We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, great value for money, ideal for walkers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lantern Pike Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lantern Pike Inn to your Saves list
Lantern Pike Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Glossop Road, Little Hayfield, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2NG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Preston
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great hosts, great value for money, ideal for walkers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights 18/20 November on a KGB deal, which was excellent value for money. Easy to locate and plenty parking on site for the five rooms.
Traditional `pub with rooms` in small village. Room was on the small side (`Mam Tor`) but had everything one would need...bath and shower, tv, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer etc etc. clean and comfortable. Hosts are really, really, nice people and have a great manner, making one immediately feel at home.
Ate in both nights and enjoyed wholesome cooking and generous proportions, served in bar or adjoining dining area. Wood fire creates a nice atmosphere and newspapers are available at weekends.
Breakfast ordered the night before, cooked fresh to order and perfectly adequate. Juice and cerials available and endless tea/coffee/toast as required.
Ordered packed lunches as we were out walking all day and they were excellent and very very reasonably priced.A real bonus.
Fantastic door to door walking on a circular 6 hour route up Kinder, which was excellent (we did have a sunny day with a chill wind, which helped!). Views were excellent and we barely had to walk on a road.
On homeward journey we visited Chatsworth House, about half an hour away, and enjoyed the Xmas market which is on for a couple of weeks in mid-November each year. House a little disappointing for the money, but location and grounds magnificent.
A great place for a short break...try it!!

Room Tip: Did not see any other rooms, but suggest a room at the back away from traffic noise (not a major pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Manager at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    14
    14
    7
See reviews for
15
70
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springboro, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very disappointing....we found this hotel very tired looking and in need of updates. There may have been nicer rooms but ours was very small & cramped...needed three keys to just get in the room! And for what?! The bar may be described as cozy but I would describe it as smelly, so much that we were put off actually eating there....maybe it's because it's old? Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guest, sorry you were disappointed, as you say the interior was due a decoration and last week the whole of the ground floor was decorated.
With regards to your room, the pub is a converted 18th Century farmhouse, it’s an old building, but to give you some perspective, it was built well before the American War of Independence and whilst the pub lacks the dull, and soulless banality of a chain hotel we make up in character.
Descriptions of each room can be easily found on our website enabling people to make informed choices. The descriptions are accurate (endorsed by a recent hotel inspectors report). If people don’t read what’s in front of them ………….
Three keys to get to your room ???? it’s a pub not a hotel, when the pub is closed residents have their own entrance, three keys – hardly an issue is it?
Wouldn’t have you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This pub is cosy with good beer and an open fire which gives it a welcoming atmosphere. The landlady was a friendly host and quite attentive in serving our food order. The food quality was really good, better than the usual pub, and reasonably priced. A must for future visits to the Hayfield area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for those kind words of appreciation. Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed on a two-night KGB deal which included a two course meal.The pub is cosy with great beer and an open fire which,with the hosts' attentiveness gives the pub a welcoming and warm atmosphere. The food was great,if, for us at least a little pricey, but as we enjoyed our "free" meal so much we ate there the second night too and weren't disappointed.The breakfast too was superb and efficiently served.
The room was small but clean and adequate, though a "larger " person might have trouble with the space available for the toilet! There are lots of activities most nights in the pub itself which again give the Lantern Pike its character.
The area surrounding is extremely attactive and we managed walks up to Kinder Scout and the Mam Tor ridge overlooking Castleton, despite the weather. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for those kind words of appreciation. Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights last week. The rooms were very clean, although small. We didn't mind the rooms being small as we were out most of the time and only spent an hour or two each day in the room.
The landlord and landlady were very pleasant and friendly, the breakfasts couldn't have been better, in fact they were perfect. We ate in one night at the Lantern Pike, the food was alright but there wasn't too much on the menu that I really fancied. Some of the reviews mentioned the loud music in the evenings. There was no loud music during our stay and we sat in the bar in the evening with a bottle of wine, in fact the music when they did play it was rather quiet and just the right volume.
Overall, worth staying here if you fancy a couple of nights in the peak district.

Room Tip: We were in a room around the back so didn't here any noise from the front where the road is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for those kind words of appreciation. Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lantern Pike Inn for two nights on a mountain biking weekend. From the off Stella and Tom made us most welcome in a lovely traditional country pub. Our rooms were spotless and we ate on the first night the food was great. Breakfast was spot on too. But our stay was great due to how Stella looked after us she couldn't do more ! If you want to visit the Peak District I would recommend the Lantern Pike Inn without hesitation !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for those kind words of appreciation. Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on a good value KGB deal at this cosy old pub. Our room was clean and comfy though rather small, it was quiet although overlooking the main road, thanks to double glazing,but unfortunately there was no signal for the TV. The bathroom was clean and well equipped but the toilet space was very narrow, not suitable for a large person. Breakfast was good, well cooked and plentiful. Quite a large range of evening meals on the menu which were nice if slightly over priced. The bar was cosy and quaint with an open fire, sadly only 2 real ales available which reduced to 1 on our second night. The landlady was pleasant and informative about walks and the local area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for those kind words of appreciation. And just for the record - the TV ariels have now been fixed. Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lantern Pike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Pike Inn

Address: Glossop Road, Little Hayfield, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield > Little Hayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Hayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Pike Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Peak District National Park, this delightful Inn dates back to the building of the turnpike from Old Glossop to Buxton in 1792. Today, the resident owners extend a warm welcome to all who visit their country hostelry, good food, a well balanced Wine Menu, well kept real ales and comfortable bedrooms. Ideally situated for great walking or touring. We are Hayfield's ONLY main entry in the Good Pub Guide 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lantern Pike Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Pike Hotel Little Hayfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lantern Pike Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.