We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could have been better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Regal Palms Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Regal Palms Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regal Palms Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   2700 Sand Mine Road, Davenport, FL 33897   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“could have been better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A good location, nice pool, and in general good layout of the resort. The beds were plain awful and the unit could have really used a much more complete cleaning when we arrived. The units are showing some age and up keep appears to vary, ours definitely wasn't as clean as you would expect. The property served its purpose, and we really liked the pool. The location is very good, close to the theme parks, but down the road just enough to be quiet and relaxing and close enough to major highways to get to other parts of florida "quickly".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    292
    111
    114
    134
See reviews for
805
50
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The regal palms resort is an ideal area to stay in. You are close to disney and its only 20 mins to international drive. The area is quiet and the resort is very well maintained. The villas are privately owned so its hard to say what all the villas are like. Our villa was clean and well equipped. My only complaint was the mattress in our room was broken and I did not get a good night sleep the whole week. The resort is very secure and we felt safe in our villa. It is a great area to stay and I would stay again, perhaps not in the same villa though

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just spent five days at the Regal Palms with 12 friends on a golf vacation. Once we checked in and arrived at our room there was problem; the air conditioning wasn't working. Tempature on the second floor hovered around a sticky 85 degrees. A maintence employee responded and indicated that he wouldn't be able to fix the problem until the morning. We were relocated and this all took place at 11:30pm. There were beer cans in and around the front entrance from the previous guests. A month prior to our arrival we made a request to stay near the pool (the property is massive). The three units that we stayed in were on the opposite end of the property. I would tend to look for another location next time I'm on vacation.

Room Tip: Request a unit near the pool, or you'll be driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atl Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This year was the thrid time we have stayed at Regal Palms. Several factors in returning to this location were: price, amenities, townhome. We thought we'd try a different place after our lacklustre (not disappointing) experience 3 years ago but we could not find another resort within our desired pricepoint with the waterslide, lazy river, pool, hot tub, playground area for our kids. So, we set out to find a townhouse that had mostly tile flooring instead of the normal carpet that is standard. We found a great place on vrbo.com, owned by folks in Denmark. It was great! The standard construction and fixtures of these homes in Regal Palms are average. They are built for rentals - nice enough to stay for a couple of weeks but I would make some serious upgrades if I were to live there. The folks who own the unit we stayed in are continually making upgrades - tile floor was installed on the main level, new carpet in the last 4 months upstairs, freshly painted within the last 2 months. It was a great unit for us! Lots of room for my family upstairs and for my inlaws in the second master on the main level (with ensuite). It has 3.5 baths altogether. Each townhouse is owned by various people with a few owned by the resort itself. Check in for us was smooth and efficient - probably because the communication was smooth and efficient between us and the owner and the owner and the resort. The owner had a manual on the coffee table with all the information we needed to help us enjoy our stay should something go wrong. So when we had an issue with the front door pin pad, the management company they use was very attentive, professional, and quite friendly. Very positive experience this year.

As already mentioned, we knew we'd be hanging out at a pool and our kids absolutely loved the waterslide, lazy river, "warm pool", hot tub, playground area. With a tiki bar, Banana jacks restaurant and convenience store, we had all we needed right on the resort. I used the gym once - dumpy old equipment - very disappointing. The landscaping in the whole securely gated community is top notch. Very well maintained.

It's about a 20 minute drive to all the Walt Disney Parks; Highlands golf course is next door; Publix, CVS pharmacy, Applebees, banking and some other small retail shops are within walking distance.

Yes we would stay here again if we find ourselves in the Orlando area IF our kids are still small. If they are teenagers before we go back we're likely to try some place different.

Room Tip: Look at pictures on vrbo.com of the units before you book; you can usually see who has improved thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this resort that has all you need for a great day and evening vacation. This home was well maintained and close to the clubhouse. The kitchen had everything you need for a home cooked meal, the beds were very comfortable, there were tvs in all rooms. We will be going back real soon. Laura was very helpful with our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerport, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Each property is managed by separate people. Whenever there are problems, and there were many from being double booked and not being to access a place to sleep for several ours, to broken fridge, leaky faucet (they showed me the trick to stop it), broken iron, tub that did not drain properly, to the lack of communication with the front desk and property managers. Would never stay there again. Fortunately, we did not spend much time on site. When speaking with the property manager, it was my fault that we did not get checked in until late and thus I was responsible for the inefficiencies with check in, doudle booking,etc. Can you imagine 2 young children waiting for over an hour after flying to florida, just to get in their beds? Oh yes, forgot that the door to back did not open. Was not able to put the garbage out. Very disappointed. I wish the owners of the property knew how incompetent their property managers were. one more note- we were double booked and only scheduled to be there 3 nights instead of the 4 we paid for. They were nice enough to fix this, but then charge us for the resort fee 2 months later.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a key mix up upon arrival so we were delayed entering our town home. The resort itself is surrounded by town homes that rent and are handled by third party agencies. We were told we would be paid a visit by an agent early in our week's stay. It's Thursday with no visit.
Our town home was beautiful with most amenities included.
The pool area has no life guards, is small but suitable for the kids. Includes a water slide, lazy river and large and kiddie pool area. Sand volleyball court and tiki bar with restaurant on site as well.
Never seemed to have server or bartender at the tiki bar.
Grocery shopping near by but pricey.
I did like the relaxed feel. Walking distance to everything.
I would return with a smaller group.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Palms Resort & Spa

Address: 2700 Sand Mine Road, Davenport, FL 33897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty lodging in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regal Palms Resort & Spa is a private Resort consisting of bars, restaurant, health spa,gym, a spectacular pool area with water slide and lazy river, 24/7 check in, guest services, theme park tickets and Banana Jacks childrens restaurant and gaming center. The resort is surrounded by 598 privately owned townhomes and 700 pool homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Regal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Palms Resort And Spa
Regal Palms Hotel Davenport
Regal Palms Davenport
Regal Palms Resort Florida
Regal Palms At Highlands Reserve
Palm Regal Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regal Palms Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.