We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Should be Torn Down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7550 State Road 84, Davie, FL 33317 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Fort Lauderdale - Plantation)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Davie
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
1 review
“This Place Should be Torn Down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This location is worn, torn , dirty and smelly.. The furniture dates back to the early 1980's , the carpet is filthy and stained just like the linens.. The water was coming out of the faucet yellow..
I travel often and have never stayed at a dump like this ever...
Save your money and sleep in your car!!

Room Tip: don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Homestead Studio Suites Davie, The experience you describe is truly regrettable. We strive to give that “Home away from home” feeling and judging by your experience, we have failed at that mission. On a positive note, we will be undergoing a complete renovation in the coming months and we will be replacing furnishings, bedding, and carpeting. We are well aware that are customers expect only but the best when they travel to one of our facilities and we want to make your visit with us unforgettable. I am formally inviting you to come and stay with us in the future if your travels bring you back to the City of Davie so you can experience the difference for yourself. Once again, I am truly sorry and I thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you here again in the near future. Should you ever have any concerns, please email me at ptn@extendedstay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    16
    13
    22
See reviews for
21
11
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is one the worst places I have stayed at. I'm really not picky and can handle anything. However, the room was dirty. Bathroom was dirty and the toilet was broken. The water would not stop running and making noise. Even after I reported the issue I was told they didn't have anyone that evening to fix it and all the other rooms were already reserved. They promised to fix it the following day which was not done either. I complained to the manager, Yeseina Vila, but she only promised to have it corrected. I left the hotel with a bad experience and tried to resolve the issue later on, but the management promised to investigate it and give a call back. Even after 3 weeks I still have not received the call back.
I would not recommend anyone stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms smell. The toilet was broken and made loud noise as it the water would not stop running.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I recently received a copy of your reply regarding our amenities. Upon receipt of your toilet constantly running, the Guest Service Agent on duty immediately dispatched our weekend Maintenance Engineer to check and repair the issue. We are constantly inspecting every room to make sure that our facility meets and exceeds standards to which we pride ourselves in providing for our guest. I truly apologize that you did not have an enjoyable stay at our hotel. Please give me a call if you happen to be in the area so I can personally assist you with your accommodations, my email address is ptn@extendedstay.com I promise that we are focused on guest satisfaction every day, please do not hesitate to contact me whenever you wish to return to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The bed was hard as a rock ! Pillows flat! Ask for another pillow said didn't have.. I felt like bugs were butting itched all night! Uuuug .. Just terrible!!! I cancel my next night and ended my trip early.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not a pleasant one. To prevent this from happening again, my team is keeping extra pillows at the front desk to be given out upon request, we continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate your response. I invite you to contact me at ptn@extendedstay.com. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thank you for staying at our property and I hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

The location was beautiful. Everything we needed was right in the area - dining, shopping, beach. It was perfect. When I arrived, there were no double bed occupancy rooms available, but the Thomas, the attendant, called me while I was out, and found me a room with king size bed and a pull out sofa. He went out of his way to make us comfortable. We truly appreciated his hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property. I’m so pleased to hear that our staff went out of their way to accommodate your needs. It is our job to make your stay with us as pleasant as possible and excellent customer service is what we specialize on. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to seeing you again should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I found the staff to be friendly and the amenities typical of a Homestead Studio. The location was a short drive (or walk if you like to walk) to a wide variery of restaurants and stores. This is certainly not the best long-term studio-type hotel I have stayed at, however I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. It’s great to hear that even though we are not a full service hotel, we still provide the same quality of customer service that a 5 star hotel would. Thank you so much for your survey and I hope you see you in the future at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a suites hotel in drastic need of an update as well as new management. TVs are old with a very poor selection of channels. The suite type of hotel with their kitchenettes typically provide you with a basic cooking and eating supply of pans and dishes. Not here. No pots and pans period. Minor supply of eating utensils etc. Microwave, toaster and side of refrigerator absolutely filthy. Beds old and uncomfortable (hard). Parking is out of control with rooms having multiple guests all having vehicles. Some staff however are or try to be most helpful

Room Tip: Aren't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I received a copy of your survey response regarding your experience at the Homestead Studio Suites in Ft. Lauderdale Plantation. I do appreciate the opportunity to respond to your concerns regarding our channel lineup and I am deeply sorry that we were not able to suit your preference. Although I regret not being able to accommodate your viewing preference, I hope that my explanations on this site can help others know what to expect at our hotel. Our cable television consist of Showtime, Showtime 2, CNN, CNN headline news, Cartoon Network, ABC, CBS,FOX,NBC,PBS, Oxygen, USA, Discovery, ESPN, ESPN2, ESPN News, ESPN Classic, ESPN U, Weather Channel, WTBS, TNT, Fox News.

Please know that your comments are very useful to us as we work to offer the best television channels for our guest. Every one of our rooms comes well-equipped with pots and pans which are located on the cabinet in front of the refrigerator. During the coming months, our hotel will undergo mayor changes in order to maintain our level of standard to our guest, we will be upgrading our look and appeal so we can exceed and maintain the level of service that our guest expects from our chain. I invite you to visit us again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to give me a call or send me an email should you ever plan to visit our area again. My email address is ptn@extendedstay.com again, thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

You cannot beat the price of Homestead for what you get in Ft. Lauderdale.

I've stayed here both times I've been down to this area (in the last year) and I plan to stay here again my next trip. For some context, I travel for extended weekends a few times a year at a nearby university.

I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a clean and affordable place to stay. The rooms have everything you need for a short or long stay, including: a full kitchen and free wi-fi. The location is even within walking distance of a Cotsco.

The noise got a little loud at night on the weekend, but that's my only major complaint.

The only other issue I had was there was some confusion about the room rate I had reserved online a few months in advance, but I had a copy of my reservation receipt and everything was quickly sorted out in my favor.

I hope this review helps someone out that plans on traveling to Ft. Lauderdale in the future.

Room Tip: Out of my two stays, the second floor seemed to be quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen R, Manager at Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I would like to personally Thank you for providing such wonderful comments about your stay at the Homestead Studio Suites in Ft. Lauderdale Plantation. Our hotels are committed to providing the best stay and the best customer service you won’t find anywhere else. I take great pride in knowing that we are far exceeding our customers’ expectations and I am very pleased to hear that your stay was exceptional. Please let us know when you will return to the area, we’d love to see you here again. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie

Address: 7550 State Road 84, Davie, FL 33317 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Fort Lauderdale - Plantation)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Davie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Davie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Fort Lauderdale - Plantation Hotel Davie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Davie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.