We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food-Rookie server” 4 of 5 stars
Review of D'oro Palazzo

D'oro Palazzo
Posner Blvd, Davenport, FL
863-424-1100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 78 Restaurants in Davenport
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in Posner Park shopping plaza Davenport Florida
Davenport, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food-Rookie server”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have been to D'oro quite a few times. Every time we go there seems to be something that takes away from the GREAT FOOD. The last time we were there, the main course came out two minutes after the appetizers. This does not make for a good experience when out for dinner.
This time it was our server. We walked in for an early dinner. The young man behind the front desk just motioned to sit where we wanted to.
Our server was pleasant and took our drink order. We ordered tea which was served with no problems. We ordered soup and salad and requested that the main course not to be put in until after we received our appetizers. This happened the last time we were there. Our main course came two minutes after we received our salads.
We like balsamic vinegar with our olive oil bread dip. We had to ask two times for the vinegar. Two times for tea refills... Our mail course came in a very timely manner.
We both ordered eggplant main course meals.. I had the shrimp and eggplant. My wife had the eggplant parm.. Both were FANTASTIC...
If D'oro could get their service as good as the food, the place would be a 5 star winner. The owner is the head chef...He needs to watch the front end as well as he makes his food.
We will be back to enjoy the wonderful food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    21
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ALBERTON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had dinner on New Year's eve and enjoyed everything. Service, meal and coffee were excellent. Dipping bread with oil and seasoning was a nice start. Salad is worth the visit. Steak was done perfectly. Desert was a nice finish. The coffee was so good I think I drank a whole pot.

We are repeat customers and will continue to be.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were in Davenport this weekend and when deciding what we were going to do for dinner, we decided on D'oro Palazzo because we were hoping for some good Italian food. Upon entering, we realized just how tiny this restaurant is. There were booths lining the two side walls and a few tables scattered in between. My husband and I were greeted promptly by a friendly waitress who told us to sit wherever we liked. He chose a booth toward the front and it was more than a little uncomfortable seating. We ordered a couple of soft drinks, some garlic knots and two entrees, spaghetti and meatballs and chicken parmesan. We were surprised to find no salad was served with the entrees and at the asking price, it was more than a bit disappointing. The garlic knots were served hot and with a very nice marinara sauce for dipping. The entrees arrived within about 2-3 minutes of the knots, so timing is an issue in the kitchen. The marinara served with the entrees was not the same and a bit of a let down after sauce we received previously. The meatballs were obviously very cheap, frozen, store bought variety and very bland, while the pasta was seriously over sauced. The portion was surprisingly lean for the price. My husband's chicken was flavorful, but also small portion for the price. We had to ask for parmesan cheese and red pepper flake and drink refills were a little slow to arrive, but as there was only one server on duty, I suppose that is understandable. Overall, I'd say the service was good, but the price was way too high and the food a huge disappointment. We will not be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm harbor, florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“PASTA GOOD, NEEDS UPDATING INSIDE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The place is in a new strip mall, but is really dated inside , not very comfortable seating, they keep the blinds closed even at night you can hardly see inside the place, makes it look dark and uninviting, food was okay but pricy for just pasta, would not go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Pricey but OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Everything is more expensive, particularly for this area. Service was good. The furniture was basic, old and uncomfortable. Tthe food was average at best. Not worth going back. The place lacked any atmosphere at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'oro Palazzo also viewed

Davenport, Central Florida
 
Davenport, Central Florida
Davenport, Central Florida
 

Been to D'oro Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'oro Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.