We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet in Busy Orlando area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahama Bay Resort Orlando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bahama Bay Resort Orlando to your Saves list
Bahama Bay Resort Orlando
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   400 Gran Bahama Boulevard, 209 rum run, Davenport, FL 33897   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet in Busy Orlando area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just got home from taking my family to Florida for a one week vacation. Tried to book flights during this busy time and everything expensive but found a great deal through Sunwing from Toronto to Orlando. There were 3 adults and 2 children (3 & 8) in our party and they booked us at this resort. I was not sure what to expect but wow we got a three bedroom villa, two bathrooms, full kitchen with everything necessary to cook, washer drier and two T.V.s It was very spacious and after enduring a one room hotel at Disney two years ago, this was great. We all had our space. There were four heated pools and lots of hot tubs. Two pools with restaurants and guest services others were smaller but right outside our villa door. The whole complex is huge so you don't feel crowded with lots of spacious landscaping, trees, and lakes in all areas. We paid less that a motel price and got all this. Some people complained about carpet not being clean but it was really not bad and everything else was spotless. Beds were comfortable. We had our own van so we had to drive to Disney but it was only l5 minutes away. Universal and Sea World farther but if you want to go south or west to beaches at Clearwater or Tampa you are at the very south end of the Orlando area and can get right on 27 and take it to 4 and miss all traffic. The partronage was very mixed. Lots of families but the pool areas were large and even though lots of older couples there seemed to be no conflict. The larger pools open till 10 or 11 p.m. so you could relax after a long day at Disney. There are pool tables, arcade, tennis court, fitness room fully equipped and live entertainment Friday nights and Karioke Wed nights.
It is close to Walmart, Publix, Target for supplies and also every restaurant you can think of only a short drive away. Once in the resort, however, you leave all the hustle and bustle behind. The drawback would be if you only planned for Disney there is no shuttle and you might miss out on hotel and attraction packages combined through your travel agent
Make sure you Google directions from the Airport as it is a long way out and hard to find without a map. All the highways are very busy and you need to know what exits to take ahead of time. Once at the resort easy to get everything you need close by.
There is no maid service and you pay $89.00 including tax when you register for cleaning fee after you leave. That was o.k. with us as we had no pressure to leave things put away when we went out for the day, There is 1 roll toilet paper and a box tissue in each bathroom, one dishwasher cleaner and no laundry soap so you will need some supplies. Big fridge, stove, micro and all cutlery and utensils provided.
I am definately recommending this resort to all my friends.

Room Tip: We had the bottom floor of a three floor complex. Great cause we did not have to carry suitcases or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    455
    166
    112
    78
See reviews for
1,136
168
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

4th time to Bahama Bay and still have no desire to stay anywhere else.
Have stayed in different sized condos in different location throughout the resort.
Last two stays have been by the Tradewinds restaurant in buildings 18 and 19. This
area is, in my opinion, the best in the resort, building 18 overlooks the lake from one
side of Tradewinds, building 19 overlooks one of the ponds from the other side of Tradewinds.
You can walk to the pool and manmade beach in less than a minute from both buildings. Also,
lately it seems most of the entertainment is happening at Tradewinds, apparently there is an issue with the bar/restaurant next to the clubhouse, liquor license I’ve been told.
Definitely ask for an updated room, not all have been updated. Some still have old tube TV’s and need new carpeting and paint. The last one where we stayed was in building 19, all new flat panel TV’s in all rooms, new mattresses, new carpeting and new flooring throughout. 3 bedrooms on the ground floor, great view of the pond behind the building, was wonderful sitting in the screened in porch having coffee in the morning and a drink in the evening. I don’t think it cost any extra for an updated condo.
Asking for an updated room isn’t the same as asking for an upgrade. Upgrade means moving to a larger condo. Updated means most things in the condo are new.
All condos have a washer, drier and complete kitchen. Large master bedroom has a large ensuite bath.
Entertainment (karaoke) is always fun,the free pools tables were great last time we were there, they now need new felt. Pool areas are always clean, restaurant food is ok, I seem to recall it being a bit better in previous visits.
Always rent a car, flying into Orlando requires a 30 minutes drive, Sanford and Tampa are both close to 1 hour drive away.
Plenty of shopping nearby, Walmart, Publix and numerous restaurants are minutes away.
Still not sure why some people find it to be such a long drive to Disney, maybe they just aren’t asking for directions. Make a left at the front gate of the resort, make another left at stop sign, follow that road to 192, turn right and watch for signs to Disney. You can take the toll road and be on Disney property within 10 minutes or stay on 192 to the other end and it still less than 15 minutes, unless of course traffic is heavy.
Originally I was leery of staying here, I find any bad reviews are simply not true. I have yet to hear any complaints from people I have spoken to while staying there.
Looking forward to my next stay at Bahama bay and still considering buying a place there.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room, preferably close to Tradewinds retaurant, this gets you within a minute of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith O, General Manager at Bahama Bay Resort Orlando, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much all the comments in this review. it is great to always welcome our repeat guests back time and time again. We are constantly having more owners improve their units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Four visits and there is always something new in Orlando and the surrounding area, so coming back to the same place always ends with me saying to myself "only another xx months before I'm back". Why do I like it so much?
Pros:
* Staff are friendly and helpful; I even had a US mail order purchase delivered for me to collect and bring home. Nothing is too much problem.
* Units are different sizes and many are privately owned. Each is furnished to a minimum standard, but each time is a pleasant suprise to see what yours has. The three bed Abacos units are huge - sleeps 6 in comfort and 8 if you use the sofa bed.
* Zip code says Davenport but the reality is that it is literally over the county line from being in Kissimmee (you pass the county line just outside the entrance). Why is this an advantage - simply because it means that fewer people book here because they think its further away from the attractions than it really is, which means it's never crowded, busy or noisy.
* Disney is less than 15 minutes drive away. Seaworld and Universal a little further but a combination of the US192 and I4 means they're don't take long to get there and back.
* If the big parks are not to your taste, there's plenty else to see. My favourites are Captain Fred's Airboat Nature Tour and Orlando Grand Prix karts, both less than 30 minutes drive. Highlight has to be visiting a State Park and swimming with wild manatee - all for the $4 parking fee.
* On site gym, spa and multiple pools - the larger pools are near the clubhouse and bar, the smaller ones generally provide a quieter sanctuary, but still a good size to swim in. All pools have adjacent hot tubs.
Cons:
* There is an onsite restaurant, bar and small shop but if you want variety, you'll need to rent a car although in my experience almost every one does anyway! Supermarkets, restaurants are a short distance away.
* Apartments are not serviced daily, which means no-one comes in to clean and tidy. However, with a large supply of bath and pool towels, and a washing machine/tumble drier for the longer stays, it wasn't a problem when we stayed for 3 weeks. (Each unit is fully cleaned between rentals).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for a Disney vacation. On arrival I asked to be upgraded to the largest condo w/king bed, only a bit more $$. Staff seemed slightly hesitant but accommodated us without complaint. We grabbed lunch while we waited and were very happily fed by a tasty meal. The salt water pool was lovely, the larger, main pool was great. Bit of a drive to Disney but nothing we couldn't handle. Three kids all happy with rooms. Master almost ridiculously huge. Laundry, kitchen (saved hundreds if not thousands on food), parking and grounds all terrific. I recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

To start I just want to thank the hotel staff for their warm hospitality. They truly are what makes this resort work! I stayed with my partner and 2 kids ages 8 and 11 both happily entertained throughout our stay! Rooms were huge and lovely at a guess I'd say ours was very recently decorated as the carpets still felt very new! Would recommend a request for this 3 bedroom apartment (block 21 apartment 1003)

Pools lovely and a late night soak in a jacuzzis was right up my street!

Everything so easy to access from here but one word of warning ensure you have a map or directions handy, I messed up mine and left them at home so got to the airport and had to stop and ask for directions all the way! Used a hell of a lat of toll roads due to this error then!

Over all;
Would I recommend to friends - yes!
Would I return - yes
Would I change anything about my stay - no!

100% happy guests!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith O, General Manager at Bahama Bay Resort Orlando, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank for the wonderful comments about Bahama Bay. Clearly I think this review was scored wrong but the comments are really important
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a very nice resort. Good for a large family-We had 3 bedrooms and 2 large bathrooms, complete dining and living area. laundry room and little kitchen area. Stayed here for a Disney trip and would definitely stay again. Absolutely loved the outdoor pool area with the little faux beach setup and access to walk on a little boardwalk on lake. A night or two we could even see the fireworks for Disney, and it wasn't too far a trip to get there. And we got to see hot air balloons one day. Also loved the karaoke and little tiki club setup. The only downside was being on the third level and having to walk up all the steps with groceries and luggage and such. But regardless, I absolutely recommend this resort to anyone in the area!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I and another couple recently stayed at Bahama Bay Resort for four nights in a three bedroom Grand Bahama condo (Bldg 16, Unit 113). This condo is 1,700 square feet and was spacious, well decorated and very clean. Each couple had their own bedroom with connecting bathroom, large closet, big screen television, and sliding glass door to access the lanai along the entire front of the unit. There was also a table and six chairs on the balcony to sit and enjoy the view and warm weather. This complex is very large and well maintained. There are four swimming pool areas with tables, chairs, umbrellas, hot tubs, and a beachy area with chaise lounges. Also saw tennis courts and playground area for kids. This resort is located away from the hustle and bustle of Disney, but is only a few minutes drive to get to stores, restaurants, outlet malls, and amusement parks. I would definitely stay at this resort again because of the tropical setting and quality of the facilities.

Room Tip: Grand Bahama condos on third floor are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahama Bay Resort Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahama Bay Resort Orlando

Address: 400 Gran Bahama Boulevard, 209 rum run, Davenport, FL 33897
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahama Bay Resort Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahama Bay is lush, beautiful property just 10 minutes to the Disney Theme Park Area. Featuring spacious two and three-bedroom villa Suites, four heated pools, kiddie pool and play area, spa & salon, fitness centre, fishing dock, beach, nature trails, tennis, volleyball, basketball, gift & grocery shop, restaurant & bars, free wireless internet in the Clubhouse, restaurant, and bar areas, DVD rentals. Close to attractions, dining and shopping. Perfect for families, couples, groups, and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahama Bay Resort Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahama Bay Resort Orlando Hotel Davenport
Bahama Bay Hotel Orlando
Bahama Bay Florida
Bahama Bay Davenport
Bahamas Bay Florida
Bahama Bay Resort Spa
Bahama Bay Orlando Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahama Bay Resort Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.