We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must to SEE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MOAS - Museum of Arts and Sciences

MOAS - Museum of Arts and Sciences
352 South Nova Road, Daytona Beach, FL 32114
386 255 0285
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #14 of 78 Attractions in Daytona Beach
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Science Museums, Museums, Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Museum of Arts & Sciences (MOAS) is the primary art, history and science museum in Central Florida. Located on a 90-acre Florida nature preserve, the 100,000 square foot facility is host to over 30,000 objects including the finest collection of American Art in the southeast, the largest collection of Cuban art outside of Cuba, a significant Chinese art collection, and Florida's prehistoric Giant Ground Sloth - the most complete and best preserved of its species. Also on display, is Coca-Cola entrepreneur Chapman Root’s lifetime collection of Americana, including two private rail cars. The museum’s theater, planetarium, and Charles and Linda Williams Children's Museum make for a truly interactive experience.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Must to SEE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

What an array of collections! We started with the Planetarium show. WOW...this was fun, informative and took only about 20 minutes. This museum has delights for all. Especially enjoyed the Root Family area with vintage automobiles, restored railroad cars and Coca-Cola memorabilia.The preserved 13 foot tall skeleton of the giant ground sloth would be interesting to all ages. The Dow Gallery of American Art was one of our favorites too. Since this museum is self-guided you can go fast through rooms that you aren't interested in. The gift shop was just ok and could be improved with more items and books. One of our most favorite attractions of Daytona Beach!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    46
    9
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I enjoyed the permanent collection. Loved the visible storage area, I just wish there were more information about these pieces. Great Cuban exhibit.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“history at reach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I liked the coca cola exhibition memorablia, especially the old
soda machines .I admired all the bears with the coke emblems.
The big furnished tall doll house remembers the place all girls
dream for.
There was not anything I disliked.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary beach attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a great time visiting this delightfully different museum. A little bit of everything including the giant land sloth skeleton, 1000 teddy bears, unique open storage conglomeration of just about everything imaginable. Interestingly very little was labeled in detail; as one of the other visitors we met suggested, "we wouldn't remember what we read anyhow". A perfect rainy day attraction, but even on a bright sunny day, we found it worth the time away from the beach

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Visited here in June with grandchildren and again at Christmas with our son and his wife. A treat for all. And even adults enjoy hands on childrens section. Planaterium is special extra and presenter explains all for young and old alike. Must see treasure worth the trip.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MOAS - Museum of Arts and Sciences also viewed

 

Been to MOAS - Museum of Arts and Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MOAS - Museum of Arts and Sciences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.