We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Ocean Club Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Ocean Club Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   640 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Columbia, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Elevators were SSSLLLOOOWWWWW!!! Real musty smell. I don't know if something died on the 5th floor or what! Could't go out on balcony - too many flying black bugs! Sheets were itchy. Was just there for a family reunion - I wish I would have checked out like my cousins did and went next door. View was not great either from my room.

The entire hotel needs a COMPLETE makeover.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    184
    132
    71
    93
See reviews for
219
198
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I loved the stay very much. A great location on the oceanfront with restaurants and places to see. Warren Londono provided us with excellent service. We would come back and recommend to anyone, who would want to experience a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

After reading very mixed reviews we decided to find out for ourselves and, are we glad we did. The staff was exceptionally pleasant and professional. Our large room on the 11th flood with an "ocean view" was much better than expected (very clean and with modern decor). I'm not sure an "ocean front" would have been any better than our "ocean view." Their restaurant, Atlantic Jack's, was a great place for a good, reasonably priced breakfast. Our server Dawn certainly added to our enjoyment. Our Wifi was fine both in our room and out at the pool. Their beach, unlike some earlier comments, was very nice and most enloyable. Our only complaint was the loud fan in the bathroom which could not be turned off if you had the light on. We would definitely come again and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 11th floor and you will get a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinson, Alabama
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I agree with most here, that the staff at the hotel are great people. The fact that I had to pay for parking in a lot that was open to the public, was ridiculous. Also, the public is allowed to use the pool, but again, I paid for it, and couldn't use it because of all the people who parked on the beach, for FREE, and walked in the gate. The Wi-Fi was totally unusable the whole time, so forget about trying to use it for looking up places to eat or anything. The area around the hotel was terrible for anyone trying to enjoy a beach trip, so I really feel bad that the POC is located where it is, but hey...if you want to stay in the hotel and not do anything else, the rooms are good, the restaurant is okay, and the bar does a good job. Kudos to the staff though...they are good folks.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor, but with the amount of college kids in Daytona, I'd say stay away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I run a charity golf tournament every May and have approx 30 people come in from all over the U.S. and Canada to play in it. This year we stayed at the Plaza Ocean Club and it was great! First off, POCs group sales coordinator, Brittney, is a gem to work with. There were zero issues setting up the trip and everything went smooth as silk at check-in, thanks to Ashley and the rest of the front desk crew. Our room was great, as was everyone's from what I was told. The pool & pool deck was outstanding, the bar & restaurant was used a lot and loved by all. Housekeeping was top shelf!! See ya next year!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My company has been using this hotel for several years now. We have an annual trip in Daytona Beach. The POC (Plaza Ocean Club) is our main hotel. We love all of the staff. Very friendly and welcoming every year ! Tabitha, Don, Kieth, Ansley all amazing. And all the others.
From Liv @ Breakaway Tours

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

DO NOT stay at this hotel, unless you prefer to sleep with roaches and god knows what else. Had a long flight to Florida from Chicago and waited at MCO for my sister and 2 kids to arrive from Puerto Rico. Then an hour and half drive into Daytona. I had advised the hotel that we would be arriving very very late. We unloaded all bags and (2) very tired kids (2 & 4yrs). We get into our rooms and when turning the lights on, roaches, not 1, but several, scattered all over!! Needless to say we got out of these rooms faster than ever! We informed the Manager that we would NOT be staying and told him why. We booked a hotel at the Hyatt that night after many tries (convention was in town). when I got back and called Orbitz.com, they totally agreed with me that I should get a full refund, but the hotel was not having it! They said that because we checked in late, we would have to pay for a 1 night stay per room. Unacceptable!! The roaches would have still been there regardless!!! They are still refusing to give us our entire money back, so thank GOD for American Express Platimum. They will now dispute the matter with orbitz and the hotel! Horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Ocean Club Hotel

Address: 640 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Ocean Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on "The World's Most Famous Beach," this soothing Daytona Beach oceanfront hotel features beautifully appointed oceanview and riverview rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Plaza Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Ocean Hotel
Plaza Ocean Resort
Plaza Ocean Club Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Ocean Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.