We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian famiglia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Vito's Italian Restaurant

Don Vito's Italian Restaurant
137 West International Speedway Blvd., Daytona Beach, FL 32114
+1 386-492-7935
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 371 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Dessert, Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Family owned and operated, Don Vito's Italian Restaurant is a fantastic establishment that utilizes traditional recipes and comfortable surroundings to provide patrons with, "a meal you can't refuse". Using fifth generation recipes passed down from their grandmothers in the kitchen, the owners sons prepare authentic Italian dishes ranging from all of your favorites to some unique creations that you may not have experienced previously, including PIZZA. All of this is served up in a comfortable dining room with black booths, and a number of pieces of Italian art and movie photos on the wall. Located in the quaint Beach Street area directly on International Speedway Blvd. And across the bridge from the beach, Don Vito's is a must-visit Italian restaurant in Daytona for dine in, take out or catering!
Clifton Park NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Italian famiglia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Your gonna love it. Great Italian food .the veal parmigiana is excellent the garlic knots are the best we've had. A real value and Jim , Barb and Family are gracious hosts. We will visit again when back to Daytona Bike Week.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    102
    57
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian by Italians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Don Vito's is fantastic! We ate there for the first time tonight. The service was great, the food was fantastic, and the prices were very reasonable. Everything tasted fresh and homemade. We had the mozzarella sticks as an appetizer. They were pretty good, but the highlight of them was definitely the marinara that came with them. My wife had the Baked Ziti and it was cheesy and AMAZING and large enough for a full size lunch tomorrow. I had the Chicken Fra Diavolo with medium heat. The chicken was really good quality and well cooked. The penne was good, and the sauce was the perfect level of heat - hot enough to know it was there and not so hot that you can't taste anything else. We had a tiramisu and a cannoli for dessert. Both are homemade and taste great - a wonderful end to a great meal. The atmosphere is very friendly. We got to know both Barbara (the owner/manager/mom) and her daughter-in-law as they both kept tabs on us and made sure everything was in order. The restaurant isn't huge (maybe 15-20 tables), so I recommend a reservation. I've seen other reviews talk about how they don't seat people unless they can make sure they will get good service, and having experienced that service, I understand why. The prices are beyond fair, as we spent twice as much for "meh" food earlier this week in NSB. Don Vito's cares about the entire experience and it shows. We have definitely found our "family Italian joint"!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, well-priced Italian restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Family owned. Comfortable setting. My friends and I went there for dinner while on spring break and loved it. Food was spectacular and well-priced. Family owned and super friendly service. Would highly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Daytona Beach area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Saw the reviews and decided to give it a try. Glad we did. Food was delicious, staff was terrific, experience couldn't have been better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good Italian fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We visited Don Vito's on a Tuesday night and were seated immediately without a reservation. We started with bruschetta, which was overcooked and had too much balsamic vinegar for our taste. The house salad was pretty generic, with a non-homemade dressing. My wife's lasagna was a huge portion covered with homemade sauce. She liked it, but found it too dry in the center, where there was little or no sauce. The highlight of the meal was my baked ziti, which was cheesy and delicious. Overall, this was a good meal, but nothing special. Personally, I would like to see smaller portions available at a lower price. Our meal was over $50 with no drinks and was far more than we could eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donvitos, Owner at Don Vito's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dearest Richard – Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment as I am humbled by that honor. I apologize for not responding sooner but there were many people at the restaurant for the races and Bike week . I noted you have achieved top contributor status having reviewed 47 restaurants. A proud as you are, I’m sure, it must be understood that we strongly feel that NOTHING we do is average, as your rating reflects. I am taking the liberty to suggest a few simple things to remember for your future reviews and will attempt to respond to some of the specifics you mentioned. First I’m glad you seemed to love the Baked Ziti and found that overall the meals were good. If you’re going to continue on with your Top Reviewer quest please try and remember a few simple things. Number one: If something isn’t right, try speaking up!! Had you stated your displeasure with the bruschetta or any item, it would have been replaced with something else more suited to your taste. Result Fixed!! Second: If something is dry ask for additional sauce. We have heard comments in the past about TOO MUCH SAUCE. We covered yours with tons of sauce, but would have gladly given you more, IF YOU HAD ASKED. We do not inject sauce throughout the lasagna as it would become a soupy mess. Result Fixed!! While we don’t mind honest opinions it irks us when we feel someone goes just a little too far with comments such as: NON-HOMEMADE dressings, on pretty generic salads[we only make the Italian dressing and find your review to be less than average], good meal BUT NOTHING SPECIAL,[we didn’t find your review to be nothing special], you stated you would like to see smaller portions available at a lower price, [REALLY RICHIE. If only we had known]. You state your meal was far more than you can eat. You had an appetizer, one salad, [no cucumber – That’s right we remember everything about all our customers], two HUGE entrees and you stated it was far more than you could eat. How strange???? I assume you read some of our reviews before coming in and should have known everything is huge. You go even further by insinuating that the $50.00 bucks you spent for the above items was High and WITHOUT DRINKS. HEY!!! One of you had Iced Tea. A little embellishment on your part for affect Richie??? HEY RICHIE your meal and tax came to $41.60 plus tax and tip. $25.00 per meal is really not a lot for the year 2013 at a sit down restaurant. It would probably be a lot during 1964. Furthermore, Our review of your reviews indicates that the majority of your higher #4 and #5 ratings were awarded to Burger, Pizza, Sandwich and Hot Dog restaurants. You probably spent less at those places than here. We are an Italian Restaurant which just happens to have great Pizza and you probably would have been more comfortable with that. As info we also have lower cost sandwiches and salad dishes. Ordering any of these items PLUS drinks probably would have lowered your bill by half. Perhaps you should have visited us during lunch on Thurs and Fri when we have $5.00 Hero’s or $7.99 lunch entrees as well as a $9.95 - 18 inch [foot and a half] Pizza?? Or even better two (2) slices AND A DRINK for $4.25!!! Then there is always that place where they hold the pickles and the lettuce, where special orders don’t upset us?? You had a large order Richie. To recap Richie: [a] Speak Up, [b] stick to lunch specials[c] Save the smaller portion comments, cause it isn’t happening and seems a little bold even for a Top Reviewer such as yourself. You are not Mario Batali, you are Richie the Top Reviewer!! Now on to the penalty phase and an offer you can’t refuse. Unfortunately for you, No overcooked Bruschetta with too much balsamic, No dry lasagna in the middle, No generic salads or delicious cheesy Baked Ziti for you and No heartwarming reviews by you for us for one year. Come back one year and one day, [extra day for embellished No Drinks comment!!!] Go in peace Ricardo and may the force be with you!!!!! Perky Barbara, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Vito's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Don Vito's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Vito's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.