We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Ocean Club Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Ocean Club Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   640 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Portland, Maine
1 review
“Do not stay here!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Checking in started our disappointments. The man behind the counter didn't seem like he wanted to help us. Lacked customer service skills and was extremely scattered and unorganized. The " surprise fees "at this place are ridiculous considering how much we paid to stay here. They surprised us with parking fees of 90 plus dollars and a safe fee. Which was good because in previous reviews reported stolen property. Perhaps background checks on their employees would help. Upon arrival at 1 am Our key didn't work and took them almost 2 days to do something about it. When we entered our room it reeked of cigarettes although we had a non smoking room. Which was fantasic because I have asthma and couldn't breathe. The bathroom was filthy. The breakfast was disgusting and overpriced. I don't think anyone wants texas toast with bugs flying in the container. The only good thing about this place is the location. I have stayed in cheaper places that were so much cleaner and maintained better.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, General Manager at Plaza Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I am so sorry to hear you were disappointed from the start. I am surprised to see you were uniformed about our daily resort fee as it is posted on all websites and included in the total amount quoted when booking directly with the hotel.
I do hope we were able to resolve your concerns regarding your guest room as we are a non-smoking facility.
Thank you for sharing your comments and hope you will give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,
Keith Dunker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    153
    115
    59
    79
See reviews for
183
173
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have stayed here several times over the last few years. I said the time before this I would never give them another chance because of the condition of the rooms, they have improved on that but there was one very unprofessional and rude staff member that ruined it this time and I will never stay there again. I did talk to Hope at the front desk about the interaction with this one staff member and she agreed to credit my resort fees for one night but did not, also that the general manager would contact me which also did not happen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, General Manager at Plaza Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
I will address your comments with all members of our team, though I am a bit concerned with this review as the mentioned name is not an employee of The Plaza Ocean Club.
Please accept my sincere apologies if you were treated anything but excellent during your stay.

Sincerely,
Keith Dunker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, WV
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I went to this hotel on business December 26-29, 2013. The property was extremely attractively priced, as were most hotels in Daytona. The rate was 95 plus another 17.00 resort fee. Room was large, extremely clean, decent ocean view. Maid service was good, valet parking and wifi included in the rate, outdoor pool was open and nice and warm. For reasons I won't disclose, I left a lot of clothes behind when I left the hotel, and they found those and secured them for me and shipped them back. Overall I was very pleased with this place and would go back. I paid a comfort-inn type rate for a much better room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed 4 nights. Fido was welcomed. Our room was spacious, bright, clean and incredibly comfortable. On New Year's Eve we watched the Pier fireworks from our balcony. A great hotel for the price. A particular thanks to Front Desker Desirae. She was incredible in recommending places to eat, see and take the dog for walks. Be forewarned one and all that DOGS ARE NOT ALLOWED ON BEACHES OF DAYTONA - Period!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I almost didn't book this hotel because of the photo's and reviews on here about this place. But, I figured I'd give it a shot and we are so glad we did! We stayed in room 701, an oceanfront suite and it was awesome! We had two queen beds, a pull out couch (that I have to say, was horrible and nothing but springs, we had to cover the bottom with several folded up blankets to make it ok), a little kitchen with it's own door to the walk around balcony, a nice bath, two closets, wifi. We got the turn off the a/c and sleep with both doors wide open and sleep to the sound of the ocean as the unit is totally private with no other balconies attached!

Yes, the hotel does seem to be an older one, but hey so am I. We saw no dirt and certainly no bugs (which if you are from FL, you know this is almost impossible to control, especially in a hotel where, let's face it, people are usually very disrespectful of the property).

We found the grounds beautiful, especially the pool. Yes, parking could be a problem in the summer as it's limited, but we had no troubles.

The hotel is pet friendly, which is another reason why I was thinking of not coming here, but you never would have known it. No smells, no hair, nothing.

Overall, we were very happy and had a great time. We plan on coming back in the summer!

Room Tip: For a few extra dollars, I'd definitely, go for the oceanfront room with it's totally privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was my second trip to Daytona and both times, I've stayed here. The service is OUTSTANDING! They were able to recommend great spots to eat, and visit that are off the tourist trail. The bartenders are friendly and we really enjoyed the pool area. Direct access to the beach from the pool area was great as well. It's a central location, and you're walking distance to EVERYTHING.

P.S. Did I mention that they have GREAT SERVICE!!!!??

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELAND
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great value! Spent two nights and had a great time. Close to everything. Will stay again for a future trip. Got some free entertainment from some kids from a tteen church group doing hand stands in the hallway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Ocean Club Hotel

Address: 640 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Ocean Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on "The World's Most Famous Beach," this soothing Daytona Beach oceanfront hotel features beautifully appointed oceanview and riverview rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Ocean Hotel
Plaza Ocean Resort
Plaza Ocean Club Hotel Daytona Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Ocean Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.