We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“country inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lantern Pike Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lantern Pike Inn to your Saves list
Lantern Pike Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Glossop Road, Little Hayfield, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2NG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
grantham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“country inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

a very welcoming inn set in the peak district, food very good, the breakfast was excellent after a comfortable night sleep, we had a twin room with a brand new shower room. after a 2 night stay I didn't want to come home, the proprieters were very friendly and helpful.,we were unfortunate with the weather but the coal fire in the lounge made up for that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for those kind words of appreciation. Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    35
    14
    14
    7
See reviews for
15
70
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a two night stay at the Lantern Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The rooms are simple, clean and the beds comfortable. The food is delicious, so good that we ate at the Inn both nights. The breakfast choice isn't extensive, but the food is freshly cooked to order. Tom and Stella are delightful people and excellent publicans. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Stella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We went here based on the fact this pub was a main entry in the Good Pub Guide. We've used the guide for many years and it's normally spot on.
I really can't see how or why this pub has made it to be honest.
The food was basic and not at all inspiring. The interior looks tired and dated and the loos leave a bit to be desired. We ended up having our meal with the speakers blaring out and found that very off putting.
We found the landlord to be surly and not at all friendly.
There are far nicer places nearby that are more worthy of a place in the guide.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Our pub is a traditional pub and bears little resemblance to one of these modern chain pubs and wholeheartedly accept that our pub isn’t to everybody’s liking, but then modern pubs are also not everybody’s taste either. It just goes to show that in the hospitality trade there is no such thing as one size fits all! With regards to the “blaring speakers”, as I have stated many times, please let us know and we have turned them down, it would not have been a problem. You say the loos t “leave a bit to be desired”. With the gents, I would tend to agree, happily they are planned to be refurbished early spring next year, however, they are clean and well maintained. On the other hand, the ladies toilets are in very good condition, in fact we get complimented on our ladies toilets at least once per month so I don’t where you get the idea that the ladies “leave a bit to be desired”, I suppose it’s just another case of you can’t please everybody all of the time. Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My sister and I stayed here recently for one night.
As a B&B we were happy with our experience. Our room was small but adequate and very clean and comfortable. The room was located at the front of the property, therefore on the main road, however with the windows closed you could not here any noise from traffic. Breakfast was delicious and staff were very pleasant and welcoming.
We also ate here in the evening for convenience. Again staff were very pleasant and polite. Our food was not bad but I wouldn't describe it as special - I had simple gammon and chips which was OK, though could be better with home-made chips. My sister had the chicken and mushroom pasta which was not to her nor my personal taste.
As a B&B I would recommend to people wanting to stay in the area for a good price, however I would probably choose to eat elsewhere in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. However, I am sorry that on this occassion the food wasn't to your liking, we would always encourage diners to make their views known at the time, for instance we always carry out a 'table check' three minutes (or so) after being served their meal, if there is anything amis it at least gives us an opportunuty to put things right, we could have swapped your meal for something else? On the basis of one meal I think it is grossly unfair and inapproprite to suggest to other readers/diners to eat elsewhere. Perhaps you would like to re-think your last statement. Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The staff at the pub were welcoming, helpful and thoughtful throughout our stay without being intrusive. the food was good basic pub grub (£10-£15 for a main and £4 for starters and pud), but with a chef who knows his sauces which put it a notch above the norm. The rooms are small but it's a country pub so what would one expect? I am 6'2" and not a small slender build and the room was more than adequate. It was clean and comfortable with thought having gone into the layout making the room function well. There are walks of almost any length on your front door through picturesque countryside. I met a cheerful local guide in the bar which was a bonus :)

Most importantly the Landlord keeps a very good cellar, the Tim Taylors was excellent and the guest beer most enjoyable well worth a jar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Tahnk you so much for your kind words of appreciation. tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

we stayed here for two nights on a kgb voucher deal with our 5 year old too. Our room was a little small but seeing as we were only going to sleep in it and has a pub to sit in, it was perfectly adequate for the three of us. The pub is in a lovely location on a main road, so yes there is traffic but what do you expect!

The food was great and well priced. lovely and flavoursome, think some people are forgetting its a pub and not a michelin starred restaurant....waitresses were quick and friendly too. cooked breakfast cooked to perfection and right on time.

we will be coming back and would be happy to pay full price too.

Nice friendly traditional pub, run by friendly people with great food

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Lantern Pike Inn as part of a KGB deal earlier this month. There was a rather distinct odour throughout the Inn which eminated up to the room which was a little off-putting. However, the room was clean which I am always particular about, just in need of updating. Traffic was an issue as that's all that could be heard - all night!! The food was okay, although slightly disappointing.
Owner Stella is lovely and accommodating. Beer garden was a pleasure to sit in!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Sorry to hear you thought there was an odour throughout the pub, no one else has mentioned it and as you say the everywhere is clean. We regards to the traffic noise, yes we are situated on a main road but we do have double glazing so the noise in minimised and if guests normally live on a quiet road I can see how this could be off-putting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lantern Pike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Pike Inn

Address: Glossop Road, Little Hayfield, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield > Little Hayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Hayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Pike Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Peak District National Park, this delightful Inn dates back to the building of the turnpike from Old Glossop to Buxton in 1792. Today, the resident owners extend a warm welcome to all who visit their country hostelry, good food, a well balanced Wine Menu, well kept real ales and comfortable bedrooms. Ideally situated for great walking or touring. We are Hayfield's ONLY main entry in the Good Pub Guide 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lantern Pike Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Pike Hotel Little Hayfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lantern Pike Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.