We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ive ever stayed in Daytona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Tropical Manor to your Saves list
Tropical Manor
2237 S. Atlantic Ave., At Bonner Ave., Daytona Beach, FL   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$112 (USD)
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
McMinnville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best place ive ever stayed in Daytona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time at Tropical Manor. (June 28-July 7). Got to say its the cleanest hotel ive ever stayed at in Daytona and we stayed at the Hilton. What impressed me was how clean the outside of the hotel was. The sidewalks and walkways and stairs Were spotless. Our room#18 was very clean with new carpet but the bed was uncomfortable and pushed up against the air conditioner and it was so loud at times i couldnt sleep. And very cold up against it. Couldnt get out of bed on that side. Overall it was cozy. I loved the pool area. The wooden deck was awesome. We hung there all the time. Happy to say when we got home we booked for ten days next year. Got room #17 which was awesome. I checked it out while i was there. Looking forward to seeing the ladies from SC that we met. See you next year thanks for making my vacation awesome

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Tropical Manor during your trip to Daytona Beach. We and all of our staff, place a great emphasis on providing clean and comfortable guestrooms and unique and exceptionally well-maintained and landscaped public areas for our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our new wooden deck by the pool which we just completed at the beginning of the summer. We are planning to update Efficiency Studio #18 in the fall with a new sitting area and bedding which will provide more space and better positioning of the bed away from the air conditioner. All of our Efficiency Studios are especially popular in the fall when we have many couples stay with us for quick, beach getaways. We have a wide variety of affordable Efficiency Studios to choose from with different layouts and views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our extended family has come to Tropical Manor every summer for 32 years. Our kids grew up on this beach and now bring their spouses. The property is about 50 rooms and the owner lives on the top floor year round. She can be seen around the property daily. Many of the staff seem to have been there for 30 plus years.
Pros are the cleanliness and family friendly atmosphere. We see the same family groups every year and watch their kids grow up. There is occasional smoking and very little alcohol when we've been there, definitely not a party hotel. There is an upgrade or two every year. This year it was a handicap lift for the pool and improved wifi (we streamed netflix with no problem). Pool area is very nice and beach access is private although the beach area itself is moderately busy.
Cons are small, dated kitchens and location 2.5 miles from the boardwalk, no fitness center. Hotels next door have food (never eaten there) and IHOP is half a block away.
This is not a luxury resort/spa property, nor is it like an upscale condo. However, we have found it to be a great family vacation site. Orlando is less than 90 minutes, fishing from Sunglow pier is 10 minutes and charters from Ponce Inlet about 20 minutes (we like Rainbow Charters).St. Augustine is about an hour north. The beach is clean and very gently sloping which is ideal for kids.

Room Tip: Their website has good room descriptions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are thrilled to receive your lovely review of the Tropical Manor. It is extremely satisfying for us to have such loyal guests and are very proud that you choose to celebrate and vacation with your family each year at the Tropical Manor. Thank you for continuing your family tradition and including your children's spouses and grandchildren. We are glad that you appreciate the wholesome family-friendly atmosphere at the Tropical Manor. We are pleased that the Tropical Manor is located directly on the beach in Daytona Beach Shores, just 3 miles south of the Daytona Beach Boardwalk Entertainment Area. Our guests often comment that they like to be near the restaurants, shops, and attractions at the Daytona Beach Boardwalk and Ocean Walk Shoppes, but appreciate being away from the crowds and prefer the picturesque and peaceful ambiance at the Tropical Manor. We continue to strive to provide the very best wireless internet system possible and are constantly improving this service as we know it is important to our guests. We hope that you may consider our Private 2 Bedroom Apartments Across the Street from the Ocean along with other accommodations during your next visit to the Tropical Manor. We just updated these apartments at the end of May this year. These apartments have some of our very nicest kitchens. The kitchens in these apartments are spacious, bright, cheerful, and feature some brand new cabinets. We also added beautiful new tile, carpeting and very pretty beach-themed quilts to these rooms. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Tropical Manor and look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My family and I used to vacation here many times when I was a kid. This is my first stay here in nearly 30 years and the cleanliness and the friendliness is still as it has always been. We always had an ocean front when I was growing up. This time I had to watch the vacation budget and had a street view room. Despite that fact, the room was clean, comfortable and met my needs in terms of value. The location is excellent as there is a Winn Dixie, a gift shop and an IHOP just across the street.

Room Tip: The close location of the Winn Dixie is perfect for families or groups renting the efficiencies that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is now our 4th visit here and once again it did not dissapointed!! The motel is so friendly and it's spotless!! We had room 47 which is ocean front, the views are fantastic!! We have to travel 9 hours by aircraft from the uk to stay at this special place!! Thankyou tropical manor for a great stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

15 years ago they bulding more big hotel's and our older hotel closed, we must find an new place, not so big, and we found it in the book for small loging in South daytona, i made and booking and friend was first going to daytona and he checked the place it was wounderful.
He is goning now also every year to the tropical manor.

When we have the possibility we are going every year to this place,
From owners until the cleaninglady's (they are one big family) from the tropical do everthing to make an holiday you wil never forget.

When you are alone, old, young or with an big family with childeren you will like this place.
You become an part of the family from the Tropical Manor.

Specialy with all the decorations and the warmt of the staff, the sun is always shining at the tropical manor.
All the people that working at the tropical working there for so long time, there must be an very good atmosphere and they bring it over to the guests.

In the last 15 years it was not posible to found someting better.

Franc, Petra & Thomas (from the Netherlands)

Room Tip: When you book early they have some nice rooms with an nice sea view out of you bed !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Always wanted to go to Florida, It was May 1968.On our way to Florida. We had reservations at Tropical Manor. We were just overwhelmed with the sight of the ocean. When we walked through the breezeway and felt the ocean

breeze hit us it was a wonderful feeling. We stayed in the ocean front just in front of the pool.
Our son was 2 and he is 47 now. The owners twins were just about the age of our son. Those people were the kindest people in the whole world. All the visitors were just as friendly. The next year we went back about the same time of year and took my husbands father and mother. This being their first trip to Florida. They loved it just like we did. The next year my parents were our guest back to Tropical Manor, for their first visit. We have 2 sons and we took both of them to Florida the day after their graduation from High School. We have been there several years in a row back in the 60's and 70ies. Have only stayed two other places because there was no vacancies at those times. I will tell you now that is my favorite home away from home. I haven't gotten to go there for a FEW YEARS. I WILL TELL YOU NOW! If I ever get to go on another vacation it will be to Daytona Beach . Hoping I can get reservations at Tropical Manor. Never stayed anywhere I liked better. The Bewleys, then Louisville Ky. Now
we are in Brandenburg Ky., retired.

. Thanks Tropical manor for making our stays at your place a wonderful memory !!!!! We brought several other family members with us to Tropical Manor and all of them loved it too!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
It is such a joy to read your review! What a wonderful memory you have of your first trip to Florida and the Tropical Manor. It must have been an awesome experience to see the ocean when you first arrived. I'm one of the twins you mentioned in your review. My twin sister and I had such a fun time playing with all of our guests' children when we were growing up at the Tropical Manor. We were always so excited to welcome our new friends back each year. Thank you for bringing your parents and your husband's parents to the Tropical Manor as well. We are very pleased that you felt so comfortable staying at the Tropical Manor and feel that it is "your home away from home". My mother and I, and our entire staff, hope very much that you will be able to fit in a trip to Florida and the Tropical Manor soon. Please email us through our website and I will be exceptionally pleased to assist you in selecting your accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

‘A daytona beach shores address….”

‘From the moment you arrive...you will never leave again..”

‘A must see for any person that loves the ocean…..”


This is living on the beach! Go and fish off the pier,ride your bike on the beach, see the daytona speedway, enjoy swimming and scuba diving,many excellent restaurants and shops nearby, beautifull breathtaking sunrise and sunsets welcoms you to the ocean, and the Tropical Manor,which offers the best oceanfront living in Daytona,with direct ocean spectacular views.

Enjoy spectacular unobstructed views reaching from daytona beach to the north and ponce inlet to the south from your oceanfront balcony.

Tropical Manor offers its own concierge, maintenance staff, security, great house keeping, privat parking, washer and dryer,awesome pool with large sunning deck. In the spring, summer, fall and winter you can enjoy grilling on the existing grill under the covered gazebo picnic table area, located right by the beachfront heated pool. Rooms are spacious, very tastefully decorated and clean , with fully-equipped kitchens with refrigerator, stove with oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker and cooking utensils, dishes and glassware etc.

Room amenities include cable TV, Wireless Internet access in your own room.It will make you feel right at home but away from home.

This is the perfect place for the whole family vacation.Sóóóó relaxed…

Imagine walks on the sparkling beach in the morning, soothing sound of the ocean waves in your face, the tranquility of living at this beautiful place just imagine….

Quality is the word of your vacation!

Come and enjoy the easy fun beach lifestyle here at The Tropical Manor, just walk in and be blown away by the gorgeous ocean views.Be sure to bring your camera !


“ It’s all yours to discover.”

And I do love it every day ,very much….

Harold ( dutch made..'))

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We are so exceptionally pleased to welcome our European guests. We have several wonderful European guests who stay with us each year from Holland and Germany. It is always very exciting for our entire staff to welcome them back. Our European guests really appreciate the unique layout of our property, the great variety of affordable room choices, and the warm, personalized service we provide. Poolside Oceanfront Efficiency Studio #20 is extremely popular with our European guests who enjoy this room's unbeatable location just next to our pool, its wonderful, direct oceanfront view, and its spacious layout and hand-painted murals. Our Charming Garden View Cottages are also a favorite of our European couples and families who really like the separate bedroom and the Private Garden View Patios. If you are just making a short visit to Daytona Beach and are on a tight budget, Efficiency Studios 18 and 19 are a particularly good choice. These rooms which have a street view are colorful and cozy and Very Affordably Priced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Manor

Address: 2237 S. Atlantic Ave., At Bonner Ave., Daytona Beach, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#35 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, award-winning small ocean-front inn. Spacious 1,2,3 bedroom suites, delightful cottages, & very economical studios & value rooms. Lush tropical landscaping. Colorful hand-painted artwork. Romantic tropical ambiance. Large heated ocean-front pool & kiddie pool. Ocean-front guest BBQ area. Shuffleboard court. Free high-speed wireless internet in guestrooms. Great choice for families. Family owned & operated. AAA & superior small lodging approved. Special discounted weekly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Tropical Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Manor Hotel Daytona Beach
Tropical Manor Daytona Beach
Tropical Manor Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.