We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Castle Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sand Castle Motel to your Saves list
Sand Castle Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3619 S. Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32127   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
DeLand, Florida
1 review
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A very nice,clean, and friendly place to getaway.Reasonable priced and located nicely. Really enjoy the upper deck to hang out on and just being able to step out from the room to go to the pool or ocean is a pleasure.
d

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Occasionally, I find myself in a tough spot when reviewing a place, and this is one of those times. We stayed here six years ago, and the place could not have been more perfect. This most recent stay, however, was not so much. Let me start with what was good. The price for any of the rooms here is very reasonable, especially for being right on the beach. The rooms are a little dated, but they are nice. The pool is great, too- the deep end is 9', and it is always clean. The housekeeper, Irina, is super nice, and really takes pride in her work. Once I looked out onto the balcony and saw her down on her hands and knees scrubbing the neighbor's balcony. She kept our room spotless. We had an ocean front unit, and the view was spectacular. There is ample covered parking, so you won't always have to get into a hot vehicle. The managers were very nice (the actual owners live elsewhere, they told us).
Now for the bad... it is NOT QUIET here at night. There were a few other families with little kids like us here, but there were also some older people here (50's and 60's?) that just couldn't seem to maintain any level of respect and civil obedience once the sun went down. We had a guy outside screaming to the top of his lungs one night over and over. Another night, there was an entire gang of older folks sitting outside on the picnic table playing drinking games and being really loud... so loud, in fact, that the police came and asked them to quieten down! These are but a couple of examples of our week here, but there was something going on like this every night that disrupted our family's sleep. We even complained to the management, and they just told us to call the police. So, take my review for what it's worth, and make your own decision. It's cheap to stay here, but, if you're looking for a classier bunch of people (not everyone that was there, just the rowdy ones) to vacation with, you may want to look elsewhere. For us... we probably will not be back here again.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are situated away from the courtyard and are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Such a great place to stay in Daytona. My parents have been going for the past few years and I joined them Sept 2011 and had such a great time were all going back this Sept too!!
Lonnie and her staff are very welcoming and make you feel as though they have known you all your life!
The cocktails at 4pm are brilliant too and the Karaoke is also fun!! Mind you that may only happen when our gang is there!
Roll on Sept 2012!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We've been staying at the sand castle each year at the same time renewing friendships we've made over the years. It's homey and everyone is friendly. The owners have a weekly cookout for the guests. They bring out the karaoke machine and everyone gets in on the fun. If you want a clean, comfortable place to stay on the beach make your reservations at the Sand Castle!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Spent a few days this week with my son at the beach. It is a quick drive from Orlando and much more relaxing. The owners were wonderful and the location was incredible. You literally walk out the door to the beach. The rooms were clean, the beach beautiful and the other guests very friendly. It seems to cater to long-term retirees. However, my little boy had a blast. The hotel is situated in a nice area with large condominiums, away from the busy areas. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Request the beachfront rooms- the views are amazing. They have a full kitchenette and there is a Pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

Feels like our second home every time! Clean and affordable oceanfront motel. Close to everything with lots of choices to have local seafood lunch or dinner, either on the ocean or the river. Dress up or dress down. Even karaoke every so often on the upper deck. You'll love it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed the week of the Daytona 500. We had never been and were nervous to have found a local motel at such a reasonable and very affordable rate. There were 4 of us traveling and the room had 2 double beds, a kitchenette, a clean (but dated) bathroom, and plenty of room. This motel is far enough away from the rowdy side of town, but close enough to enjoy the fun. They have a heated pool that over looks the beach and ocean. The people there are very very nice. A lot of snow birds stay here, and they all seemed happy to have us there and welcomed us as we ran into them on the grounds. The only complaint is that they NEED new beds, and they SHOULD upgrade to QUEEN SIZED mattresses. I ASKED FOR A ROLL AWAY, but unfortunately they don't have any. Very easy ride to the track, took 10 minutes.

I would recommend this small but quaint motel to singles, family's and RACE FANS.

Room Tip: Ask for a queen or king bed/
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Castle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Motel

Address: 3619 S. Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sand Castle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sand Castle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Castle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.