We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Island Club Resort and Spa

Island Club Resort and Spa
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Island Club Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Island Club Resort and Spa
3100 Sand Mine Road, Davenport, FL 33897 (Formerly Island Hideaway)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Davenport
Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we entered the street and saw the overflowing dumpster and garbage on the street, we were a bit concerned about the area. The unit we stayed in needed many repairs. The walls were very thin and could hear the permanent tenants who watched tv until 4 am. Then we could hear someone else's alarm clock at 5 am and babies crying. We could never get a good sleep. There was so much drama on the streets with people yelling back and forth. We talked to some of the permanent residents and they were quite concerned with the amount of drug dealing and disrepair of the condos. We did notice some condos had tarps on the roofs. You never know what would happen with the security gates. Sometimes they were down and traffic was backed out into the street and people's codes didn't work. The exterior of the clubhouse was nice, including the swimming pool and tennis court. We heard so many concerns from the owners of the condos about the number of slum lords in the resort and the many issues that were going on. We felt like we needed a holiday after being there.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    101
    43
    15
    39
See reviews for
6
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Property management is rude and they have no customer service skills what so ever. The dumpsters are constantly over flowing and the gate is always broken or doesn't allow people in. When problems arise the property management is apt to say "oh well I can't do anything" and all the units are owned by individual owners so everything is very unorganized.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 via mobile

We wwant to Universal at Thanksgiving and we found this condo for under $400 for the whole week. It was pretty and clean. The person who rented it was nice and very prompt. The pool and recreation area was not great. Dark and looked like it has been left to its own devices. The office was not open while we were there so we never got to ask about the conditions. Would we stay again? Not sure. If it's cold like it was when we went yes. In summer No.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our family stayed for a week October 2013 and had an awesome trip. Spacious resort with lovely pool and clubhouse including gym. Floodlit tennis was most enjoyable but they also have voleyball and basketball. Ideal for trips to the Parks and the Gulf Coast. Just off Interstate4.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were there for a week, and the pool wasn't heated. The water was ice cold. No way could we go in. So we thought lets go in the hot tub it said 104 degrees, unfortunately that was almost as cold as the pool. It definitely wasn't 104 degrees. The house we stayed was enjoyable, but we were very sad we couldn't go in the pool for the whole week. Also make sure you check in at the club house when you arrive or they slap a violation on your car for $100.00. We showed our guest pass and they waived it. The guest pass was on the dashboard, so I don't know why they insisted on putting that on the car. The people that own the house we stayed were awesome, and like I said the house was great. They need to work on their club house rules, and temp of pool and hot tub.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed at the 4 bedroom unit loved it, went to City Walk, Halloween Night, and Universal; Enjoyed close by restaurants and a night walk at Old Town, visited shops etc. The unit was very clean, nice size washer & dryer; Weather was beautiful so we did a bbq and ate on the back patio overlooking the pond watching the white duck in the water; We did not have much time to enjoy the pool or the beautiful exersize room - I was here on a business trip just 2 days long; But we had a ball, I would reccomment this quiet relaxing vacation to all my friends; I would definitely return again--

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Lots of reviews here - good and bad. I think your experience likely depends on who owns the unit and how it is maintained.

I rented a studio unit for a week. The unit I stayed in was clean and the price was right. The owner is keeping it in good shape and there were no issues with the unit.

It is a fairly short drive to Disney Parks, although that varies depending on time of day and traffic -- it can be 25 minutes or double that, depending on congestion.

The complex appears a mixture of live in owners, those who rent out to short term tourists and those who rent to longer term local tenants. I felt relatively safe there, although the lighting late at night is not the best. It is a gated community but the gate was not working some days permitting uncontrolled access.

As the price of the units has dropped dramatically over the past few years, apparently there have been some issues with certain tenants, but I didn't experience any major problems with noise or feel unsafe. The walls are thin, though. Not much if any security on site, although people associated with the complex do have a presence there, and engage you, which is good.

There were ants outside the unit, but no bugs of any kind in the unit. Where I stayed you pay a cleaning fee and refundable deposit -- both good ideas. The unit had been cleaned very thoroughly.

The benefits are more space than a hotel room, a kitchen and a reasonable price to rent (about $45 a night for the studio). You have to decide whether you could get a 2.5 star hotel with an efficiency for a similar price. Maybe, but you would probably have less space and privacy.

You can stay in very nice 3.5 star hotels for about $90 a night near the Disney Parks, but they don't typically have full kitchens, a drawback if you are there for a week. The difference is the price of your park tickets, which work out to about $40 a day if you buy for a week.

Don't know about the clubhouse or pool.

The complex itself is relatively clean - grounds are well kept. Some road construction is going on in some locations.

I think the advice is to check on the unit you will rent and the owner, by way of looking at rentors sites, ratings, etc. Experiences may vary depending on who you rent from and the condition and location of their unit. It was more than acceptable for my needs. I was going to spend most of my days at attractions, not in the unit.

Generally I would recommend, based on my own experience.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Club Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Club Resort and Spa

Address: 3100 Sand Mine Road, Davenport, FL 33897 (Formerly Island Hideaway)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Club Resort and Spa is the perfect position to provide access to every bit of excitement and action Orlando has to offer. Its secluded setting offers a respite from the cares of the world. It is a country club vacation home with every comfort taken into consideration. From the secluded feeling that lets you forget your worries upon arrival on the resort property, to the spaciousness of your villa you will experience total relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Club Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Club Hotel Davenport
Island Hotel Davenport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Club Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.