We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Shores Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Daytona Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropic Shores Resort
3111 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“On the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This resort is older, but it is well maintained. It is directly on the beach, with most units facing the ocean. You can open your blacony door and relax on the the sofa or balcony and see and hear the ocean. In the morning, the sunshine creates a golden walkway on the ocean that lights up photos. The staff is helpful and the security has been tightened this year by giving guests wristbands to wear so they can determine who are guests and people off the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We should have been notified of the construction going on.
When these facilities open i'm sure they will be very good but today i'm not so happy.and this is the week before Christmas. Yuk! they have made the use of the pool and hot tub next door available to us. (but it's not the same) Lot's of activities., pool tables, air hockey, tv room, games room, exercise room .
All rooms face east. beautiful ocean and sunrise views.
there is public access to the beach rite beside the property.
i would stay here again..( if/when the construction is finished)

Room Tip: west facing sundeck on 6th floor has lounge chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at Tropic Shores from 8/13/11 - 8/20/11 through an RCI trade. The main reason we choose this resort was that all rooms are ocean front. That is the single most important factor when we choose a place to stay for a beach vacation - ocean front. We can stay home in NC and not see the beach! Overall the reviews on this site were good & that also helped us to make our choice. We were in unit 604. There are 8 units per floor on 10 floors for a total of 80 ocean front units. The two end units on each floor are 2 bed/2 bath with two balconies - one ocean front & one side view. Then the middle 6 units are 1 bed/1 bath with one balcony off of the living room that is ocean front. The bedroom window faces onto the hallway/street side. The 6th floor has a sundeck that faces the intercostal water & gets the afternoon sun. The sundeck wall is pretty high so if you sit in one of the loungers you can only see the sky not the beautiful view over the water. We were in a 1 bed/1 bath unit for my husband & I & it was just perfect. The unit was very recently renovated with new everything right down to the furniture & the linens. When you entered the unit you could look to the right & see out over the balcony to the ocean and the bedroom was immediately to your left (which was the street side of the building. The bedroom did have a window but ours looked out to the two elevators & then on over the sundeck. When entering the unit the bathroom was diagonally across from the front door to the right. The bathroom was tiled a little over half way up the walls. It had a new tub, curved shower rod & a great vanity that was higher than normal due to a drawer that ran the full length under the vanity. Inside the vanity were two additional drawers for storage. There was a nice Conair hairdryer on the wall & plenty of places to hang wet towels. The bathtub was super deep & I took a nice hot bath the 1st night we got there - that's how new & clean the tub was. Walking past the bathroom the open kitchen with a breakfast bar was on the left with a 4 person dining table & chairs to the right. Then the living room was next & was the width of the kitchen & dining area with a sliding glass door leading to a good sized balcony with a small table & two molded plastic chairs with arms. There were also two very wide towel bars on the balcony where you could dry your towels & suits. The floors in the unit were all 16" ceramic tile with the exception of a very low pile carpet in the bedroom. There was a large closet in the bedroom with plenty of extra hangers and a hall closet that housed the safe, a clothes basket, an iron & board, a broom & dustpan and more hanging space. There were two flat screen TV's. One in the bedroom and one in the living room. There were lots of channels & free HBO for all you TV lovers! The living room had a sofa & a recliner - neither of which were very comfortable. They reminded me of the furniture in a hospital & I'm sure were chosen for durability more than comfort. The kitchen was fully stocked & there were more items you could 'check out' from the front desk. I checked out a non stick frying pan & a pizza pan. We loved the unit!
There were lots of fantastic amenities available. My favorite one was free & it was daily housekeeping including making the bed, cleaning the bathroom, taking out the trash & changing out the kitchen & bathroom towels - luxury!! They also offer a package including beach chairs and umbrellas, boogie boards & bicycles. It's just over $5 a day per unit or $21.30 + tax for the week per unit. 1 bedroom units can get 4 chairs, 2 umbrellas, 4 boogie boards & 4 bicycles. I was concerned about the condition &/or availablility of the chairs & umbrellas but they were great. The umbrellas were large & the chairs were the tri-fold chairs that are adjustable on the top & bottom. All you had to do was go to the front desk (8:30am at the earliest) and tell them you were ready to get chairs & umbrellas. The front desk then radios down to the Amenities Staff - outside by the pool - to let them know that you are on your way down. Someone from the Amenities Staff then meets you by the pool to take your order for chairs, umbrellas, etc & then delivers them to the beach & sets them up where ever you choose. When you are ready to come off the beach it is your responsibility to bring your items back to the resort and put them by the pool. They also had a cookout on Wed & Fri for lunch with hamburgers, hot dogs, chips & a drink. There was an ice cream social just about every day. And there was a pancake breakfast one day. There were lots of other activities - too many to list.
My only complaint would be that the walls are paper thin. We could hear every little thing coming from the units beside us and we also had elevator noise because our bedroom window was right by the elevators. It was not much of an issue for us because they were not too busy. It will not keep us from returning to the resort. Overall I have nothing but good things to say. The staff was super nice & accomodating & the resort was like new. We had a wonderful time & we will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: I would recommend a 2 bedroom because they are all on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

I own two 1 bedroom units at tropic shores and have been coming here since I was a teenager. I love the location. The beach area is not too busy, the property is kept up very well, and they have activities daily for the kids. The rooms are large and comfortable with full kitchens and all units have ocean front balconies.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This resort hotel was great! It has been remodeled in the last few years and is very clean and well decorated. The kitchen has all the amenities to cook a family meal, in fact ours had almost the same stove as I have at home. The resort has a total of 80 1 and 2 bedroom condos that face out to a beautiful beach. There is a pool and hottub, excercise room, and activity room. The resort has daily activities and there are gas grills the guests can use and also the resort uses for barbeques for guests at a nominal fee. They offer guests use of umbrellas and chairs on the beach and computers in the hotel lobby. Staff works very hard here to make sure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable! We loved it all!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We own a 2 bedroom timeshare week at Tropic Shores Resort. They have units for rent as well as being a timeshare. This was our first time to actually stay at the place as we usually deposit & trade it in RCI. Were able to actually stay in our unit. The resort is not huge, being 11 floors with about 8 units per floor.
The furnishings looked fine to me. The linens were nice, bedspreads colorful & clean. Carpet is only in the bedrooms, and the rest is tile. Both bedrooms have queen beds that look fairly new. I could have used a foam egg crate pad to make it a bit softer, but most people would think the beds are fine. They could fit a king size bed in the master-barely. They need to think about doing that when next the beds are replaced. We did not use the sofa bed for sleeping, so can’t make any statement about it. It was okay to sit upon. Plenty of drawer space and closet hanging space. There is even a hall closet that is fitted with hanging space in case there are 6 people in the unit. Adequate dishes, glassware & cooking pans. The front desk has items to borrow, such as a non-stick skillet. The unit had 3 flat screen TVs. Also, there is plenty of light in the unit-both from windows & light bulbs (which actually have enough wattage to read by). Ceiling fans in LR & both bedrooms. They even thought to include a laundry basket!
The bathrooms are normal size & have exhaust fans. They provided toiletries daily. By the way-daily maid service (make beds, change towels, offered to mop the floor) for free (we did leave a tip).
The 2 bedroom units have 2 balconies, one on the ocean (with solid privacy wall between you and your neighbor) and a second off the master bedroom, which is on the side of the building but still has a view of the water. Both are respectable in size. Each has 2 chairs and a small end table. The balcony could use a smallish table that is high enough for eating. I think all units have ocean front balconies. The view is over a nice sandy beach that is driven on by cars at 10mph (the cars can park there too). Most folks seemed to obey the speed limit. There are beach patrols that cruise by frequently. There didn’t seem to be any problem between pedestrians & cars.
The internet is $20 for a week of hi-speed that was excellent. Ask the desk how to sign up online. The package of boogie boards, beach chairs, umbrellas & bicycles (ride on the beach) was a great deal for about $25 per unit-for a week! There were several days where one could sign up for some eats cooked on site at a reasonable price.
We didn’t hear any noise from our neighbors other than the slamming of the main door. They post signs that tell you that if the balcony doors are open, it will cause the front door to slam-loudly & with great force-you have to hold the door rather than let it close on its own.
Resort laundry room has 4 washers & 4 dryers in a small room with no chair or folding table. Not sure how they can fix that problem.
We did hear traffic noise from the main street which is at the front of the building. It wasn’t bad most of the time. The exception was Saturday & Sunday of our stay. We arrived at the tail end of Bike Week (motorcycles). Those folks’ machines are noisy enough to wake the dead-and the riders stay up late.
We didn’t take part in any of the resort activities, did our own thing. Went to Kennedy Space Center for a day-well worth the price if you have any interest in manned space flight. The new Shuttle Launch experience is a blast. Also drove to the Canaveral National Seashore-which is what the seacoast of Florida must have looked like 200+ years ago.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

As far as the room goes, it was ok. Room was a 1 bedroom/1bath. It was clean. Very dated decorations/furniture. Couch and bed were both very uncomfortable. As soon as you sat in the couch you sank down and your knees were higher then your legs. Bed was very rough to sleep on and was extremely noisy.

Walls in the rooms are paper thin. You can hear everything your neighbor says or does with total clarity. You can hear folks walking on floors above you, moving their balcony furniture on floors above you, and people talking in normal voices walking down the hallways everywhere.

As far as activities, I didn't attend any of them but they had a schedule clearly posted and it looked like they had stuff to do. In regards to that as well, they had karaoke on Wednesday night in the lobby. I was on the 4th floor and it was loud enough that I could clearly hear it as if I was down stairs with them. It was supposed to be over at 10PM and at 11:15PM it was still going loud as all get out. I went downstairs and complained and they said that they were ending it within a few minutes. I went back upstairs and 30 minutes later it is still going on. My wife called back at 11:50PM and they promised it would be over at midnight. They waited till exactly midnight and the music abruptly stopped so they waited till the very last second. We were leaving Thursday morning so the lack of sleep didn't help. Then in regards to the walls being thin, the folks next to us were apparently at karaoke as a few minutes later they came to their room and started yelling & talking till about 2AM.

Overall, the resort is in a great location but if it's that loud staying there during a slow season, I can't imagine staying there during a busy time. As someone else mentioned, one of their elevators is touchy and both of them don't feel very safe.

They do have widescreen LCD TV's in the living room but regular TV's in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropic Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Shores Resort

Address: 3111 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty lodging in Daytona Beach
Also Known As:
Tropic Shores Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tropic Shores Resort to your Saves list