We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Shores Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tropic Shores Resort to your Saves list
Tropic Shores Resort
3111 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Fenelon Falls Ontario
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We took a chance when we booked this resort. We were very pleasantly surprised. The staff should be commende on the cleanliness of the facility. We have done some 75 timeshare exchanges. This is one of the better experiences. The resort is very well managed.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for a week at Tropic Shores and had a great vacation. We had a 2 bedroom and it had lots of room and 2 bathrooms. It was pretty clean but in the 2nd bedroom there was mold on the window blinds. I used a clorox wipe on the blinds, thye were cheap plastic blinds. We had to put a blanket over the window anyway because my son has to have the room completely dark to sleep. I made a note about it in on the sheet they provide you with when you check in. I also found some hairs on the floor in the master bathroom. Other than those two things the room was clean. The mold on the blinds is why I only gave it a rating of average.

Every room at this place has a great ocean view. It is true that the walls are thin. We were on an end unit so we didn't have noise from next door but we could hear the people above us moving around. It often sounded like they were moving the furniture. They woke me up every morning before 7 a.m. which was annoying on vacation. The pool area suited our needs but is nothing fancy. Overall, we had a good stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Wow rooms are large and well equiped! Beach is beautiful! Pool was a little warm but otherwise was great. Staff is helpful and friendly!!! Loved the safe in room. Activites are fun. Loved the boogie boards.

Room Tip: Upper floors wait for elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great facility. Very clean, nice staff. Right on the beach, beautiful pool, shuffle board and every day there are activities. They have tons of things kids can do. You can checkout chairs, umbrellas, towels. I would love to stay here again. We had a neighbor that accidently slammed their doors. I spoke to the front desk and they took care of the neighbor. No more slamming doors.

Room Tip: stay away from the elevator, can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at Tropic Shores from March 3 – 10, 2012 and March 31 – April 7, 2012.
We also visited last year in March as well. We are owners of 2 one bedroom units.
This resort is older, but it is well maintained. It is directly on the beach, with all units facing the ocean. You can open your balcony door and relax on the sofa or balcony and see and hear the ocean. In the morning, the sunshine creates a golden walkway on the ocean that lights up photos. The staff is helpful and the security has been tightened this year by giving guests wristbands to wear so they can determine who are guests and people off the street.
There were lots of fantastic amenities available. Our favorites are the daily housekeeping including making the bed, cleaning the bathroom, taking out the trash & changing out the kitchen & bathroom towels – luxury and the availability of beach chairs and umbrellas, boogie boards & bicycles. The staff was super & always accommodating. We had a wonderful time & we plan on making annual visits. Everything that is needed for a great holiday is within walking distance (restaurants, drug and grocery stores and especially the beach!)

Jeff and Diana Kennaway

Room Tip: No Room Service - Please ignore the rating above
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We were there for a week. From outside the building and from inside the Lobby it seems a hotel from the 60's. Not bad, but far from "luxury". The good things are the service and attention from all the people and the beautiful condo units that they have. ALL of them have ocean view and are very comfortable. Full kitchen, living and 1 or 2 bedrooms. The location is the best in Daytona, close to restaurants and a great Supermarket (PUBLIX). You can save a lot of money if you cook in the unit or if you buy your dinner from Publix.
If you go further north you'll find "more luxurious" hotels but the sorrounding neighbourhoods are "not good". We were the 2nd week of January and is highly recommended: good temperature and very quiet (also few cars on the streets).
For $20 a week (p/room) you can have unlimited use of beach chairs, umbrellas and bycicles
You'll also have several nice place to visit (including the Ponce de Leon Lighthouse (just $5).
Daytona is a nice place to be for a week.

Room Tip: Any room you take is good. ALL of them have Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My family has stayed at the Tropic Shores many times. The building is always neat and clean and the staff is very nice. The condos are right on the beach in Daytona Beach Shores. Grocery shopping, restaurants, and shops are nearby. The pool and hot tub are always clean and relaxing. There are activities for all ages. It has always been the perfect place to bring my children. We have wonderful memories of time spent at the Tropic Shores.

One of our favorite activities in in Ponce Inlet (5 miles south) on A1A - the Marine Science Center. You can go there and see injured turtles being rehabilitated. Ponce Inlet also has beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tropic Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Shores Resort

Address: 3111 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tropic Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Shores Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.