We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We never stop enjoying this fabulous place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Gardens

Flamingo Gardens
3750 S. Flamingo Road, Davie, FL 33330
954-473-2955
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$18*
and up
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Davie
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We never stop enjoying this fabulous place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It doesn't matter what time of year, Flamingo Gardens is always brilliant and brimming with new flowers and exhibits…On a hot summer morning the kids fed the Ibises and Flamingos as well as the Peacocks…the flowers of summer were beautiful and colorful and visiting the Wray's 'Summer' Home was special…they turned orange groves into one of the loveliest Botanical Gardens as well as a home for many rescue animals and local fauna…enjoy! Very family friendly

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia P, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Gardens, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for being such a loyal visitor and for taking the time to write such a good review on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again many more times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    124
    38
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wildlife Sanctuary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I had a fantastic day at Flamingo Gardens! After a walk through the Hawk Walk and the Eagle Expressway we watched the Wildlife Encounter Show - unlike other shows of this type the animals alternate and, like all the animals in the sanctuary, they have been rescued and could not be reintroduced into the wild for one reason or another. The ranger explains how the four animals we see came to live in the sanctuary and why they must stay there. He also tells us a bit about the animal and why they in particular are in the show.

My favourite part of the sanctuary was the free-flight aviary, where we were able to walk amongst the birds who were not scared of us in the slightest. We were able to buy some bird food from machines that are dotted around the park and feed the birds too.

The Flamingo Lagoon was excellent and the flamingos walked right over to us to see if we had any food for them. There are also other animals in large enclosures that cannot be released into the wild either such as alligators, Florida bobcats, Florida panthers and a black bear.

If you visit make sure to pass the otter pond, as Fast Eddie is hilarious to watch! I took hundreds of photos of him playing, sliding down the slide into the pond and diving into the water!

Can't wait to go back! I have a travel blog of my trip at: http://adventuresofgg.com/2014/05/30/flamingo-gardens

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia P, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Gardens, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for visiting and for recognizing the hard work our staff does to make everyone's visit a memorable one. We are so glad that you had such a good time and hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have passed this place many times and I finally went in. Its under construction but by what they have fixed up; beautiful. Great place to enjoy what nature brought us and value it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia P, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Gardens, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for visiting Flamingo Gardens and for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pretty cool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This place is very cool, peaceful, inexpensive, and beautiful. I really enjoyed seeing all of the animals roaming around!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia P, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Gardens, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to write such a nice review on TripAdviser. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I had driven by this place many times and never stopped. My wife and kids went without me one day and came back with great reviews. I had to see for myself and I am glad i did. Great history in a peaceful and beautiful setting. The kids love the place and they always have special events going on. We liked it so much we bought the family membership passes if you like being outdoors you should give a try. On a side note, they make some great smoothies!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia P, Public Relations Manager at Flamingo Gardens, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for visiting and for becoming a member. We are very grateful to all who support us with a membership and we hope to see you many times during the year. Enjoy all the special events and get the most out of your membership. Welcome to the Flamingo Gardens family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flamingo Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Flamingo Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.