We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, Beautiful Resort-Loved it!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahama Bay Resort Orlando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bahama Bay Resort Orlando to your Saves list
Bahama Bay Resort Orlando
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   400 Gran Bahama Boulevard, 209 rum run, Davenport, FL 33897   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
harriston, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Immaculate, Beautiful Resort-Loved it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

The Bahama Bay Resort on Lake Davenport is certainly well worth a visit. We were a very large group, so we rented two Gran Bahama Condo's directly from a private owner- Jason Moores. Our children's ages were from 6 yrs old to 14.Sometimes pictures on the web are deceiving,,,NOT in this case. It was everything we expected and more. The condo's were so clean,well equipped, and extremely spacious. We had total of 3 balconies. The washrooms were awesome!! The resort is situated just of Hwy 27, so it only took about 15-20 minutes to get to Disney parks. Public shopping about 5 minutes from resort. The pool area was lovely as well with jacuzzi. Mambo's was a bar/restaurant in main building and had great pizza amongst other things, like delightful cocktails!! Found the staff very friendly and accomodating. Down by the lake there is a dock where you can fish. Resort rents fishing poles, but they have very few - only negative thing. The tradewinds dining restaurant is located down by the lake. I think it was the best Rib Eye steak I have ever eaten!!! . Handy discount ticket centre at front desk for buying Disney tickets - good prices! It was nice to make the drive away from Disney and relax in these beautiful surroundings. Apparently there is a shuttle, but it was kind of inconvenient from what I could figure out.
I found myself standing on the balcony just admiring the entire resort. At night we could even see the fireworks from some of the Disney parks. The only negative about the stay was that the outdoor pools at each "village" closed at 7:30pm. Would have loved to go out when kids were asleep to have a dip, but, other than that our stay was fabulous. Jason and Marlena Moores were great to deal with. Check out their website at www.go2bahamabay.com and you won't be disappointed.
Meg ,,,,Ontario, Canada

  • Liked — The amount of space and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — Outdoor pools were closed at 7:30pm
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    455
    166
    112
    78
See reviews for
1,136
168
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

Just to let you know that my family and I just returned from Bahama Bay April 17th. We booked through [---] and I can tell you personally that it was flawless. The accommodation were more than we imagined, providing us with all we required and so much more. Everything we could possibly need was included in the villa. From a high chair to a play pen. We rented a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom villa which could sleep 6 no problem. We visited Disney 4 times and it is exactly 17 minutes away. There is a Publix market 2 minutes south on the US27. A Super Walmart just north on the US27 has everything. On the 192, which is 2 minutes away, you can dine at a different restaurant everyday during your stay and still not come close to sampling them all. The driving instructions and map sent by the web site owners above were exact. Finally and most important, there were no hidden costs associated with renting the villa. I look forward to booking with them again.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

We arrived at Bahama Bay after a nine hour flight with our two young children. We were expecting a 4* resort. The apartment was extreamly grubby and worn. Having previously stayed at 4* accomodation on other trips to Florida this simply did not compare. The cream (I think it was anyhow!!!) carpet was disgustingly dirty and covered in stains. While the bathrooms were generally clean the skirting boards were centimeteres thick in dirt and dust.

On our first morning we went to Tradewinds for breakfast - it was still closed at 8.20am when it was advertised as opening at 8am!!! Our children were looking around the beach area when we were told by maintainance staff that the lake area was over run with snakes and not to let our children near!!!!!!!!! No signs were advertising this fact though!!!!!!!

If anyone reading this is tempted to eat at Tradewinds then DONT!! The staff are abrupt bordering on rude. Our entrees arrived at the same time as the appitisers and were just dumped on the table along with them. The steak we ordered tasted like liver and the "garlic mash" most definately came from a packet - i doubt it had ever seen a potato in its life!!

I wouldn't stay here again as I feel it is trading on its reputation as a 4* resort and is quite honestly no more than 3*.

  • Liked — Easy parking near to condo
  • Disliked — Tradewinds restaurant
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

Our family stayed here from the 02/04 until the 14/04 in building 5 on the top floor. The resort was fantasic & worth the extra drive. When we arrived we were given a condo next to the air conditioning units, but asked to move due to the noise from the units. I don't think this would be a problem if you a use to aircondtioning but coming from England ... what more can a say. This was no problem with reception & they upgraded us at no extra cost.

All the staff were very friendly even down to the security people who were always very polite & helpful.

We had breakfast a few mornings in the hotel & its very good value for money.

Just one word of warning re I192 do not but any electical goods from the stores as we were seriously ripped off & had to call the police, as the shop owner was being very abusive & rude. We didn't realise that this is a known fact & would never have brought anything if we had. My advise is if you want to buy a camcord or camera buy from an authorised dealer, its a shame about this one instance as it ruined the end of our holiday & I don't think we will be going back to Orlando as it was very upsetting experience. Its our own fault as we should have done move research prior to looking for a new camcord, but I just wanted to warn other people.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

Booked this after reading and researching the Orlando area. We stayed March 30 thru April 4. The reviews had a great impact on my decision. I am so thankful for TA for all the imfomation I receicve here. The resort was beautiful and just what I expected. We spent sometime at the pool by our room. The pool was really nice as there were only a few people at it everyday. We had a two bedroom condo which was beyond my expectations. Yes the walls are not real thick as to block out noise from above unit, but you must remember these are vacation condos NOT homes. You cannot expect the same quality that you would from a home. We did end up right across the street from the construction but where I live there is alot of construction due to homes being built and it really wasn't a problem until our last morning. They will not allow you to check in early not even half hour early - oh well. Over all I plan to go back again. It was a wonderful resort and very relaxing.

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the room
  • Disliked — construction
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

Ignore any negitive reviews...5 Stars +

Our family of four stayed 3/31/07 to 4/7/07. Words can not express how pleased we. Very friendly staff....upon check in, we arrived a little early (4pm check in). They gave us towels, kids swimmed for a little bit at the clubhouse pool, then the staff called us on our cell # that the room was ready.

Very clean 2 bdrm unit in Bldg 33, ceiling fans everywhere, even on the screened-in patio. All the amenities of home.

We only used the Bldg pool once due to our Disney itinerary. Even so, very relaxing atmosphere.

TIP ALERT TO DISNEY...Rte 192 is really congested. Instead of driving the 192 all the way to Disney. Get on the SR 429 (Toll Rd), it'll cost you a whole dollar, one exit to disney. YOU WILL SAVE LOTS OF TIME BEING CAUGHT IN TRAFFIC.

  • Liked — ALL AS ADVERTISED
  • Disliked — NONE
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twycross
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

Just returned from 14 days at Bahama Bay, probably the best apartments we have stayed in.
Booked as a package via Virgin Holidays (excellent as ever).
The resort is great, yes it is a 20 minute drive to Disney, but oh so nice to be away from the crowds.
The accomodation is arranged in about 30 caribbean style blocks of 12 apartments and are well spaced out .
We booked a 2 bed apartment, but were given a 3 bed on the 3rd floor. This was a bonus, and was in excellent condition, with everything you could possibly want, cooker,oven,microwave,tv's everywhere, dvd, stereo, wash mc and dryer, change of sheets and towels.

Swimming pools- they were the warmest I have experienced.
Building work - yes there is some on one side of the resort, but it did not impact us, or 90% of other apartments.
Easy to find - We missed the turn of US27 the first time, but once you remember it is next left after BASS LAKE, its easy.
Places to eat - didnt eat on site, but there are hundreds of options on US192, about 10 minutes drive away.

Any negatives
- the on-site shop shuts at 10 & no welcome pack in room, so if you are arriving late, stop at Publix on 192 on the way.
- no lift, fine for me, but worth requesting a ground floor if you dont like steps.

Will definately recommend...

  • Liked — The tranquil layout
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahama Bay Resort Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahama Bay Resort Orlando

Address: 400 Gran Bahama Boulevard, 209 rum run, Davenport, FL 33897
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahama Bay Resort Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahama Bay is lush, beautiful property just 10 minutes to the Disney Theme Park Area. Featuring spacious two and three-bedroom villa Suites, four heated pools, kiddie pool and play area, spa & salon, fitness centre, fishing dock, beach, nature trails, tennis, volleyball, basketball, gift & grocery shop, restaurant & bars, free wireless internet in the Clubhouse, restaurant, and bar areas, DVD rentals. Close to attractions, dining and shopping. Perfect for families, couples, groups, and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahama Bay Resort Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahama Bay Resort Orlando Hotel Davenport
Bahama Bay Hotel Orlando
Bahama Bay Florida
Bahama Bay Davenport
Bahamas Bay Florida
Bahama Bay Resort Spa
Bahama Bay Orlando Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahama Bay Resort Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.