, all beachfront balcony room, without any extra costs such as resort fees, parking fees.
If you want quiet and peaceful weekend in beach - not luxury though - ,
we do recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! We are so thrilled to have you and your family stay with us. It is great to hear that you think we have the cleanest bathroom on the beach, I have had other people tell me that but it is always nice hearing it again. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Address: 3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores offers a breath taking view of the Atlantic Ocean. The Holiday Inn Express and Suites is the prefect setting for a family vacation, the corporate traveler or a weekend get-a-way. We offer the finest amenities including private balconies, mini-fridges, microwaves and free Wi-Fi. As our honored guest you will enjoy a large outdoor pool where you can step down on the warm sandy beach. Start your day with our Smart Start Breakfast where you can watch the sun rise over the ocean. For meetings or social events, we offer an executive board room as well as an executive fitness center. You will also want to make time for golf at one of our many championship courses, enjoy the roar of the engines as NASCAR & Daytona International Speedway gear up for the many events; or going to the dogs at Daytona Beach Kennel Club. For the shoppers, there's Volusia Mall and Daytona Flea and Farmers Market. We are minutes to Main Street where it's the place to be during Bike Week and Biketoberfest. Whether you are splashing in the surf, taking a refreshing swim in the pool, you will always remember your Oceanfront getaway to The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach
Palm Plaza Oceanfront Hotel
Hotel Palm Plaza Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.