We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Value, Luxurious Alternative to Disney Hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate to your Saves list
Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Masters Boulevard, Davenport, FL 33896   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Davenport
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Exceptional Value, Luxurious Alternative to Disney Hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We chose this hotel to celebrate our son's 5th birthday weekend. The hotel was LOVELY and the staff went above and beyond for my son's birthday (i.e., they sent up a small cake!). Big shout-out to Norma Spence, the hotel's Pre-Arrival Coordinator, for being so thoughtful. My sons loved being able to eat cake in their hotel room -- mom and dad took a bite too. :)

We had a GREAT time. The hotel is not far from the parks at all, maybe a 10-minute drive? There is also a small shopping area just off the hotel grounds with a Publix grocery store, pizza shop, convenience store, etc.). While we didn't golf this trip, the hotel is a golfer's paradise (but they also have a spa, zero-entry pools, lazy river).

It's very hard to find complaints, but here are the suggestions I have for the hotel:

1. For a hotel that says it's "family friendly," they don't keep in mind what time families with young kids (ours are 5 and 2) actually GO TO BED and plan the nightly turn-down service and cookie-and-milk delivery with that in mind. For example, while the cookies are a very thoughtful and generous touch (part of being a Select Guest member), the 9:30pm delivery was a little late. A better option? Mark which guests have young kids, then plan to have the cookies and turndown service at a far earlier hour (ideally 7:30pm) before the family has already gone to sleep.

2. The advertised "free shuttle" to the parks did not work for our needs. While it left the resort at a reasonable hour in the morning, the only return options were very late (i.e., depart parks at 8:45pm). Again, for a hotel that is so "family friendly" keep in mind that a family with 2 small kids will NOT be able to tolerate the parks for 12+ hours. I hope the Omni considers adding a return shuttle option earlier in the day, perhaps 5:30pm or 6pm, at least during the weekends? Small kids generally go to bed by 9pm, especially after a long day at Disney World. It was a little frustrating having to pay both Omni's $14 resort parking fee AND Disney World's daily parking fee.

3. The room service was speedy, the man who delivered it was exceptionally kind, the presentation was great, but the food was just "eh" -- didn't overwhelm us.

4. Again, as part of being a Select Guest member, we LOVED the complimentary beverage service in the morning.

5. Our sons LOVED the welcome goody bags!

We had a good experience...the beds were comfortable, the rooms were VERY clean. We wish it had been warmer so we could have fully used the pool...weird cold snap over Thanksgiving weekend. But we will be back one day when the temps are hotter -- it's definitely a very, very nice, clean, and beautiful resort.

And all those perks make me want to continue my loyalty with Omni hotels -- so please consider the "special needs" of families with very young kids. Thanks, Omni, and keep up the great work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,397
    612
    202
    94
    66
See reviews for
989
440
40
550
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Ellijay, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Omni is a beautiful hotel. The pool is really great, with several different areas and a lazy river. The fountain pool and lazy river are both nice and warm, because it was a little chilly the day we were there. They have a great beach style which is great for little kids. The hotel is very clean, service is good. There were nice large towels in the bathroom and a down comforter on the beds. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Located two exits south of Disney World, this resort offers a beautiful setting, immaculate rooms, nice dining options, and a friendly staff. The pools are phenomenal and well maintained. The kids loved the Lazy River too. The rooms are comfortable with high quality linens, functioning ac/heating, marble bathroom. Room service was delivered in under 20 minutes. The poolside cafe served delicious, fresh lunches at reasonable prices. My only negative comments are minimal; the double beds are a little small for two adults and are a bit soft for my likes. The building itself was not noisy, but I could hear people in the halls early in the morning. Also, my On Demand, which was recently installed, was not working the first day. However, a very friendly and professional maintenance employee worked very hard until it was fixed, and I was not charged for my movie. Overall, I would highly recommend staying here for either business or pleasure. We even saw an alligator in the pond!

Room Tip: Pool view was beautiful. We didn't get a balcony, but those looked very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Burnett, Manager at Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear travelinmom_10,

Thank you for being our guest and for pointing out the services and features of the resort that you and your family enjoyed the most. I am happy to report that since your stay with us, all of the double beds have been replaced with queen size beds and all 720 guest rooms have brand new pillow top mattresses. We apologize about the On Demand movies and are glad that we were able to get that working for you during your stay. Thank you for recommending us to others and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archer, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

ALL staff members were very friendly, courteous, and attentive. The resort itself has numerous activities to participate in. They have very reasonable fees for the use of a beautiful golf course complete with Calloway clubs, cart, etc. We enjoyed the use of a private cabana which included drinks and a fruit and cheese platter as well as a TV and ceiling fan all within walking distance of a beautiful pool, river ride, fountains, and a waterslide. This hotel also has a fantastic activity for the kids, which provided them with games galore as well as a great dinner. I didn't count, but they had at least six places to eat offering a variety of food, appetizers, drink specialities, and a Starbucks!!! Very close to the airport with shuttles to and from the airport as well as Disney. Great place to stay for conventions.
I defininately WILL be returning here as opposed to the usual Disney events! SO MUCH BETTER!! And they have a Spa! much more relaxing than any other activity I have done in Orlando! if I could rate this hotel, I would give it at the very least 50 stars! A Definately place to tru out!

Room Tip: Talked to others that stayed here. We all decided we needed to upgrade our beds and sheets to what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

clean nice u would get goddy bags and sometimes warm cookies and milk at night i loved it there the pool was clean the bar by the pool was good and i had alot of fun at the spa and stories there the food was great the the service ok not bad hose kipping good i really licked aspshly when u can sometimes go skoobadiving in the pool and get a hair rap go to the arcade

Room Tip: higher romms have no ac noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

we just came back from a three night veterans day weekend at the omni and it was fantastic. my wife and I with our two boys made a last minute decision to escape the devastation from hurricane sandy in new york and were very happy that we did. upon arrival, we were upgraded by enrique to a room overlooking the pool and golfcourse and were very pleased. jennifer at the concierge desk arranged for a beautiful surprise birthday gift arrangement for my wife's birthday. the big family pool was great for the kids and there were plenty of activities to keep them busy. food was not outrageoulsy priced and all very fresh. spa and health club were both very excellent and my wife enjoyed her massage there. good location as hotel is in close proximity to all theme parks. thank you omni for really nice stay.

Room Tip: upgrade to golf/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in a two-bedroom villa for three nights with three adults and three children. The villa had ample space for all of us between the two bedrooms and the pull out in the den. The rooms were comfortable, there was plenty of living space and the kitchen was equipped with everything we'd need for making small meals. The rooms were quiet, except that the air conditioner/heater was loud and we could hear the elevator every time it moved even though there was another villa in between us and the elevator. There was also a lot of construction going on.

The staff was very helpful and asked how we were each time we entered and exited. She was sure to ask if we needed anything. The resort was great. It was warm enough for us to enjoy the heated lazy river, water slide and family pool. These were actually the reason we chose this particular resort.

The location was perfect as we were able to get to Legoland within a half hour, the Gaylord Palms within 15 minutes, Disney in 20 minutes and the outlets at I-Drive within 30 minutes. There aren't many restaurants outside of the resort that are nearby. But if you drive 15 minutes you can find a lot of options. Room service food was OK, nothing spectacular but fine.

We found that the villa was very affordable. They do add additional resort fees and taxes for each day. Of course, room service is pricey once you add on delivery fees and surcharges. But it's so difficult to find somewhere with two bedrooms and a living space for a price like this and these amenities.

The only negative comment we'd have is that the housekeeping staff did not attend to our room on Saturday. There was plenty of time to do so, as we were out of the room from 9 to 1 that day. Once we arrived back at our room we all took naps, only to be awoken by a phone call asking when we'd like service. Then as we were preparing to check out on Sunday, the housekeeping staff knocked on our door 10 minutes before check out time and asked when we'd be leaving. We told them we were leaving in 10 minutes and the housekeeper responded by telling us she'd just stay there and wait for us. And she did wait for us, right outside the door.

We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate

Address: 1500 Masters Boulevard, Davenport, FL 33896
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Davenport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Davenport
#2 Family Hotel in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 730
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-diamond Omni Orlando Resort at ChampionsGate, located just 6 miles from Walt Disney World(R) Resort, provides scheduled transportation to the Walt Disney World(R) Theme Parks. In addition to 36 holes of championship golf, guests enjoy 15 acres of recreation including an 850 ft. lazy river, zero entry family pool, formal pool with private cabanas, and a lighted, 9-hole par 3 golf course, signature Mokara Spa and fitness center, and seven on-site dining options. The main resort features 720 newly renovated guest rooms. In addition, there are 49 two- and three-bedroom luxury resort villas, equipped with full kitchens, a dining room, living room and private patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Orlando Resort At Championsgate Hotel Davenport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.