We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay right on beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Westerville, Ohio, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay right on beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Usually the first thing I do when I check in to a hotel is call the front desk to ask for extra towels and pillows. Not necessary here! They had extra towels for us during our recent 4 night stay and the pillows and especially the bed were very comfortable. Awesome view of the ocean, private balcony; good breakfast every morning, close to everything on Daytona Beach. The place is clean, and the staff is very accommodating. I would love to come back here and stay again!

Room Tip: we had the top floor, but no matter what room you are in, the view of the ocean is right in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Our goal is to provide great value, great pillows, and superior service to satisfy every guest every time while creating a lifetime of memories. People hate to leave. That means that we have done our job by making sure your stay is as good as it can possibly be so that you never want to leave a little piece of paradise.. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you can make it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    86
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
149
140
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My family stayed there for weekend getaway.
The cleanest hotel bathroom and pool among Daytona Beach areas as far as I experienced.
We used to stay in Hilton oceanfront, but this one provides a kind of cozy, clean & quiet place, good breakfast, all beachfront balcony room, without any extra costs such as resort fees, parking fees.
If you want quiet and peaceful weekend in beach - not luxury though - ,
we do recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! We are so thrilled to have you and your family stay with us. It is great to hear that you think we have the cleanest bathroom on the beach, I have had other people tell me that but it is always nice hearing it again. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed overnight with a group on our return trip from Key West and were very pleased with this HIE. Thought at first that property was new based on room condition but were surprised to later discover it was not entirely new but had been recently updated to meet HIE standards. Stayed on the 11th floor in a king room, and the bedding, as well as everything else, was wonderful. Loved the view! Room was really large and would have been great for an extended stay. Could not find an ice machine on our floor - decided we could do without it, so didn't go looking. With our stay occurring after Labor Day, our group had the whole top floor to ourselves which was nice.

Had to leave early the next morning and did not get to try the breakfast - had a tasty cup of coffee, though. Staff were friendly and helpful. Want to remember this place for future trips to Daytona.

Room Tip: Be aware that elevator is a little slow, if you are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your views with others. It sounds like your overall stay was most enjoyable. Our elevators can be a bit slow especially during peak periods. Hopefully, now that you found us, next time you can stay longer and have breakfast.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We live in Nevada, and as such, we had never actually visited the Atlanic Ocean. So while we were in Florida anyway, we decided to see what it looked like. I researched several hotels before settling on this one. We wanted a place on the ocean beach with a view. This place fits the bill. The building is skinny, so there is only one row of rooms per floor, which means that each room faces the ocean and has a great view– and a balcony! There is a pool in the back, between the building and the ocean beach, and YES, there is direct, free access to the beach. You can hear the surf from your room, and if you're really fortunate, you can catch a full moon rising over the horizon in the evening. The amenities are up to the usual HIE standards, including the breakfast (and don't miss the ice cream vending machine on the bottom floor). For all of this, the price was very reasonable, and we ended up staying an extra day. We would definitely return, although, unfortunately, we may never have another chance...

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Our goal is to provide great value, superior service to satisfy every guest every time while creating a lifetime of memories. People hate to leave. That means that we have done our job by making sure your stay is as good as it can possibly be so that you never want to leave a little piece of paradise. You were one of the lucky ones to see the “Blue Moon” It is gorgeous reflecting over the ocean. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you can make it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights in July 2012. I thought I had booked a King room with sofa bed, but when we went to our room, we saw no sofa. The girl at the front desk couldn't have been nicer and set us up with the correct room type. Our room was very clean and comfortable. LOVE the beds. I didn't like how there was a regular door instead of a sliding glass door to the balconey, but that was my only room complaint. The pool was small, but adequate. They do not have a hot tub :( My major disapointment was breakfast. The only fresh fruit was apples. Couldn't get anywhere near the pancake station, there was always a line no matter when you went to breakfast. There was a hot entree each morning, but nothing great. We went out to breakfast rather than fight with the lines. All in all, I liked the hotel.

Room Tip: request a corner room. They seem to be bigger. All rooms are oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! We are so thrilled to have you and your family stay with us. We pride ourselves on the quality and friendliness of our staff, so we are also happy to hear that they were helpful to you. My staff is a big part of what makes us the best place to stay on the beach. Breakfast does get a bit crazy on the weekends. I apologize that you were not able to sit and enjoy it. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nights last week. We loved our room! Clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the view and the pool. The desk staff was pleasant. I want to add a special thank you to the asst. manager. He was soooo helpful to us during our stay, as was Hayley. The breakfast lady was sweet and helpful. She walked around to ask how breakfast was and if we needed anything. Breakfast was awesome! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
I am so very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at the nicest, friendliest hotel on the beach. We aim to give every guest superior service and a great value while experiencing a welcome like no other. Kevin and Hayley at the desk are just two of our stars that help to make us the best hotel on the beach. We can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We visited last week (the later part of August) so it was a very rainy time for Florida. All of the doors to the rooms are somewhat exposed to the elements. The floors leading to the rooms and elevators are very very slick when wet. We also had a large puddle of water in front of our door for quite sometime after the rain ended. It would be nice to see something put down to eliminate the slippery floors. They did have a cone out that warned you but nothing else to try to prevent it (such as rugs or mats). Aside from that, the staff was very friendly, the rooms were very pretty and clean (for the most part). I say "for the most part" because when I was sitting in the bathroom looking at the back of the bathroom door, it was obvious that they don't wipe down the door. It had some other guest's hair stuck to it and some other obvious dirt. The view was spectacular, beds were very comfy and parking was good. The location is on the quieter end of the beach which is great. But it does take a few minutes to get to the shops if that's what you're looking for. Overall, a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress-DBS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I am sorry we did not achieve our goal of exceeding your expectations during your visit with us. We will certainly be taking steps to correct the situations you have mentioned in your review. Unfortunately, being right on the ocean we are at the mercy of the elements and just can’t keep up with the wet floors. We have tried mats to no avail. I have also spoken with my housekeeping staff and made them aware of your comments. We are always willing to hear the bad as well as the good. I am glad that your overall stay was great. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront

Address: 3301 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118 (Formerly Palm Plaza Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores offers a breath taking view of the Atlantic Ocean. The Holiday Inn Express and Suites is the prefect setting for a family vacation, the corporate traveler or a weekend get-a-way. We offer the finest amenities including private balconies, mini-fridges, microwaves and free Wi-Fi. As our honored guest you will enjoy a large outdoor pool where you can step down on the warm sandy beach. Start your day with our Smart Start Breakfast where you can watch the sun rise over the ocean. For meetings or social events, we offer an executive board room as well as an executive fitness center. You will also want to make time for golf at one of our many championship courses, enjoy the roar of the engines as NASCAR & Daytona International Speedway gear up for the many events; or going to the dogs at Daytona Beach Kennel Club. For the shoppers, there's Volusia Mall and Daytona Flea and Farmers Market. We are minutes to Main Street where it's the place to be during Bike Week and Biketoberfest. Whether you are splashing in the surf, taking a refreshing swim in the pool, you will always remember your Oceanfront getaway to The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach Shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach
Palm Plaza Oceanfront Hotel
Hotel Palm Plaza Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.