We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OPM SCAM ARTIST CARL TAIT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Palms Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Regal Palms Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Regal Palms Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   2700 Sand Mine Road, Davenport, FL 33897   |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OPM SCAM ARTIST CARL TAIT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

DO NOT book a Unit with this organization... We booked aTownhouse in the pool area on October 14,2013 for a month stay in February, 2014. Never heard a word until my Visa was charged a deposit of almost $900.00 and I called them in December to put a hold on that deposit explaining that I never heard from OPM. Two days later I had a contract on my PC. Everything looked fine and I spoke to this CARL TAIT and asked him to book a second Townhouse for my children for 10 days. This was ok'd also. Well we arrived on February 1 to find the Townhouse this guy put us in was unacccheckeptable, roaches, smelled, food on kitchen floor etc and was far from the pool(as we requested and which was IN the contract). We went to the front desk telling them this Townhouse was not satisfactory and THEY called TAIT (he wouldn't talk to Us) but asked them to put us in another place which they did. We went out for supper and returned after 9 pm to discover the Water had been turned OFF......... this place had NO bureau in the master bedroom on the first floor for our clothes, moldy shower curtain in the upstairs master bathroom no tv in the downstairs bedroom (as advertised) no broom, no vacuum, one bath towel per bathroom, rancid fry pan ( we had to buy one). TAIT called us the following morning to say he would bring to us a bureau, tv, broom, vacuum cleaner and shower curtain (we bought this also) he never showed up....... This guy is unscrupulous, NO integrity, liar etc, etc, etc......Check before you book WHO you're booking with......GOOD LUCK

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    302
    120
    119
    140
See reviews for
846
51
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

The unit was a clean, large, and well appointed home, a shirt walk to a fantastic pool, water slide and lazy river. We booked through Simon, who was very helpful, and provided all kinds of great information on the area and the resort. We will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Everything was great but the kitchen needed to be better stocked with pots and pans.Teenagers loved the pool, slide, and spa.Close to all the parks. Plenty of rooms and bathrooms for six people and alot more comfortable than staying in a hotel. Had a great time and will diffidently go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My family & I had a fabulous time here. This is not our first time, and after seeing some of the negative comments I thought I would write a review and help make other's stay a positive one.

The units on the resort are all individually owned. Some owners take pride in their home, others not so much. So how do you know where to stay? If you're paying $59/night - well, you get what you pay for. These are the units that are not as well kept as others & less desirable. Our friends decided to book through some website and were happy to be paying much less than we did - but not so happy with the unit itself, especially in comparison to ours, it was very outdated. Needless to say, they spent a lot of time in our home. Reality is, you can't expect to get a lot when you are spending so little.

We use Vacation Rentals By Owner and book directly through an owner. Look for the ELITE & PREMIUM units, you will pay more for these, but it is worth the $$ in my opinion and you will not be disappointed. These units are all updated with new furnishings. The Elite unit we stayed in was spacious, clean, the furniture was newer and modern, comfortable beds, and even had a PS3 for the kids. Much better than staying in a hotel room. And for those who are skeptical about booking through an owner direct, this is a reputable site and has measures in place that make it safe. By booking direct through an owner we got exactly the unit that we chose. The property# we stayed in was 504145. The owner was helpful & always answered any questions I had promptly. One thing you may want to confirm before booking is how close the unit is to the pool - some are too far to walk.

The resort itself is great, the pool area is amazing! It has a lazy river & slide, we were happy to have these amenities to use. Banana Jacks was amazing and perfect on a rainy day when we were stuck indoors. Great feature for kids. The staff were super friendly, from check in/out and around the pool. We had breakfast one morning in the restaurant which was just ok, but the burgers were really good.

Overall, great value here, and if you spend the little extra and book an Premium/Elite unit, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Use VRBO and book a Premium or Elite unit walking distance to the pool
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

It was just like my husband and I were at home. The townhome was clean, spacious and equipped with everything we needed. The employees were very pleasant and helpful. The entire resort was beautiful and in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

If you are looking for a resort that is basically quiet and not in the center of activity, this is perfect. The pool area is separated enough to not be too loud because of greenery planted all around, but more than one area would be better. There are enough people there on any given day which made it difficult to actually swim for fitness. The water temps were good, but on a cloudy day seemed cooler. We were moved from our first unit because we need to have internet (and not have to go to the main lobby area to get it) so if it matters to you, make sure to check ahead because not all owners supply it. Our second unit is much nicer furnished and we are enjoying it. Apparently the units are all privately owned so they are not all created equal. Floor plans may be close, but personalized by the owner. This is why the second one is so different from the first...here we have TV's in all bedrooms, the other only in the Master. We thought it said on stays five days and more we would get service mid-stay ... that did not happen so we will have to go buy toilet paper... they should provide 2 rolls at least in one of the three bathrooms... We are owners of an Orlando Time Share property on which we always have to share walkways with golf carts bringing guests on tours. This is not an issue, but there are no walkways to walk on either. Not perfect, but clean property and value good.

Room Tip: Since they are all privately owned, can't recommend how to choose a better room over another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We rented on of Simons Condos and it was fabulous! Condo was clean which really is all that matters.

We were very pleased with the size. 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms.

Even though it was a little chilly we did use the pools and had great fun. The kids indoor playgrounds and arcade was perfect for entertaining our little one.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Palms Resort & Spa

Address: 2700 Sand Mine Road, Davenport, FL 33897
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regal Palms Resort & Spa is a private Resort consisting of bars, restaurant, health spa,gym, a spectacular pool area with water slide and lazy river, 24/7 check in, guest services, theme park tickets and Banana Jacks childrens restaurant and gaming center. The resort is surrounded by 598 privately owned townhomes and 700 pool homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Regal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Palms Hotel Davenport
Regal Palms Resort And Spa
Regal Palms Davenport
Regal Palms Resort Florida
Regal Palms At Highlands Reserve
Palm Regal Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Palms Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.